We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frederic... a home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms
Save
You added Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms to your Saves list
Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #64 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Czestochowa, Poland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Frederic... a home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Due to my business, I often pass through Amsterdam. Until, someone introduced me to Frederic's rooms, I had to put up with hotels. Now, I stay at Frederic... a home away from home. It's a walk away from Central Station and near everything needed to make your stay a nice experience...

Room Tip: ALL rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    30
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
24
40
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012 via mobile

I rent Houseboat #9 for 3 nights(530€).Location us ideal(in front of Anne Frank s house).it was clean, well equipped and so nice to stay on a houseboat in Amsterdam.Frederic & his son are very kind and recommanded very nice restaurants. But if you want to sleep deeply that s not the place to stay : church bells chimmed every 30 minutes even during night !

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We booked a house boat in November 2011. "WOW" would be an understatement the boat was spotless and equipped with everything you would want for a relaxed stay. The location was fantastic near to the centre but not noisy, we woke to a craft and produced market on the other side of the canal and sightseeing boat going by (keep curtains closed until you are dressed then sit back and relax watching Amsterdam go by). The guys at Frederic could not have done more for us, it was a pleasure going in to have a laugh and giggle let alone the local information and tips they gave us. We only stayed for a weekend but with the help of Frederic staff and the great location we got to see and do so much. We will be back, why stay in Amsterdam in a hotel when to can live the Amsterdam dream on the water.

Room Tip: We stayed on Houseboat 3 it only sleeps 3 but the location was Amsterdam
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

We rented two apartments in the same house on Herenmarkt - Vila Flora and Carlo. Our family visited Amsterdam during a time when a major conference was in town and most hotels jack up their rates and/or require long stays. These were the only reasonably priced accommodations we found that alllowed us to stay just 3 nights during that time. Our expectations were low but we were wowed by the value we received. The apartments were spotlessly clean, spacious and comfortable. Both had a washer/dryer, very small dishwasher and mini-fridge The owner provided plenty of supplies. She lives in the building next door and checked in with us to make sure everything was OK. Our bedroom was at the back of the apartment and faced a small courtyard between two buildings. We were pleasantly surprised at how quiet it was, even though there is a busy restaurant close by. The location is excellent. It's within walking distance of the train station and close to many restaurants, shops and a great Saturday market. The folks at Frederic Rent a Bike were awesome.

Some things to be aware of that may be of concern to some though they were not a problem for us:
1) The stairs up to the apartments were narrow and super steep, almost ladder-like. I think this is typical for Amsterdam, but it may be an issue if you have mobility challenges or lots of heavy luggage. The apartments we stayed in were on the second and third floor.

2) The toilet was in a small room just outside the apartment. There was only one apartment on each floor so it wasn't shared with anyone else but you do need to leave the privacy of your apartment to go to the loo. The shower was inside the apartment. Also, in our apartment, if you turned on the light in the toilet room, it also came on in the shower room, right next to the bed. A 3am trip to the toilet will probably be noticed by your sleeping partner.

3) You must pay the rental charge in full, in cash, upon arrival. We had no problems with this, but did need to bank funds via several ATM trips prior to our arrival. We provided a credit card # as a guarantee when making the reservation but nothing was charged.

Overall, these apartments were a great value and we would definitely return. Our bike rental experience with Frederic was also perfect.

Room Tip: Frederic has many rooms/apartments for rent, so other rental units may be different from ours. The F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I stayed on one of Frederic's houseboats with my husband and our friend for four evenings. Everything was exactly as advertised on their website (except that Frederic accidentally forgot to add the cost of one of the evenings when he confirmed our reservation, but no big deal). The young guy who helped us (Marte?) at the check-in office was just fantastic. He sat down with us upon arrival for a good half hour and told us about all his favourite things to do in Amsterdam, marking down these spots on a map for us to take away. When we arrived at the houseboat, we found the accommodations to be very clean and well-kept, and all appliances were in working order. Staying on a houseboat in Amsterdam was a truly unique experience, and one I recommend to all visitors to this great city. Reserve with Frederic and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Les Arcs, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

I used Frederic's servicies for allmost all my stop in Amsterdam. I have allways been happy with accomodations, from single room or appartment even houseboats... The team there is so helpfull and speak many languages ;) They provide you with tips, and I allways discover something different because of them. Good people, good place, good vibes!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011 via mobile

If you want a true Amsterdam experience then you must stay on one of their canal boats. They are spacious and very well equipped to suit your needs. From the kitchen to the roomy bedrooms your stay will long be remembered. Great location conveniently located close to central station, city transportation, museums, restaurants, shopping & attractions. The entire staff at Frederic are just wonerful people will do their best to accommodate any request. We have stayed with then on both our visits to Amsterdam and look forward to may future visits with them. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms

Address: Brouwersgracht 78, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are running a bike rental and guest house. Our bicycles are "incognito", all different and without annoying advertisement. For any one we have a bike in the right size. We are real foodies. The last 10 years we are checking the most delicious restaurants in Amsterdam and surroundings. This enormous investment gave us an excellent view on what's happening in the restaurants in Amsterdam. When you come to rent a bike we will share this first-class information with pleasure. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Frederic Rentabike Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frederic Rent a Bike - Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.