We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“too expensive and terrible experience!! Dont go there its "stay poor "” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Vaduz, Liechtenstein
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“too expensive and terrible experience!! Dont go there its "stay poor "”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stayed there for almost 9 nights with 5 other guys in a room also the dinner and breakfast was included. There are lot of problems I can think about:
1. Wifi is very slow and does not work in room.
2. Always repeated the dinner on second day and used old stuff.
3. Never cleaned the room in those 9 days of my stay there.
4. Wash basin is a part of room and no one could relax at all.
5. The wash room and shower room were separated but with out any insulation inside the wall so the noise was really terrible and no cross ventilation in the room.
6. Shower water pops out in the room and no one fixed it.
7. All the people are very proud of themselves and they don't help you much.
8. Very little performance from their side and its really expensive to live on the outskirts of amsterdam.

I am not being paid to write all these problem but I am honest with you. They are getting some awards from some websites and its really pathetic to see how the hostel really functions and they were making some kind of movie of their hostel to promote it but it really sucks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    148
    66
    19
    14
See reviews for
20
43
52
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Feldkirch, Austria
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had 9 nights at the hostel and paid about 450 euros. Breakfast was ok but the dinner was always the same. In addition, the soup or the menu was several times already finished befor 8 clock. Unfortunately the food was not varied. We were 6 people in the same room which was very small. The staff especially at the reception were rude and not very helpful. Unfortunately, the hostel is too far from the center.

Positive was the bar area and the Happy Houre. Generally, it was just too expensive for the performance.

Christian / Austria

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Christian,

Thank you for your valuable feedback!
As I recall you requested to cancel the dinner when you checked in, what, due to regulations, was not possible. I will talk to our Food and Beverage Manager to inform him about the quantity of soup and the variation in meal possibilities.

I am happy that you enjoyed our bar.

Once again: thank you for your feedback and we will make sure it does not happen again.

Kind regards,

Joost Mallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorea, French Polynesia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

Overpriced, filthy, uniform food, cranky staff, mean supervisors, crowded, noisy .... sum it up: stay away - this stay is NOT okay. I have not once seen a cleaner in this place, the rooms are dank and tiny, crammed. It is also too far from the inner city - a tram and subway ride mean that you waste precious time getting there and back. And to top it all off: I was charged an exorbitant amount, far more than others I met. Find a place in the inner city - cheaper, walkable, exciting - you'll be happier all around!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest Relations Manager at Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Vasco,

I am really sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
We aim to provide as much service and kindness as possible, but unfortunately we have not been able to fulfill your needs in this matter.

Once again my apologies and I hope you enjoyed Amsterdam nonetheless.

Kind regards,

Joost Mallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Overall this was a very nice hostel to stay at. The rooms were very very clean and the beds were pretty comfortable. I was also never woken up by loud people in the hallways. They ask you to try to be quiet if you come in after 10:00 and people seem to listen.The breakfast is free and good, and the dinner that the hostel serves is decent as well. The bar isn't that great, but if you're in Amsterdam why wouldn't you head over to Leidseplein or Rembrandtplein anyway? The wi-fi is only available on the ground floor and works best in the cafeteria, which is open all day and a great place to sit if you need to get some work done. Zeeburg is a little bit outside of central Amsterdam, but if you buy a transportation pass (available for 1 hour, 1 day, 6 days, etc.), it's a great home base. There is a tram stop right by the hostel that takes you to Rembrandtplein and a night bus that stops there as well. There are plenty of nice restaurants in Zeeburg too.

Room Tip: I stayed in a 6 person private room here and a big dorm at the Stayokay at Vondelpark; both were gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This hostel was a great choice. It is by far one of the cleanest and well run places I have been to. I spent five nights here and enjoyed every night. It has a good breakfast and common area. It is also a rather large hostel with over 500 beds. That means there are a ton of different people there. The downside of that though is most of the people are on pre-planned trips. They are not your traditional backpackers, so they stay with their groups for the most part. I did enjoy having a nice bathroom in my room though, which was a 6 person room. The location is actually rather decent. It is a little ways away from the downtown area, but it is right by line 14 which will take you to and from the city. It is also by the turkish area of the city so be sure to get your Donner Kebabs there! They are delicious! The bar at the hostel is decent as well. I would recommend this place for a stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: They only have wi-fi in the main common area, so it will not be available in your room. You are in A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tambov, Russia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Well wo booked one night in this hotel, first of all when we entered the room we found the windows open and by January the room was so cold even after closing them and turning on the conditionner, we took a city tour and we came back and the room still cold, no towels for the shower but anyway for the money that we paid it's ok, generally not bad for backpackers and group travellers !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for four nights (Feb 2014) and had the best time!! Firstly, when we arived at Schipol airport, we were able to get a direct train to muiderpoort station, which is a ten minute walk to the hostel. The staff were very friendly and helpful on arrival offering advice on the transport around the city. The room was much better than what you would expect of a hostel, we had a private room, with a private bathroom!! Getting into the centre is VERY easy... Jump on the number 14 tram which you can catch (literally) 1 minute from the hostel and that will take you straight to the center (Dam Square) in 15 minutes. Breakfast was also very good. and the best part is after a long day of checking out the city, you can return here for the cheapest beers in town Especially at happy hour), music, play pool etc. Thouroughly, an enjoyable place to stay!!

Room Tip: There is no real difference between private and shared room prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.