We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Save Saved
You added Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, Amsterdam 1175 RM, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 20%
Ranked #136 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“A short stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Excellent hotel, very agreable although a bit far from the city. The shuttle service is a very good remedy to this - but as this is a recent , new service it is advisable to ascertain that the planned departure/return time from/to the hotel are duly registered. Our return got "forgotten" once, yet this was solved eventually.
Anyhow, this hotel deserves a very good classification as all other aspects were above expectation, with highly cooperative staff. Certainly given the very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear YVD-PV,

Thank you for describing our hotel in such a nice way!

We indeed offer a new service; the city shuttle service drives from the hotel to Museum Square in Amsterdam and back daily. The complements regarding our staff were highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

With kind regards,

M. Arlman
General Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    100
    184
    107
    22
    23
See reviews for
48
113
51
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I am involved in the service industry, so I have a full undersatning of what it takes to meet or exceed a customers expectations. I am a frquent traveler, I fly internaltional every two weeks, year round. The front desk Manager Mr [--], could use some a lesson on customer relations. I have never encountered a more rude and defensive individual in this capacity. While I must say the room was adequate, the service level left a bitter taste. I would not use this hotel again. I have stayed at most of the hotels surrounding the Amsterdam Airport, I will not use this platform as a plug for them, so no names mentioned, just know that you can find less expensive rooms with a greater service level. In this age of social media, hoteliers must do better to manage each and every customer experience. Enough said.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Igal E,

First off all thank you for letting us know what you have encountered during your stay.

I completely agree that in these times we need to have a good service level, I don’t think that this has anything to do with the age of social media. We have taken your comment regarding our employee serious, and have taken action to prevent this happening in the future.

I would like that you visit our hotel again and personally discuss this matter with me. Hopefully we get a second change and we can show you otherwise.

With kind regards,

M. Arlman
General Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel Park Plaza in Amsterdam and received average service.

At the time of my stay there was renovations underway and the lobby was only partially in use.

The check in was good.

Rooms were extremely small, so to was the bathroom.

There are no Wifi in the rooms (only in the lobby). This is a real inconvenience.

Parking is Euro 9 per day but there is more than enough undercover space available.

We used the hotel shuttle to the airport and this was a problem. Leaving in the morning for the airport was ok since you book a timeslot the day before. Only limited space is available in the shuttle which is available every half hour.

When returning from the airport we experienced problems. You have to wait at the indicated area. People hoewever did not adhere to this and when the bus arrive people got upset since there was not enough space.

This meant for some sitting as long as an hour + in freezing weather waiiting for the next shuttle. A better way to ensure first come first serve needs to be found!

Room Tip: Avoid the shuttle service!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Dear blroe,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are very proud that the renovation of our hotel is finished. We are very pleased with the end result and that we have a new Spa & Wellness with fitness facilities. The parking rate is changed to €5,- per day and the shuttle is increased double his size. Therefore there will be no more waiting for the next shuttle.

Once again I would like to thank you for your review and hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

With kind regards,

M. Arlman
General Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The provide a free shuttle from the airport and free wi fi , the staff was professional and the rooms
are clean, the train is within walking distance, please enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Take the train and buy the 4 day pass
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear msairline2000,

Thank you for leaving your review on TripAdvisor. You gave almost the perfect description of our property! Your compliments regarding our staff are passed on to them, confirming their feeling of appreciation.

All the best,

M. Arlman
General Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed two nights in May 2012. My air travel arrangements were not confirmed, so I wanted a place near the airport and one with a flexible cancellation policy. This is not the most convenient hotel if you are looking for a place near "the action" in Amsterdam. The Park Plaza is only 5-10 minutes from Schipol, but 20-30 minutes from the museums, Central Station, Red Light District, etc. If you're the adventurous type, the outermost tram station is 10-15 minute walk from the hotel. Tram Line # 1 begins at Matterhorn station, a short walk from the hotel and will take you all the way into Central Station, with several points of interest at various stops along the way. If you're looking to save dollars (or euro), that you would otherwise spend on cabs and such, the tram is a great option. Just be prepared to hoof it.

The hotel itself has a modern look and feel, post its recent renovations. Rooms are average size, and generally spartan, but comfortable. Beds are a bit hard, but not horribly so. If you're like me and have grown accustomed to a memory foam type mattress, these box springs will have you wishing for home. But, all in all, this hotel is a good value for a short stay on the outskirts of Amsterdam and a great value for an overnight pre or post flight out of Schipol.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Crusha,

Thank you very much for the nice feedback you have posted on TripAdvisor.

As we are very conveniently located to the Amsterdam Airport and the tram station Matterhorn, it’s definitely easy to explore the city by public transportation. It’s possible to buy 24-hour tram tickets at the reception.

I’m sorry that our matras was not to your liking and for any inconvenience this caused for you.

On behalf of my team I would like to thank you for your visit and hope to see you again when you are back in Amsterdam.

All the best,

M. Arlman
General Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

park plaza amsterdam airport before known as Holiday Inn Airport,now under new management theyre service has improved.but its a pity some of their room located in the lower lobby level without any access for elevator,imagine if you have a big luggagge
Room was in an excellent condition and well maintained,breakfast is good in term of food variety
this hotel located about 10 minutes to amsterdam schiphol,and its a nice place if you need to go to the airport to catch a flight...

Room Tip: dont stay in a room with a first digit 0,some of them located below lobby level
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MArlman, General Manager at Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear mariop79,

Thank you for leaving your review on TripAdvisor.

We would like to inform you that the rooms on lower lobby level are accessible by the guest elevator. I was very happy to read the complements regarding the room conditions and breakfast.

When returning to Amsterdam, we would be more than pleasured welcoming you again.


All the best,

M. Arlman
General Manager
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very nice and beautiful hotel with good value in all regards. Room was very quiet and neat, perfectly equipped (although no wifi which is no good if you only bring your iPad, and the remote for the tv was missing). Minibar with free water!

Downside: absolutely NO fresh air in the room as there were no windows that could open. The air control system was set at a temperature that I found too low for the night, and with no extra blanket and the system not responding to any attempt to raise the temperature, that was rather uncomfortable, resulting in a poor night's sleep.

After check-out I took my luggage to the garage level with the elevator, but could not enter the parking garage because of some refurbishing activities througout in the entire hotel due to which they had locked all sliding doors, so there was a bit of confusion how to get to the car with all the luggage. After some negociating the receptionist called the concierge who helped several guests with their luggage down the long metal stairs from the reception to the garage.

Apart from those issues, still good value and recommendable. We had a weekend seminar there and everything was organized perfectly and to our utmost comfort.
I mentioned the above issues in the questionnaire which the hotel sends to the guests after their stay, and the manager immediately got back to me personally with apologies for the inconveniences. Very respectful!

Room Tip: An executive room is slightly bigger and nicer than a normal room and only a few euros more. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport

Also Known As:
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Holiday Inn Amsterdam Schiphol
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
Amsterdam Holiday Inn
Address: Melbournestraat 1 | Lijnden, Amsterdam 1175 RM, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#61 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport is strategically located close to the A9, a 10-minute drive from Schiphol Airport and Amsterdam centre. The hotel offers a private shuttle service. Pick-up from the airport is free of charge, return is at a fee.The hotel offers comfortable rooms, a stylish bar and restaurant, a mini-gym and a wellness centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.