We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice calm area, good breakfast, polite staff, bathroom in a room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Khabarovsk
2 reviews
“Nice calm area, good breakfast, polite staff, bathroom in a room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Very good hostel in calm area about 10 minutes by bicycle. I rented the bicycle in the hostel. Near the hostel are bus and tram stops. The hostel is huge, with big reception, in the historical bilding. There are many groups stay in hostel. The bathroom and toilet in every room, very comfortable, rooms and bed linen are clean. The breakfast is included, good healthy breakfast buffet style. I Highly recommend this hostel for people who like to live in respectful area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    139
    63
    18
    14
See reviews for
19
41
50
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hornsby, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Rooms are spacious, neat and tidy. Great cheap bar & friendly staff made our stay very good fun. Was very clean & good value for the money. Nice and quiet neighbourhood. Tram and bus stain is right outside the hostel. The only thing that bugged me was the shower - it's a push button shower that stays running for about 10 seconds.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here 2-4 may & had an amazing time. Good cheap bar & friendly staff made our stay very good fun. Was very clean & good value for the money. Need to get tram into city but one of out friends did walk home one night. Also zen bar just round the corner was excellent. A taxi from here into the city costs about 20 euros.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Feel lucky to choose this hostel which is far from the bustling city centre. The neighborhood is nice and quiet, but with convenient facilities. The tram and bus stations are just beside the door. Breakfast is good with sandwich packages, so you can save the rest for lunch, too. The rooms are spacious and with female dorm, and the staff are friendly and helpful. An enjoyable experience in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: Breakfast time can be very busy. Ask for female-only dorm if necessary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We knew this hostel was not close to the city centre but we booked it because it was the only reasonably priced one available for our dates. In actuality, it was very far from the city centre (40 min walk) and if we factor in the price of the public transportation pass, it was probably more expensive than hostels closer to the city centre. There were no in-room lockers and the only ones offered were paying lockers. Check-in was fast and the staff at the reception were okay. They did not offer free maps however and we had to pay for a map of the city. We were there during King's Day and public transportation to the city centre was suspended for the day. We did not know this and bought the day pass from the reception. The receptionist should have told us that we would not need it but she did not. For the first two nights we were there, there was a huge group (possibly a whole school) of kids who were very noisy early in the morning and late at night. Breakfast in the morning was horrible and we had to wait 25 minutes in line because it was too crowded. The quality of the breakfast was comparable to what you find in most hostels. The room was decent but the mattresses (they should not even be called mattresses) were very uncomfortable. They looked like what you bring out when you have guests staying over for 1 night. There were no fitted sheets so we had to use flat sheets instead. The duvets were very dirty and had obviously never been washed. There was no soap in the room but we already knew about it so we brought our own soap. There was no wifi in the rooms and even in the lobby, it was spotty at best.

The shower was the kind of shower that you find in gyms (the kind that shut off after 10 seconds) and it was not clean. The room itself was okay but could have been cleaner. Overall, we would definitely not come back to the Stayokay Zeeburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A girl in my hall began having a seizure, so I ran down to the front desk to ask them for a doctor or to call for paramedics. Instead they asked me if I had a group leader, and to let him know what was happening. They just stared at me and wouldn't call or offer any help to the girl that was obviously in need of medical care. I didn't even know this girl, but it shouldn't matter who she is! She needed help and the staff didn't even care. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the experience you had concerning this situation.

Could you please inform me about the details of your stay (preferably the reservation number and the dates)? This way we can figure out what happened and can prevent this from happening again.

Please email to banqueting@zeeburg.stayokay.com

Kind regards,

Joost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Me and three other female friends stayed in StayOkay Hostel last year and it was far from ideal.

The hostel dormitory we stayed in was clean and spacious and there was a nice bar downstairs but we did NOT like the look of the food and cafeteria, but as we did not try it I can't comment. The staff were helpful on our arrival and gave us a brief description on the best way to get into Amsterdam.

When we arrived we felt a little bit out the way and did end up spending a fair amount on taxis throughout our stay. It was a large hostel with a dreary looking entrance and a lot of younger people around. The location didn't particularly excite us. Also - no alcohol in the rooms which they have their reasons for but I'd of liked a drink whilst getting ready to go out.

The shower wasn't nice and you'd have to push a button to get about 20 seconds of water - we all learned to lean on it when showering.

I did feel it was a little bit expensive for what we got and even if you are just looking for somewhere with a bed and a roof over your head it might be worth finding somewhere closer to Amsterdam centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 177 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.