We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Giardino Hotel to your Saves list
Il Giardino Hotel
Prins Hendrikkade 97-98, 7244 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #335 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“Review”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Nothing special to say. It is just average place to stay in Amsterdam if you have no other options at the moment. However, location is excellent. I am not really sure, I would like to stay at the hotel one more time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    37
    37
    75
See reviews for
15
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Going for a city break, I'm not usually bothered about where I stay so long as it is clean, comfortable and in a good location. This hotel is located within walking distance of everything you would need and makes it easy to get around Amsterdam. Unfortunately that's the only good thing I have to say about this place.

The hotel is above a 24 hour kebab shop (no problem), however most of the staff we encountered seemed to have no interest or knowledge of the hotel at all. There was building work going on as we were there ('painting' apparently, although it needs more than a lick of paint!), so a member of staff had to let us in through a side door which was annoying. Being woken up from 7:30 by building work was also a pain.

The room, well... Looked ok at first, until you actually go to use something. Fancy flat screen TV on wall, just a shame it has no aerial and the plug doesn't reach any socket! Nowhere to hang clothes. The bathroom looked newly decorated, however the toilet seat didn't fit the toilet and there was only one plug in the bathroom, covered in sealant so no plug could fit in it. It was more like a wet room where everything gets flooded when you have a shower. The most disgusting thing was the cleanliness. Blonde long hairs on the floor, hair clips on the floor (?), dust everywhere. The room wasn't cleaned once in four days, nor did we ever see a cleaner go into other rooms. We had the same towels and bedding this entire time.

Breakfast was OK. Just two slices of bread (I think it was supposed to be toast), one slice of ham and cheese, a fried egg and jam with coffee or tea. Nothing to shout home about but enough to put us on.

The hotel asks for a 10 Euro deposit too, which we didn't see when booking.

Since we have returned home, both me and my friend who was staying with me in the room have developed nasty bites on our bodies. Not sure if it's bed bugs but its enough to make me write this review and vow never to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 25. Avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

It locates next to the Central station and Red light district but it was very dirty especially the walls!The service was good, but the breakfast quite poor. It had warm water and clean covers. For it's price wasn't good.


  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Friendly staff, excellent location for low-budget looking travellers. It's a very smart option for people who dont really care about room quality and services, but a place to bathe and sleep. It's in the center of Dam, so you easily go by foot everywhere, plus Centraal Station is like 2 minutes by foot. I wouldnt recommend it to families though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The tv did not work, there was nowhere to hang your clothes (back of a chair), there was no curtain on the window which had frosted glass, not that there was any view, it looked out onto an alleyway. there was only 1 pillow and a tiny cushion, it was after 3 attempts that I got a pillow which was the night before we were going home. The room did not get cleaned when we were out the room at all. We had to use the same towel twice. The 1st morning we woke to what sounded like a building site in the corridor outside our room. The staff just weren't interested in your requests. And to top it of they added an extra 10euros on to the price we already had on our confirmation paper, with no excuse or reason !!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Unbelievably tatty place, so disgusting you need to wear disposable gloves and endeavour not to touch anything. Only clean thing was the bed linen. Stingy mean tasteless breakfast. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Upon arrival I genuinely thought I'd wandered onto the set of the new Hostel/Saw movie. I believe if I had walked into the room, laid a turd onto the palm of my hand and clapped repeatedly it would have probably improved it in both looks and cleanliness. I would have given it a "Terrible" rating if it wasn't for the beds being pretty comfy and the location being decent. Myself and three of my friends paid €41 EACH for the privilege of staying here for a night, God only knows what that money goes towards because it certainly isn't used to fix the exposed wall sockets or painting over the graffiti on the walls, buying shower curtains, new mirrors or a hoover. Also, to add insult to injury there is a brand spanking new Hilton right across the road, if you listen carefully you can hear the guests there chuckling to themselves and they watch you cry yourself to sleep at night.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giardino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 97-98, 7244 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places and EasyToBook so you can book your Il Giardino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giardino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.