We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy oldfashion safe Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Tamara to your Saves list
Hotel Tamara
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, 8561 AS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #290 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy oldfashion safe Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We had a great time in Amsterdam and really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Tamara.
The rooms weren't that big but they were clean and cozy and safe.
The staff are really helpful and you can get a cup of tea or coffee free at any time.
We loved it here and we highly recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget or just for fun.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    16
    8
    18
See reviews for
3
12
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Located within a 5-10 min. leisurely paced walk to the train station. The original room they showed us needed some major cleaning, had mud stains and the mattress looked pretty gross from the previous occupants, but the room they actually gave (the 3 of us), after checking in, was perfectly fine and clean enough to lay our head down at night; it had a sink, bunk bed and a twin size bed. The hotel/hostel had a computer with free internet. There were shared bathrooms, but everybody was pretty friendly, no weirdos, like a couple other places we check out prior to coming here. I can't remember the price, maybe 25 euro pp/pn, but it came with a couple of free drink tickets at the owners pub down the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Bermuda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

The moment I stepped into reception, I knew this was a mistake. We were told at reception that there were 3 shared toilets in the building, but only 1 of them was working.

Yes you heard right, one toilet for the whole hotel (say 30 ppl?). The toilet that did work was tiny and utterly disgusting.

When we walked into the triple room that we had booked, we found water leaking from the ceiling. We were changed to a quad, in which the heating wasn't working.

The towels we were given were all filthy.

Unrelated, I saw bottle filled with urine outside one of the rooms (as a result of 2 of the 3 toilets out of order).

After just 2 hours of this hell, our group left and checked into a 3* hotel down the street.
All I can say is this place is just not worth the cost saving. The place is a complete nightmare.

Stay away!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

We enjoyed our staying at Tamara, cheap and clean! Charming owner, playful cat and free coffe and tea! We also got free drinks at irish pub nearby and had a good party there:)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

Me and my friends stayed here in May 2010. We went to Amsterdam in 2009 and stayed in a really nice hotel which was miles away and cost a fortune for cabs etc. So when we turned up to hotel Tamara we were a bit shocked but for the price and location it is an ok place. 6 of us went (all girls) and none of us had anything awful to say! The "mad" guy at the reception is lovely.....very welcoming and gives you maps and even circles good coffee shops loool.

If your looking for a cheap hotel/hostel place to stay right near to Dam square I would recommend this place......think me and my friends may go back next year!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2010

Hotel Tamara is the pits As you go though the front door the smell of cat p iss will hit you.Then you look up to climb a mountain of stairs to Reception.To be greeted by some mad old guy with a cat. You look around and know this is a mistake even before you get to your room(which could mean more stairs)...after 20 mins of small talk all done by the old man we get our key and head up more stairs to our room.The bunk bed and a single i had the single bed next to the window(needing Air) My friends god help them had the bunk beds. My bed was from the 2nd world war rusty and dipped in the middle ..I was in Hell ..Ive been going to Amsterdam for over 20 years and stayed all over this great city from 5 star to budget ...Hotel Tamara sleep on the street its cleaner

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

Tamara is superb for location (200m or so from Dam Square). Given its central location there is some noise from Trams, traffic etc but after a day in the Dam its unlikey to keep an active traveller awake at night...

It is very basic and more of a hostel than a hotel. Rooms are shoddy (dodgy fittings, paint work etc) but clean. Rooms were fairly warm in August and although we didnt ask I would imagine Air Con is not a feature of this hotel.

We had a room for 3 (an Ikea Bunk Bed and a single). Beds were very basic but comfy enough...

Separate Toilet and Shower room is one per floor and shared between about 4-6 rooms but we never had any bother when needing to visit one and they were clean.

Although the corridor did have a tendancy to have a distinctive 'earthy' aroma...

In summary: Go here with friend to rough it on the chaep but not too impress a first date !!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamara

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, 8561 AS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #290 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Tamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.