We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT ADVISABLE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Tamara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hotel Tamara to your Saves list
Hotel Tamara
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, 8561 AS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
1 review
“NOT ADVISABLE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

when we found the hotel we were greeted by an old man that looked like he could have done with a good scrub.and a de lice..we handed over our cash only to be told that we would be stayin in the blarney stone ,what was up one of the shopping streets,,while we were delighted not to be staying at the hotel tamara,we were soon kicked back into touch when we were showed the room..i honestly wouldnt have let my dog sleep there.it looked liked they made the bed in 1970 and then reopened the door in 2014..please dont stay there u will regret it.......i must say that at the end of our 6 mile round trip we did get our money back and did find suitable digs at a bit more expence....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    14
    6
    16
See reviews for
3
11
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

So this hostel has a pretty bad reputation, but only by those who have missed the point. I spent four days here with the intention of experiencing Amsterdam the way it should and this hostel was what i needed. (to "mong" out) a place to go chill out and then get up and go and since this hostel is situated in the middle of amsterdam its perfect for it.
Most of these reviews are based in the hieght of the season, june and july, its cheaper than most hostels and Taz the brilliant owner is about 80 years old and what he has provided is a pad for travellers who come to the Dam for an awsome time.
So it may look similar to a prison and fell like your living in the 1930's at certain angles but get high and it becomes a palace in its own right. So save some money, give it a go and be educated and leave knowing you survived AMSTERDAM!!!

:)

Room Tip: The "HIGHER" the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Got landed in this hotel thanks to our hostel somehow double booking our room. First impressions are not the greatest but once you are there it is absolutley fine.
The stairs up are steep, narrow and dark. Once in all the staff seemed very friendly and we were given the room nearest to the toilet. The room itself was very very basic but ok for a group of 5 guys just looking to enjoy Amsterdam. The sheets and towels supplied all seemed clean, beds themselves varied as most were ok but some just felt like sleeping on concrete. The room itself was very spacious, had a window that looked out onto a brick wall. Not the worst thing in the world and actually turned out ideal as smoking is permitted in the hotel.
1 toilet and 1 room with shower and toilet. Both very clean and the shower itself was actually really good. Never heard any other guests in the hotel either. Free wifi and tea/coffee between 9am and 12noon and also gave us some vouchers for other places.
Location itself is ideal, not far away from the town and also the red light district. Central station is also well within walking distance. If needed there are tram routes and bike hire very close by.
Overall I would definitely not have chosen this place myself, but for just a group of guys looking to enjoy Amsterdam it was not the worst place in the world we could of landed. Pretty shabby and could use some renovation work but the people are friendly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The hotel was in the perfect location, close to the redlight district, plenty of bars and restaurants, There is also a bicycle rental place across the road thats relatively cheap, perfect for getting around to places like vondlepark, you even get a discount as the hotel has a wall of vouchers and discounts hat you can use across the city.
Now let me tell you what you really need to know.
Taz, the guy who runs the place is definitely one of a kind. He's very friendly to the point where any trip into the corridor will result in extended conversation. Oh also there's a cat mooching round but keep it out of your room. It decided to vomit on our copy of Crime and Punishment on the last night. Also there is a caretaker who looks a bit like Filch from Harry Potter and he sleeps in the kitchen so don't make the same mistake we did and leave your martini in the fridge with the hope of getting it later on. On the plus side too, free wifi and tea and coffee. You can smoke in the rooms and there's clean towels and hot showers.

Room Tip: Cheapest rooms are on the side of a building and look out onto brick wall and and aly, but where fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Me and 2 friends stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and were pleasantly surprised. The owner was lovely and the location of the hotel is excellent. It's close to many restaurants, bars and coffee shops. However we did use a bicycle ride to get to Red Light District as frankly we didn't want to walk and we're all pretty rubbish with directions. There was a cat but didn't cause much trouble. The bunk beds were lovely and comfy however the single bed had caved in so my friend and I shared a bed. Rooms were spacious with lots of plugs, a sink and two mirrors. We didn't use any of the towels provided although they looked clean. The bathroom was surprisingly spotless and there was never any inconvenience with the other guests. I would definitely come back to this hotel for the price we paid, we all enjoyed it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I am seriously advising not to stay here. I am a well travelled man and stayed in many places over the world. I can safely say this place is disgraceful and you should not expect this in a first world country. The owner hated us before we turned up and had a serious chip on his shoulder. He did not accept card payments which was a massive inconvenience. The place is dirty, smells of mould and I don't know when the bed sheets or pillow cases were last washed. Some of us were made to sleep on matresses on the floor and a number of your party were seriously attacked by bed bugs and got bitten and all the bites got infected. All the people in my room slept on top of the sheets as not to get bitten. Upon arrival I honestly thought it was a joke but to my horror, this was the place we had booked. I cannot understand how this man can be allowed to run this sort of establishment. You have been warned, stay here at your own risk. The one positive is that the hotel was so bad, it forced us to get up early and go and spend more time in Amsterdam and not return till the early hours.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We found the location easily. got in and paid, when we entered the room there was an elderly man who turns out to be the owner asleep on one of the beds. fair enough there his beds. the electricty went out, but we did get candles or as the elderly man put it "romantic lighting". we could smoke in the rooms which was a big plus, but every time we left the room we got a good lession about christ the son of God. Also someone not in our group left a dirty pair of womens pants in our room. Weird but of you want a crazy and unpredictable time come here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Tamara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tamara

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 144, 8561 AS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 264
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Tamara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Tamara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.