We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I WILL NEVER RETURN” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I WILL NEVER RETURN”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A girl in my hall began having a seizure, so I ran down to the front desk to ask them for a doctor or to call for paramedics. Instead they asked me if I had a group leader, and to let him know what was happening. They just stared at me and wouldn't call or offer any help to the girl that was obviously in need of medical care. I didn't even know this girl, but it shouldn't matter who she is! She needed help and the staff didn't even care. Terrible experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the experience you had concerning this situation.

Could you please inform me about the details of your stay (preferably the reservation number and the dates)? This way we can figure out what happened and can prevent this from happening again.

Please email to banqueting@zeeburg.stayokay.com

Kind regards,

Joost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    134
    59
    14
    14
See reviews for
19
38
45
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Me and three other female friends stayed in StayOkay Hostel last year and it was far from ideal.

The hostel dormitory we stayed in was clean and spacious and there was a nice bar downstairs but we did NOT like the look of the food and cafeteria, but as we did not try it I can't comment. The staff were helpful on our arrival and gave us a brief description on the best way to get into Amsterdam.

When we arrived we felt a little bit out the way and did end up spending a fair amount on taxis throughout our stay. It was a large hostel with a dreary looking entrance and a lot of younger people around. The location didn't particularly excite us. Also - no alcohol in the rooms which they have their reasons for but I'd of liked a drink whilst getting ready to go out.

The shower wasn't nice and you'd have to push a button to get about 20 seconds of water - we all learned to lean on it when showering.

I did feel it was a little bit expensive for what we got and even if you are just looking for somewhere with a bed and a roof over your head it might be worth finding somewhere closer to Amsterdam centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Big super-hostel, lots of (noisy) school/sports groups.


GOOD:

- Fine breakfast

- Helpful Staff

- Bike storage (of sorts)

- Lamp and socket next to each bed


BAD:

- Pricey - 140 EUROS for 4 nights in a dorm!

- Shower dirty, rarely cleaned - push button for 24 seconds of water of varying temperature!

- Very slow wifi (and only available in lobby)

- No option to rent towels - only buy

- Pay-for lockers only

- Elevator broken for 5 days

- Very few hooks in room for towel/jacket etc

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hostel itself was satisfactory. Clean facilities. The location is not very good because it is a little far from the city center. However, the staff is extremely unhelpful. During our stay there was a medical emergency and the hostel staff was completely unwilling to help. They were completely uninterested in helping in anyway with this situation--they didn't offer to call an ambulance or give us an emergency number to call. Our stay was ruined by the incompetence and apathy of the staff.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback and my sincere apologies for the experience you had concerning this situation.

Could you please inform me about the details of your stay (preferably the reservation number and the dates)? This way we can figure out what happened and can prevent this from happening again.

Please email to banqueting@zeeburg.stayokay.com

Kind regards,

Joost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 9 days (including two weekends) on a study visit to Amsterdam. Although the location was good the hotel management and service was way too poor.

We had to pay an average of around 48 euros a day for a shared bed room for 6 people including breakfast and dinner, but strangely the dinner was not included for the day we checked in. The room itself was too small and poorly laid with 3 bunk beds, each for 2 persons and had not enough space to store our entire luggage. The toilet had poor ventilation and insulation and the separate bath room was too narrow, with a flat floor that always resulted in water spreading to the room. Moreover, the Wi-Fi was too slow and seldom worked in the rooms.

Although the breakfast was good and appeared to be fresh, the dinner served was hugely inconsistent in quality and made me feel whether they are using old material or taking leftovers from previous days. However, the kitchen staffs were relatively well behaved and friendly than the totally rude and carefree reception staff. The general negligence seems to be a failure from the part of management team.

Generally, it is way below the average in quality and service and is too expensive for what you get.

Room Tip: Avoid this place for there are cheaper options with better quality within the city or in an extreme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed there for almost 9 nights with 5 other guys in a room also the dinner and breakfast was included. There are lot of problems I can think about:
1. Wifi is very slow and does not work in room.
2. Always repeated the dinner on second day and used old stuff.
3. Never cleaned the room in those 9 days of my stay there.
4. Wash basin is a part of room and no one could relax at all.
5. The wash room and shower room were separated but with out any insulation inside the wall so the noise was really terrible and no cross ventilation in the room.
6. Shower water pops out in the room and no one fixed it.
7. All the people are very proud of themselves and they don't help you much.
8. Very little performance from their side and its really expensive to live on the outskirts of amsterdam.

I am not being paid to write all these problem but I am honest with you. They are getting some awards from some websites and its really pathetic to see how the hostel really functions and they were making some kind of movie of their hostel to promote it but it really sucks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feldkirch, Austria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had 9 nights at the hostel and paid about 450 euros. Breakfast was ok but the dinner was always the same. In addition, the soup or the menu was several times already finished befor 8 clock. Unfortunately the food was not varied. We were 6 people in the same room which was very small. The staff especially at the reception were rude and not very helpful. Unfortunately, the hostel is too far from the center.

Positive was the bar area and the Happy Houre. Generally, it was just too expensive for the performance.

Christian / Austria

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Christian,

Thank you for your valuable feedback!
As I recall you requested to cancel the dinner when you checked in, what, due to regulations, was not possible. I will talk to our Food and Beverage Manager to inform him about the quantity of soup and the variation in meal possibilities.

I am happy that you enjoyed our bar.

Once again: thank you for your feedback and we will make sure it does not happen again.

Kind regards,

Joost Mallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 174 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.