We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
1.5 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Very nice place. Clean. Good breakfast. Limited access to the internet. Far from the city. You have to walk or get the tram to get to the city center. There are bicycles to rent but it's not cheap.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    139
    63
    18
    14
See reviews for
19
41
50
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
padova, italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed at the StayOkay for 2 nights with our 4 and 2 year old sons. We chose the 4-bed bedroom, which has two bunk beds. The staff soon offered to provide a crib for our younger son.
The room was perfectly clean. You have to make the beds yourself, and they do not have sheets for the crib, but we easily managed anyway. You have to bring your own towels. There are two toilets, one with the shower, the other with the actual toilet. The washbasin is outside the toilets, near the room entrance. The only difficulty with the kids was managing the wet floor after the shower. Very quiet at night.
The breakfast is excellent. They don't allow keeping your own food in the fridge, but they warmed our baby bottles for us. All the staff is extremely kind.
We bought the tickets for the Van Gogh's museum at the reception with no additional cost, so that we could skip the queue. They also offer discounts for the Rijksmuseum.
Very easy to get to the city center by bus or tram. The neighbourhood is great, too.
Overall, it was a very good experience. Definitively recommended!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The place had a nice atmosphere. Has a bar although we didn’t make it down there. The rooms were plain, but neat and well-equipped and plenty of space. The staff were friendly and helpful. Free wi-fi, but quite expensive to use their computers - why is that always the case?

The bad thing for me, is that the location was not so good, it was well out of town, maybe a fifteen minutes bus ride from the central train station. We also had a little trouble finding it when we got off the bus, the directions could have been clearer, and also it tucked behind a corner a bit, so you don’t see until you’re past it really. But if you like being out in the suburbs...I don't know. But otherwise, a nice place, I would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Grad Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This place is great!
The staff is kindly,the rooms are very clean,the breakfast is amazing (for a 10 Euros per night),the atmosphere is great,hostel is colorful and comfortable.

I slept in 6 Bed Female Dorm Ensuite, and I am most impressed by the fact that room has its own toilet and shower.

The only downside is that the hostel is a bit far from center, but the tram stop is a minute from the hostel, so it's not a problem.

Highly recommend :)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Excellent hostel. New, clean, near tram stop. Breaksfast included... But not the towels, 3.50 euros each and u have to buy and u cantake them, bad towels hahah but everythinf else was perfect!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Stayokay Zeeburg is located a bit outside city centre but super accesible by tram.
Hostel rooms are great and colourful. Staff were extra helpful and nice. Breakfast was great. A great experience and choice for someone who would like to travel to Amsterdam and stay "away" from city centre.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hostel is not in the center, however it is pretty close by tram or by bus. You can take either bus 22 direction Indische Buurt or the tram 14, both from the Central Station.
I prefered to walk and it is a 20 to 25 minute walk from the Central Station to the hostel, its a nice walk because you can see the streets outside the center. It may not be a path you may want to walk several times, but there are plenty of paths you can take to the hostel or from the hostel. I also walked from the hostel to the Heineken brewery and it took me 20 minutes, from the red light district to the hostel 20 minutes. If you don't like walking you can always take the public transport.
The hostel itself is located in a very nice neighborhood, it has a playground infront of it so you might see families with children, the building is very big so its difficult not to see it.
I stayed in a 6-bed room, it had plenty of space. When i arrived, the clean blankets were on my bed wrapped in a plastic bag. Beware! There's no towel included!!! I thought it was and i didn't bring mine, anyway you can rent one. There are no lockers in the room but next to the reception you can use them, they are not free though.
Rooms have a toilet and a shower, so sharing between 6 people is not difficult.
The breakfast is quite good, you have everything to make a good sandwich (different types of bread, ham, salami, cheese, etc.), fruit (apples, bannanas and pears), boiled eggs, coffee, teas, milk, cereal and juice.
There is wifi in the lobby and on the first floor, its free but if you want to rent a PC it will cost you depending on how long you're gonna use it.
The staff is very kind and helpful, i have no complaints about anything. To check-in is easy and so is to check-out.
I definitely recommend it!!!

Room Tip: If you want to use WiFi in your room get a first-floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 175 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 1.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.