We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient bike rental” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms
Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient bike rental”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We only rented bikes from this establishment, so can't comment on the hotel.
The bike rental was super easy, and the individual who helped us was friendly and offered helpful tips for getting around. Would recommend renting a bike from here.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    29
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
37
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Mondriaan room at the "stay at ours" guesthouse at the end of November.

We really, really enjoyed our stay there; the location was excellent, the people were friendly and helpful, and we felt totally at home there.

As there were some problems getting there from the airport (due to train issue) we had to ring ahead and let them know we would arrive late. Despite this, Frederic stayed up and waited for us to arrive and then spent a long time letting us know where all the best spots were. This was much appreciated.

The next day, we also hired bikes from them. This was a great way to see the city and all of the roads were easy to navigate.

The room itself was comfortable and clean, although you could hear the people in the room above you. In addition, the waterbed was a definite experience not to be forgotten!!!

We had a lovely time in Amsterdam, and would definitely return to this accommodation if we were to go again.

Room Tip: Go for the mondriaan and enjoy the waterbed!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I cannot begin to tell you how good our stay in Amsterdam was due to the Staff at Frederic.

Marne, his mother and father where the kindest most helpful people I have ever encountered.

From the second we arrived I felt right at home.

We stayed in one of the apartments close to their main office on Brouwersgracht and it was amazing. Such a comfortable bed!!

I have stayed in Amsterdam countless times but this time was so special!

My wife was visiting Amsterdam for the first time and from the advice of Marne and his mother (I'm so sorry I cannot remember you name) I had the experience of a lifetime with her.

We hired bikes, visited THE best places I have ever eaten and experienced the city like I never had before and we have Frederic Rent A Bike to thank for this!

I would recommend it for couples as it was perfect for myself and my wife.

See you guys soon :)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I have just returned from Amsteram having stayed in Frederic's Houseboat IX for three nights. It was perfect! The houseboat was really spacious, cosy and very clean. The location, opposite Anne Francs house was perfect- we had pre booked tickets for this (would definitely recommend doing this as the queues were massive) so could leave the houseboat just 5 minutes before our tour time. The Jordaan area is, in our opinion, the loveliest area of Amsterdam. It was great to venture out into the livelier centre but return to the peace and tranquility of the houseboat. It was only 15 mins walk from the Rijksmusum and Van Gogh museum and about the same to the centre and red light district. We could have travelled around by tram but it was nicer to walk along the canals.

Frederic's is a fab company. They stayed late at the office for us to arrive and gave us great recommendations of places to eat and drink.

We can't complement the company or accomodation enough. We had the most perfect weekend!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed in the Chris Tofani for a couple of nights. The apartment was amazing--so spacious. right on a canal in the Jordaan neighborhood with awesome views . So many shops and restaurants! Everyone at the shop was so helpful. We were able to buy fresh local food at a street market and cooked breakfast in the apartment. The rental process and checkin and out were a piece of cake. I would highly recommend renting through Frederic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed with one friend @ Carlo's apt in Sept 2013.
- on Frederic rental: very good, very responsive, very helpful, very everything ... in a nutshell its very easy to book with him, and he has good advices for Amsterdam. Did not try the bike rental though, only 1 flat.
- the flat is located in Herenmarkt6, 1st floor. The flat is small but very clean. It is ok for a couple, but if you are 2 people sleeping in 2 different beds, one will have the real bed, the other one the couch. And the toilets + shower are located in the bedroom. So you need some organization... Separate bathroom could have been better. But perfect for a couple.
To reach the flat you need to climb a few stairs, and the "slope" is like 60degrees ... you have been warned!
Great location, 10 mins walk from central station, nice area, but can be very noisy (and I mean very) at night, like drunk guys shouting at 3am ... this is amsterdam, but if you want a super quiet place you may want another location.
Price/Quality was very nice in the end.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We've stayed with Frederic's every time we've been in Amsterdam and for us it's the only place to stay. From check-in to check-out its a wonderful experience. On check-in they have spent a considerable amount of time showing/ telling us what's where, what to see, where to eat (even booking restaurants for us) etc - absolutely amazing! The Rent-a-Bike is so handy and easy to arrange, we've used it every time to experience life as "locals" - I can't fault the service at all. The apartments are clean and well maintained - a home away from home, the only downside is I didn't organise myself enough to arrange for a house boat - next time!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

Address: Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a bike rental and guest house. Our bicycles are "incognito", all different and without annoying advertisement. For any one we have a bike in the right size. We are real foodies. The last 10 years we are checking the most delicious restaurants in Amsterdam and surroundings. This enormous investment gave us an excellent view on what's happening in the restaurants in Amsterdam. When you come to rent a bike we will share this first-class information with pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms to your Saves list