We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was ok, but I would think about it before going again with friends” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg to your Saves list
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was ok, but I would think about it before going again with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

First of all, the hostel is clean and well furnished. Everyone is nice and helpfull, and the breakfast is ok. It looks well as you enter and the rooms are nice, at your first glance.
Maybe if the price was 30 euros per night, I would be happy with it... But since it was queen's day, some of the nights were really expensive, so I am not happy with what I found. The floor is basic...does not have a carpet, or....The beds were not that comfy, and the shower was a disaster. You had to push a button every 20 seconds to get water, and even if that was not so bad when you took a shower, it was awful when you had to wash your hair. I do understand that there is a green policy, but....Not that way. It was close to tram station and bus station, so you could get pretty fast to the city center, and if you were in doubt about anything you could always ask at the reception.
I would recommend it to a group of young friends, not recommend it to a family with children...

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    193
    90
    22
    15
See reviews for
26
50
62
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The Stayokay brand could be the future of hostelling across Europe. Gone are the cramped rooms and shabby decor of the traditional hostel, and in their place are spacious apartment style rooms and an excellent Orange colour scheme. The initial welcome was very professional and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, though you need to get down there before 8am or be faced with hellishly long queues. My only slight caveat would be that travellers with children will find that it doesn't cater for the under 20 market, but as the student/backpacker market is very lucrative it is understandable.
If you want great value and a good experience then search out the Orange themed hostel throughout Holland. If it decides to expand, the old Youth Hostel will be an endangered species!!

Room Tip: Book online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

Stayed here as part of a 5 day cricket tour with 15 people. The rooms are very basic (We was told all breakages would be paid for but there is literally nothing you can break!!) but for the price you cant go wrong.

The only thing to say is that there is a lot of young people about in the hotel so try and be respectful there.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

Having never stayed in a hostel before I had no idea what to expect, with the general aura of them being dingy rooms with bunks that you'll spend with knife-wielding strangers. However, upon arrival we were instantly greeted with a clean and friendly atmosphere, the hostel was kept spotless and the all the rooms were huge, with great shower and bathroom facilities. The bar was very lively and had cheap prices, I'd certainly come stay here again if I visit Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

The building is very big with very high ceilings everywhere, also in the rooms. The room was large and very clean; you had to make your own bed but the sheets were wrapped so definitely clean. Felt safe as well. Only downside was a humming noise in the room but I slept through it. And roommates that stay up late with the lights on.

Nice breakfast; not too much choice but enough (bread, muesli, clementines, yoghurt..).
A good place to stay for a few nights.

Friendly staff. Internet was quite expensive though.
The environment was about a 30 min walk from the centre, with a bus stop not far away. Not much to do nearby but a quiet area.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucuresti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

It was great staying at Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, everything was great, the room was awesome, the personal too.I would stay here again when I'll go in Amsterdam.
http://www.sports-club.ro

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We stayed here for two nights while we were in Amsterdam. It wasn't a good place to meet other people to chat to; the whole place was very big and impersonal. The rooms were comfortable enough, with spacious bunk beds, en suite facilities and a light and power socket for each bed (under the light), plus a couple extra. The breakfast was basic but ok for the price we paid overall. We would have preferred free or cheaper wireless, as other hostels of the same price or cheaper have offered this. The biggest disadvantage of the hostel is its location - tram 14 takes you into the centre but public transport is expensive in Amsterdam and I'd rather have walked, and the area didn't seem all that nice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 192 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelBookers, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.