We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No hospitality” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Giardino Hotel to your Saves list
Il Giardino Hotel
Prins Hendrikkade 97-98, 7244 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #328 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No hospitality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

It was hard to find the receptiondesk, the adress was number 97-98 and when u go to 97 you see an arrow to the left telling you where the reception is, when you go to 98 you see the same arrow pointing where to go. Suddenly the guy in the kebab shop is waving at me and telling me to come in,then I asked where the reception is and he said it's right here at the cashier. I found that weird to checkin there.
Anyhow the room was dirty and the walls stained, too much noise, too warm room, lethal stairs, bad smell and there where no hospitality or good welcome and definitely not worth 80€ for a night.
They also took 10€ for key deposit, and I swear that key ring was not small.


Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Nabih B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location, very close to everything.

As for the room....the view was of a wall and an air conditioner, the walls had loads of marks on them, no wardrobe to put your clothes....just a bed a table and a chair.
The beds were brilliant though...very soft and comfortable...clean linen, and a very clean and nice bathroom with a good shower.
Would recommend if you're on a budget and but want to be close to town centre.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Popa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This place was terrible!! Even the lady at reception advised us to rather look at the place first before we commit to staying!
The outside was terrible, and although we were in Amsterdam, the floors were so smokey with weed that it was difficult to breathe, the balcony had never been cleaned
Location was the only plus as it was close to the central station
We didn't stay there, which led us to having to go hunting for an alternative on our 1 day there on a week that everywhere was fully booked!!! Probably won't use your site again to book a hotel. The hotel was misrepresented by your site!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Shandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I booked the hotel for a friend and myself after reading the hotels website and the fact it was in an excellent location. Firstly the pictures are fake the reception is not a homely restaurant but a kebab shop. The staff were rude and hardly gave us a warm welcome.
The stairs are a lethal death-trap. We had a massive suitcase and of course they gave us a room on the first floor!
When we eventually arrived there was a cable plugged in across our door. The corridor stank of a mixture of sweat and musky cheap aftershave.
The room was dark and dingy the view was of a brick wall and if you looked out of the window you could quite clearly see the guy in the next room in bed so he could probably see us as well. The window didn't shut properly so every night we had a mosquito. The bed was comfortable but bedding was dirty my duvet wasn't even in the cover properly. Light switches didn't work and there was a mini bar type fridge just dumped next to the bed. The chairs round the table had some questionable stains on them.
The noise was horrific every night you could hear doors slamming, people walking up the stairs. Don't even get me started on the person upstairs moving furniture about every night for about four hours!
Was told there was a hairdryer in the room description there wasn’t one. One towel to last us four days. I'll give them props for the shower which was amazing but it flooded the wet room which would have been fine had the toilet been separate but you had to virtually dive in and swim to use the toilet if someone had just showered. Toilet seat was broken which meant when you sat on it you got flung off to the other side of the room. and the radiator was leaking. I was bitten something stupid (probably by bed bugs) and now have bites all over my arms
Oh you may have guessed from other reviews it was room number 25!
We cut our trip short by a day and changed our flights to come home early because we couldn't bare staying there another night!
We showed them the same courtesy they showed us and made sure we left the room in a bigger mess and slammed every single door possible at 6am in the morning!!
Avoid this hotel at all costs I’d rather have slept in one of the windows on the red light district than here!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LinnieB1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

my room was horrible, really dirty. Linen dirty, dirty walls and nuts walls. Would not recommend this Hotel to anyone. The bathroom was flooded after the first bath. The breakfast is very expensive and not made ​​you want to try. It had a refrigerator but not worked. The floor was littered with garbage, it seemed that not cleaned the room the previous guest. that horrible experience, I tried to not go there almost no time, just sleep.

Room Tip: Quadruple for 4 persons
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
1 Thank Helder L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nothing special to say. It is just average place to stay in Amsterdam if you have no other options at the moment. However, location is excellent. I am not really sure, I would like to stay at the hotel one more time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Катерина С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Amsterdam Centraal Station
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#147 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,618 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Old Quarter
Hotel Old Quarter
#291 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Old Nickel
Old Nickel
#246 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Centrum
Good Hotel Amsterdam
Good Hotel Amsterdam
#182 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Giardino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 97-98, 7244 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #328 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook and Budget Places so you can book your Il Giardino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing