We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel, cheap price, decent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
1 review
“Great hostel, cheap price, decent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in July '12 with three friends. The staff are friendly, the rooms are spotless and breakfast (included) is great. It is a little out of the way by foot, however the #14 tram stops almost outside of the door and takes you directly to Dam Square within 10 minutes - ideal if you don't want to stay in the hustle and bustle of the city centre. I can't really fault the hostel at all, if I'm nit picking I'd say the pillows could have been better and it was slightly noisy one night due to a group of girls staying just down the corridor from us, however these are very minor details and didn't spoil our stay one bit. I'd highly recommend Stayokay Zeeburg and plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    193
    90
    22
    15
See reviews for
26
50
62
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We decided to stay in this hostel as it was the only option with OK price and above average review during the time I visited Amsterdam (Remembrance Day and Liberation Day).

Location: It is quite far from Amsterdam Central station. You have to take tram no.9 & no.14 with total 11 stops to reach at Zeeburg. The Zeeburg tram stop is near to hostel. Other than that, there is nothing much around the hostel. And note that on Sunday, first tram start late in the morning. So plan well if you need to catch early train at the central station.

Hostel: Overall the common area and room are clean. Everything looks new.

Room: Room is clean but due to it's price and it is a youth hostel, there is no room service. So expect to make the bed yourself daily. Besides, the bathroom layout is weird with a divider at the middle. Shower automatically off after like 10-15 secs (I guess to save water?) which is very inconvenient. You have to keep pressing the button every 10 sec to keep it on. No shampoo and towel provided. No internet in the room too, which is rather disappointing.

If you are on tight budget and no room available in down town, then only you may consider this hostel. Personally, I will not stay in this hostel again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here twice: Once with two friends of mine, and then in a group of six. Both stays were definetely okay. The rooms were clean and quiet. As there are six beds in (i think) all of the rooms, this was the perfect place for us when we travelled in a group of six. It may be a bit far from the tourist center, but Amsterdam isn't that huge... you can get downtown by foot, tram and bike pretty easy.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in this hostel 3 nights in April 2012. The staff was very friendly and helpfull with check in, information about the city, attractions and they also sold tickets for museums and public transportation. Some tickets were cheaper than at the museum itself.
Yes, the corridor/doors were more noisy than we needed, but its a hostel...

The included breakfast was just awesome and a perfect start in the day.
Everything we needed and it tasted really good.

Our room, we were two and didnt have to share our room with anybody else, was clean and simple furnitured. We can definitively recommend this hostel.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

I stayed here for three nights in October 2011 as the last place on inter rail. We arrived much later than scheduled due to rail delays in Germany (yes they happen over there too!)

First impressions were quite favourable however the room was a bit cold despite the weather being warm outside. The room-mates were decent enough all three nights. Rooms were six in sets of three bunks.

Breakfast was definitely the best of the offerings on the trip but other aspects let the hostel down. Although from our room the bar noise was faint, I wouldn't have liked to be in a room directly above the bar.

The location was OK, nothing spectacular, one tram ride away from the Damrak but quite a few stops. There were a few takeaways nearby but not many bars or clubs.

I would stay here again on very cheap rates like I paid this time, but would also be willing to spend a little more for a cheap hotel in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sint Genesius Rode
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed with our 3 children in a 6-bed family room. Room was clean, good beds, although the pillows were of bad quality. Breakfast was okay, but feeling in a school refectory. Nothing charming.
Tray to avoid a room in a corridor where also groups, schools, .. are staying as they make lot of noise in the evening. The receptoin should separate levels for groups and levels for families and other travellers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

i travelled with 5 girls to amsterdam and we were all stunned to see how big, clean and friendly this hostel was. we shared a room with 3 sets of bunkbeds. the room was clean and we felt we had plenty of room! the shower works by pushing a button on the wall, tho this only lasts about 20 seconds, so theres alot of button pushing..... saying that i have no other fault with this place. the breakfast is cereal, bread, toast, meats and eggs with unlimited tea and coffee. superb value for money!!! would defo stay here again.. its only 10mins away from amsterdam central on the tram which you catch outside the hostel.. you can get a 4 day tram card for 19 euros from the hostel...

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.