We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If hostels are your thing...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Gurgaon, Haryana, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“If hostels are your thing...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hostel at Zeeburg is a good and safe budget accommodation in Amsterdam. For around 30-35 euros you get to share a room + breakfast (good spread of meat, breads, cheese, milk, coffee etc.) There are vending machines too, in case you need to buy something extra. Clean rooms + basic beds with attached shower and toilet. Tram14 runs by the hostel, so you won't face any problems commuting to and from the hostel to the Centraal Station/Damrak. Free Wifi is also available. Staff is very friendly and helpful. You can also get the Amsterdam Pass for unlimited travel (for n number of days) on any public transport, from the reception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    148
    66
    19
    14
See reviews for
20
43
52
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Have stayed at the StayOkay Zeeburg a few times over the past couple of years. I enjoy staying here because although priced as a hostel, it is more like a hotel in many ways. Yes, the rooms can be a little stark, but the atmosphere in the lobby, the dining area and lounge/bar is very relaxing and the staff are so friendly, in fact some of the friendliest locals you will meet!
The bathrooms are motion-detected so expect the lights to go on or off depending on how much you are moving about. Same goes with the shower, it will only stay on for 15 seconds at a time, but one quick push of the button re-sets everything. This isn't so much annoying as you expect a hotel like this to do all it can do in terms of conservation and to cut out the wasting of resources. Bravo to StayOkay for these measures. The towels are poor, so bring your own. Other than those few niggles. this place is located 200 meters from the Zeeburgerdijk tram stop and is 5-7 minutes ride into the city center/Rembrandstplien.
If you are looking for affordable Amsterdam accommodations and a very friendly and helpful staff, look no further!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

If you are travelling to Amsterdam and has no problems with sharing your room, this is the deal. For an incredible price (I believe EUR 25 per night) you get a confortable bed, great breakfast and the attention of a very friendly staff, willing to help you with anything you wish. The location is also not bad : there's a tram station in the end of the street, and a bus station within a 5-minute walk. There's also wifi available in all of the common areas, as well as computers available (for those you must pay though), lockers and luggage rooms. Absolutely worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My boyfriend and I were traveling around Europe for one month and we came to Amsterdam with our backpacks. We were worried to sleep in this kind of hostel in Amsterdam, because of the young travelers on party who sleeps in Amsterdam. We tought that te price was pretty cheap, so we worried even. But we had a big surprise! Cheap, clean,quiet, respectful, and perfect for travelers like us who wanted to get out of bed early to visit the city.
The staff was helpful and friendly with us, and we had a really good time at the bar in the night.
I was really surprised to see scholar groups sleeping in Stayokay ; I think that's because it's a safe and friendly place, not too expensive. The place is VERY clean, probably the cleanest place in hostel for young travelers in Amsterdam (toilet et shower cleanliness really surprised me).It's near downtown Amsterdam, but it's a little bit more calm.
If you're a traveler, pi really suggest you to go there : I think that's the best place you can sleep in Amsterdam.
We would have liked to stay for a long time but we had only fous days in Amsterdam. Ww had a really good time.

Room Tip: If you're a group, book for a big room. It will be cheaper like this and you'll have your fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hostel was great, I recently stayed there with 3 friends, the rooms were clean and plenty of space, the wet room and toilet room were excellent in my opinion much better than other places I have been previously. The bar had great cheap drinks! and the breakfast was very tasty. The only thing I could say wrong about the place was the wifi it was naff, as if you moved from one room to the next you'd have to connect to a different ap which you had to re log in again....

but apart from that the hostel is situated about a 10 minute tram ride out of the center which is actually quote good as you see a few more places you normally wouldn't and more bars & party areas!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in July '12 with three friends. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spotless and breakfast (included) is great. It is a little out of the way by foot, however the #14 tram stops almost outside of the door and takes you directly to Dam Square within 10 minutes - ideal if you don't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the city centre. I can't really fault the hostel at all, if I'm nit picking I'd say the pillows could have been better and it was slightly noisy one night due to a group of girls staying just down the corridor from us, however these are very minor details and didn't spoil our stay one bit. I'd highly recommend Stayokay Zeeburg and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We decided to stay in this hostel as it was the only option with OK price and above average review during the time I visited Amsterdam (Remembrance Day and Liberation Day).

Location: It is quite far from Amsterdam Central station. You have to take tram no.9 & no.14 with total 11 stops to reach at Zeeburg. The Zeeburg tram stop is near to hostel. Other than that, there is nothing much around the hostel. And note that on Sunday, first tram start late in the morning. So plan well if you need to catch early train at the central station.

Hostel: Overall the common area and room are clean. Everything looks new.

Room: Room is clean but due to it's price and it is a youth hostel, there is no room service. So expect to make the bed yourself daily. Besides, the bathroom layout is weird with a divider at the middle. Shower automatically off after like 10-15 secs (I guess to save water?) which is very inconvenient. You have to keep pressing the button every 10 sec to keep it on. No shampoo and towel provided. No internet in the room too, which is rather disappointing.

If you are on tight budget and no room available in down town, then only you may consider this hostel. Personally, I will not stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.