We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OKAY stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“OKAY stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A very modern building with a very modern feel. It is a great venue to stay if you want a cheap weekend in Amsterdam.

The room was clean, felt fresh and the shower and toilet worked really well. It is an Eco-friendly hostel which does mean you have to keep pressing the button if you want a continuous shower but hey that's it for complaints!

There were 6 of us sharing this room and I can see it appealing for families. With 2 bunkbeds on a lower floor and like a loft/duplex part up a ladder for parents! I was worried the pillows (plasticy) were not going to be comfortable but I was wrong. You just sunk straight into bed and slept well.

The tram stop is literally across the courtyard and 14 takes you straight into the city centre. The centre is only in fact 2.9k away and the signs are very clear to make sure you walk in the right direction (it didn't take long).

The breakfast was also pretty good with a buffet style continental breakfast.

It was OKAY. It's a hostel at the end of the day.

Room Tip: I don't think it will matter too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    171
    81
    20
    14
See reviews for
24
46
59
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this hostel for a total of 3 nights. I was on a trip through Europe and Amsterdam was my starting point.

To begin with we had some trouble finding the place. We ended up taking a tram and were given bad advice by the information centre as to which tram to take and which stop to get off at. So we wandered around a little lost for a while but eventually figured it out. The hostel recommends taking the metro to Muiderpoort Station to get to the hostel but I found this was quite a walk if you have a giant backpack on. We found the best way from the main train station was Bus 22 (number may change) stop at "Javaplein". It was like a 100 metre walk up the street from this stop.

The hostel itself was just okay. The staff politeness was hit or miss. My brother's room key stopped working after a day and the guy he talked to at the front desk tried to just brush him off and say that he wasn't booked in to stay there. This was after one night already! When he finally took the effort to actually look up my brother's name he found it in there (imagine that!) but was not apologetic about it at all. With that said there were staff members who were very professional and helpful.

The only place you can get their "free" wifi was in the lobby. The internet connection was TERRIBLE....I believe on purpose because you would then have to pay for internet usage. Lockers were located in a room just off of the main lobby. No lockers in the rooms which I found highly inconvenient. If you wanted to lock anything up you had to go to the lobby to do so.

The bathrooms are all ensuite to the rooms. This was both good and bad. It was nice to have them close but if you wanted to use them early in the morning or late at night you risk waking people up. Plus there is just a tiny little shelf in the shower so when you bring clothes in to change into there wasn't much room for them. The water pressure is shoddy and you have to keep pressing the button to keep the shower going. It would stay on for like 2 minutes.

I found the rooms to be clean. Pillows on the beds weren't very good. But the room itself was adequate.

I had to rent a hair dryer to use and I had to leave a 20 euro deposit (really?). When I went to get my deposit back it was about 10 pm and I was told I couldn't get it until the morning because they had closed up the till. I did eventually get it back...

Hostel bar was nice and had a good variety. There is a breakfast provided included in the price of the bed. The breakfast was ok, pretty much the same as every other hostel breakfast....meat slices, cheese slices, cereal, yogurt, bread....

This hostel is quite far from the downtown area...considering everything is fairly close in Amsterdam. It was quiet which was nice. I found it to be a bit impersonal though and was hard to meet people. Maybe this was because it was so big.

If your planning an extended stay in Amsterdam I would not recommend this hostel. For one or two nights it was adequate.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This place is ridiculous. They only sell beds, the room is dirty, bathroom shower barely worked, you have to buy towels, soap, and shampoo. No TV, internet is free but very slow. No wonder it is cheap.
Do NOT Stay at this place. If you check in on Sunday, most shops around this place are closed. So, good luck if you need any laundry or iron your clothes for next day. This place does not provide anything at all and the front desk person was rude and manner less.

I arrived with two huge bags and elevator was out of order. My room was on the 1st floor, so I took stairs with two huge bags and room key does not work. What a joke???? They have few vending machines in the lobby but they are out of order too.

Good luck if you come here by mistakes. I recommend spend some extra money and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

As part of the Top Deck European Express tour groupd across parts of Europe, we stopped by Amsterdam for a couple of nights in this place as scheduled, and I was impressed by the quality of a backpackers/hostel standard here. Reception is quite large, so is the dining area, hs either stairways or elevators. Nice, big rooms, with two bunk beds on the bottom, and a stairway up to the higher portion of the room with two beds side-by-side with each other. It had a small table, very basic bathroom and wardrobe, although no fridge, and you do have to use your own bathing products, with only one towel supplied. Breakfast was okay. And it is not far from the city centre, probably from memory only about 15 euro for a taxi ride into the city. The neighbourhood to some of you may seem a little rough and low socio-economic, but we had no problems with anybody there. It has it all for a hostel standard, and I would recommend it to anybody if they don't mind putting up with the bare essentials.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Overall a great hostel for any type of traveller. It is a little out of the way (about a 30 minute walk from the station) but this causes no problems at all. Rooms and bathrooms are exceptionally clean and likewise in the dining area and bar. There is a pool table and dart board. The breakfast is continental and great as it is included in the price. A great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

3 of us stayed in a 6 bed room with a bathroom. Room was clean and safe. This hostel has an excellent social area, with its own bar that does happy hour deals and a restaurant. The breakfast in the morning had a very good selection. I found the staff very friendly and they were always happy to help. The hostel has a bike rental service, which is a great way to get around the city! The man in charge of the bike rental was very helpful and I feel it is a good deal compared to some of the other prices for renting bikes in major cities! Although the hostel is a little outside of the centre of Amsterdam, there are good transport links- with a tram line right outside and train station within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Brilliant hostel, very modern and clean. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful, especially the man in the bike hire centre. Bar, breakfast and social areas were terrific and cheap. The only draw back would be that it's a bit out of the city centre, but it is close to a tram stop, which are fast and reliable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 189 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.