We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nightmare!!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn
Oosterpark 71, Amsterdam 2202 EC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 297 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A nightmare!!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Please do not go there if you are looking for somethig nice
I always want to go outside of this terrible hotel
The toilet is too much minimal degraded and old.
Small room with no particular furniture
The prices are too high.
No breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    2
    4
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

One of my first memory's of Amsterdam was seeing the owner of the inn tootle along on his bike after trying to contact him for an hour. The room was sound when the wind wasn't blowing too hard and I didn't think the windows were gonna come through. The communal showers and toilets were okay. The tram stop is right around the corner as was the night bus stop. The best thing about the inn was the fella didn't even make us pay. Stayed 3 nights for nothing.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

The place has changed its name Amsterdam Budget Inn Youth Guesthouse. Good accomodation in a central location, easy to get to town. The nearby Oosterpark is nice.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

While visiting Amstersam getting the location is important. This is good location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Great location as said before. The place is not the Hilton for sure but at the end of the day it was cheap and you get what you paid for. It served as a great base for us and all we needed was somewhere to sleep and wash and it served its purpose so there are no complaints. The service was there if you require it. Any help or needs we required were quickly met. Nearby is a lovely cafe called Milo. We went there every morning for the Milo breakfast. 10 euro but it was well wroth it as it kept you going right through until evening.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

Just the though of the name of this place disgusts me. It does not even look legal. I stayed in a fowl "room" in the basement of what seemed a vacant building. The smell was absolutely horrific and I was scared to even sit down on the "bed"..or w/e that was. Attempted to fall asleep in tights, leggings, socks, sweatpants, sweater, turtleneck, and COAT because the weather was below freezing HOWEVER..there was no heating. When my friend and I arrived to the building it took the owner 20 mins to come downstairs to a broken hall way and led us to another building ON HIS BIKE 5 blocks away while it was hailing and we had to carry our luggage walking. When we got there we had to wait another 10 mins WHY? who knows what he was doing....he then decides to go inside the room with us and sit on the "bed" asking irrelevant questions then passive aggressively demanding us for the total amount due for the dungeon-like room. Definitely NOT WORTH A PENNY, NOT SAFE, NOT CLEAN....you'll have better luck staying in an ally of the red-light district.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

LOCATION:

Great. You can get in the city within 10 minutes by tram or nightbus.

ACCOMMODATION:

Awful!
We had a room at Wijttenbachstraat 64 which wasn't clean at all. The walls were dirty and there were several big mould spots on the ceiling. One of the two beds was broken, sleeping was only possible in a slanting position. There was no chair or a coat rack or anything to put your clothes or towels on.
The shower was disgusting. Since the fan was messy, it didn't work well. So there was almost no ventilation to reduce the warm humidity in this extremely narrow room. Under this circumstances it was no surprise that the shower was mouldy too.
The toilet can be described as half-decent. There's a washbowl which is ok, but there is only cold water. So if some men are accustomed to shave their faces with hot water, they'll get a problem.

GENERAL:

Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn makes a dubios impression. Not only that at the adress Oosterpark 71 is only a doorbell panel to find but nothing which would indicate that there is a hostel (There's no reception or anything like that). Furthermore payment was only possible in cash and we didn't get a receipt.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn

Also Known As:
Amsterdam Oosterpark Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Oosterpark Hotel
Address: Oosterpark 71, Amsterdam 2202 EC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #234 of 297 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Oosterpark Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.