We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap, not as I was led to believe.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Giardino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Il Giardino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Giardino Hotel
Prins Hendrikkade 97-98, 7244 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #334 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Sleaford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Crap, not as I was led to believe.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

The bed linen was clean, other then that, thick dust on top of the cabinets, no plug in bathroom, no mirror, a badly sawn bed head board, views of brick walls out of all 3 windows, 1 window being a door of which the bed was shoved up, there was no getting out of there! Mould spores in the fridge, a wardrobe you can't use as there is no rail!, colourful walls where children had stayed, oh and the spy hole in the door could be easily poked tho if someone wanted to! 1 night was the only night we stopped. Oh and as for a double bed it's 2 singles pushed together! Breakfast consists of 2 bread, butter, jam, 1 slice if ham, 1 slice of cheese, 1 fried egg and a tea or coffee. Oh and a big no no for the disabled, I failed to mention I have problems walking and we were on the top floor and there is no lift. Also unfortunately you are unable to leave reviews on the hotels website

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    34
    32
    70
See reviews for
14
38
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

friendly staff! easy to access!! great location!! good value for money!! Was greeted with a kind receptionist who was very understanding! went to the room and the shower was immaculate!! better then some 5 star hotels!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

I stayed here last year and had the worst 5 nights of my life. I asked for a double bed however turned up and two singles were pushed together, the shower did not have a curtain therefore the bathroom got absolutely soaked so I was constantly walking on a wet bathroom floor which was unpleasant need less to say, fresh towels were never replaced and I had to ask for them, the mirror was on top of the wardrobe, the room itself was dark, dingy and so depressing and the bed sheets weren't changed once! and for the price I paid to stay there I was disgusted. The staff were friendly I have to say and the location was good but that certainly did not make up for the state of the room. Do not stay here if you are going as a couple or a group of girls as it puts a dampener on the whole Amsterdam experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The linen was clean and the beds didn't have any bed bugs which was great! For one night stay it's good but things in the room were broken eg. big hole in the window frame, the door handle, tap and a chair

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we got to our room and straight away we were in shock as the hotel was supposed to be at least a two star, but i promise you it was lower than a one! the floor was dirty our bed sheets were stained and dirty and looked as if they had been slept in then just puffed up, there were stains and graffiti everywhere, and our toilet seat was hanging off. our bedroom window wouldnt close and the tv didn't work. we didnt stay and booked out as soon as possible and we werent even asked why we were leaving. do not book this hotel room 25 is a dive!

Room Tip: just dont book this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

first of all, arrived on the room, closed the door, the handle remained in my hand.... after that, we find 2 cans of coke left from the previous guest on the side of the bed....... no mirrow in the bathroom.... NO bath mat and NO bath curtain on the shower... that mean... big lake after every shower...... and no daily cleaning of the room....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Giardino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Giardino Hotel

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 97-98, 7244 AV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #334 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places, EasyToBook and HotelsClick so you can book your Il Giardino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Giardino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.