We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms
Save
You added Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms to your Saves list
Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #65 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We've stayed with Frederic a few times now, each time in different rooms/apartments/houseboats, and each time we've had a great experience. This time we stayed in the Picasso Room and it was a perfect base for the weekend - clean quiet and good beds. The location is perfect - right between Centraal Station and the Jordaan, with anything you need right nearby on Haarlemmerstraat. Marne and everyone else were super nice and welcoming.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    30
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

Friendly fair, efficient. What more do you need? You are in very good hands renting their bike. Overall just great guys. 15 Euros a day is really a fair price and they give you lots of free advice too. Fun to deal with.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We only rented bikes from this establishment, so can't comment on the hotel.
The bike rental was super easy, and the individual who helped us was friendly and offered helpful tips for getting around. Would recommend renting a bike from here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Mondriaan room at the "stay at ours" guesthouse at the end of November.

We really, really enjoyed our stay there; the location was excellent, the people were friendly and helpful, and we felt totally at home there.

As there were some problems getting there from the airport (due to train issue) we had to ring ahead and let them know we would arrive late. Despite this, Frederic stayed up and waited for us to arrive and then spent a long time letting us know where all the best spots were. This was much appreciated.

The next day, we also hired bikes from them. This was a great way to see the city and all of the roads were easy to navigate.

The room itself was comfortable and clean, although you could hear the people in the room above you. In addition, the waterbed was a definite experience not to be forgotten!!!

We had a lovely time in Amsterdam, and would definitely return to this accommodation if we were to go again.

Room Tip: Go for the mondriaan and enjoy the waterbed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I cannot begin to tell you how good our stay in Amsterdam was due to the Staff at Frederic.

Marne, his mother and father where the kindest most helpful people I have ever encountered.

From the second we arrived I felt right at home.

We stayed in one of the apartments close to their main office on Brouwersgracht and it was amazing. Such a comfortable bed!!

I have stayed in Amsterdam countless times but this time was so special!

My wife was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and from the advice of Marne and his mother (I'm so sorry I cannot remember you name) I had the experience of a lifetime with her.

We hired bikes, visited THE best places I have ever eaten and experienced the city like I never had before and we have Frederic Rent A Bike to thank for this!

I would recommend it for couples as it was perfect for myself and my wife.

See you guys soon :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from Amsteram having stayed in Frederic's Houseboat IX for three nights. It was perfect! The houseboat was really spacious, cosy and very clean. The location, opposite Anne Francs house was perfect- we had pre booked tickets for this (would definitely recommend doing this as the queues were massive) so could leave the houseboat just 5 minutes before our tour time. The Jordaan area is, in our opinion, the loveliest area of Amsterdam. It was great to venture out into the livelier centre but return to the peace and tranquility of the houseboat. It was only 15 mins walk from the Rijksmusum and Van Gogh museum and about the same to the centre and red light district. We could have travelled around by tram but it was nicer to walk along the canals.

Frederic's is a fab company. They stayed late at the office for us to arrive and gave us great recommendations of places to eat and drink.

We can't complement the company or accomodation enough. We had the most perfect weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Chris Tofani for a couple of nights. The apartment was amazing--so spacious. right on a canal in the Jordaan neighborhood with awesome views . So many shops and restaurants! Everyone at the shop was so helpful. We were able to buy fresh local food at a street market and cooked breakfast in the apartment. The rental process and checkin and out were a piece of cake. I would highly recommend renting through Frederic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

Address: Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a bike rental and guest house. Our bicycles are "incognito", all different and without annoying advertisement. For any one we have a bike in the right size. We are real foodies. The last 10 years we are checking the most delicious restaurants in Amsterdam and surroundings. This enormous investment gave us an excellent view on what's happening in the restaurants in Amsterdam. When you come to rent a bike we will share this first-class information with pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.