We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really pleasant stay, but a little noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms
Save
You added Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms to your Saves list
Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #64 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Really pleasant stay, but a little noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed for 2 nights in the Picasso Room (two single beds) and 2 nights in the Chagall room (1 double bed). Both places are behind the bike shop. The toilet and showers are in separate locations, each down a little hall. The Chagall room (one double bed) has a sink inside the room. The bike shop is about a 10-minute walk from Central Station, and near the edge of the Jordaan area, so the location was good. It felt secure. It was also well-priced at 60 Euros a night.

The staff couldn’t be nicer. Marne gave me a map and told me about special events in the city. There was a beautiful croissant every morning, sourced, they said, from Le Petit Gateau up the street. The first morning, it arrived slightly warm, and was probably the best croissant I’d ever tasted, including the ones in Paris.

Negatives: wifi can be a little patchy. The location of the shower and toilets can be a little inconvenient. But most of all- the noise (not their fault). The walls are thin and the wooden floors make a lot of noise. The two doubles are next to each other, and I could hear my neighbors rustle their blankets. I could also hear snoring from upstairs. I think I woke my neighbors when I used my sink. Thankfully, the rooms look out onto a courtyard in the back, so there is no street noise. Cash only.

I wouldn’t hesitate to rent from them again- though I might choose a different location. It sounds like some of the other rooms/ apartments offered by Frederic Rent-a-Bike are really nice!

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Recently stayed 5 nights in the Chagall room - it was like staying with friends! The hosts were helpful and ready to make suggestions for where to eat and what to see. It is a very short walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station located on a canal in the very fun Jordaan neighborhood - no shortage of shops, restaurants and cafes. There are no kitchen facilities, but there is a tea kettle in each room and every morning the croissant fairy leaves a treat for you! Just one street over there are all the cafes, restaurants and bars you could ever want, and also two two grocery stores (one upscale organic - one regular). I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Four of us stayed here for four nights in late April. It happened to be the weekend of Kings Day which was interesting to say the least. The boat is great. This obviously isn't a traditional lodging so expect low ceilings, a small toilet, no shower room door, etc. What you should expect is a totally unique and authentic space in an absolutely perfect location. Jordaan is the best area of Amsterdam and this boat is nearly in the middle of it. Plenty of food options are easily walkable although I would highly suggest using a bike to get around. The boat has fully functioning electricity and water and it does not move around in the water. The bedrooms are different but cosy and very quiet. The wheel room upstairs makes for a perfect space to have a drink before going out or just hang out and watch the city go by. We spend probably 90% of the time we were not asleep in this room. My wife and I have been coming to Amsterdam at least once a year for about six years and always wanted to stay on a house boat but we're never able to due to days or minimum stay restrictions. We're so glad we were able to grab this one and would absolutely stay here or on one of their other boats again.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed at Frederic's for 3 nights with our 2 year old. the apartment is very conveniently located, has a great view on the canal from the spatious lounge. we found the place very comfortable, the staff was helpful with tips and directions. I happened to forget a personal item in the apartment before leaving, and they shipped it to me in the UK within a couple of days.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've stayed with Frederic a few times now, each time in different rooms/apartments/houseboats, and each time we've had a great experience. This time we stayed in the Picasso Room and it was a perfect base for the weekend - clean quiet and good beds. The location is perfect - right between Centraal Station and the Jordaan, with anything you need right nearby on Haarlemmerstraat. Marne and everyone else were super nice and welcoming.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Friendly fair, efficient. What more do you need? You are in very good hands renting their bike. Overall just great guys. 15 Euros a day is really a fair price and they give you lots of free advice too. Fun to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We only rented bikes from this establishment, so can't comment on the hotel.
The bike rental was super easy, and the individual who helped us was friendly and offered helpful tips for getting around. Would recommend renting a bike from here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

Address: Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a bike rental and guest house. Our bicycles are "incognito", all different and without annoying advertisement. For any one we have a bike in the right size. We are real foodies. The last 10 years we are checking the most delicious restaurants in Amsterdam and surroundings. This enormous investment gave us an excellent view on what's happening in the restaurants in Amsterdam. When you come to rent a bike we will share this first-class information with pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.