We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam to your Saves list
Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam
Lijnbaansgracht 289 | (Right Door), 1017RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CHECK PRINX.NL FOR %OFF
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Love, love, loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

My husband and I stayed 5 nights in a beautiful, large, 2nd floor studio directly on a canal. The studio is in a perfect location close to great restaurants and nightlife but in a quiet, safe neighborhood. It is also close to the Riksmuseum and Leidseplein Square. The tram is a few blocks away so you can easily get anywhere in the city.
The studio is clean and the bed is very comfortable. The owner greeted us when we arrived and gave us good tips and recommendations. We definitely plan to return!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    22
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
86
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

A beautiful canal house in an excellent location. Situated within walking distance of everything you'll want to see, and in an area quieter and more civilized than near the Dam Square area. The neighborhood around Prinx is filled with great restaurants and little bars, and is close to Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum.

I stayed in the front room overlooking the canal. A big room with lots of light and the sights of the locals going about their day (or evening). Super comfortable bed with a great living area to relax in. A very clean and well appointed room with a kitchen...and a bottle of Cava in the fridge!

Ton and Hector were wonderful hosts, providing everything you need but leaving you to enjoy your time there on your own.

This will always be our go to place to stay in Amsterdam!

Room Tip: The room at the front overlooking the canal is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

We spent four nights here in the room on the alleyway last July and very much enjoyed the accommodations, the hospitality of the owners and a perfect location near the Riksmuseum, Leidseplein Square, Canal boats and restaurant row. The hosts were invisible except when you needed them and were then more than helpful, able to converse easily in English.

Our room was modern in an Ikea sort of way with large, north facing windows that open for wonderful light and air, with a mini kitchen, comfortable queen bed, dining/sitting table and bath. The addition of an antique hutch is a nice touch.

Getting to the neighborhood couldn't be easier, taking one streetcar south from the central train station. We did stumble around a bit locating the Prinx but would attribute that mostly to traveler's fatigue and an unfamiliarity with the street and canal naming convention.

While the selection of nearby restaurants is wonderfully eclectic we took advantage of groceries from nearby markets and, with the welcome bottle of Cava and the mini kitchen, we made ourselves a wonderful stay-in brunch one morning.

One note to travelers who may be somewhat limited physically: the rooms are two flights up very narrow and steep stairs. Pack lightly, there is no elevator though the hosts are willing to help. Also, due largely in part to our early & late comings & goings, it would have been nice to have extra toilet paper and soap available so as not to bother the hosts at odd hours.

But, back to location, you'd be hard-pressed to do better for those things that interest a traveller to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Nice stay with friendly host in a stylish room at a very central place in Amsterdam opposite to Rijksmuseum. We didn't use the little kitchen but it looked welcoming with some tasty free drinks in the fridge, everything clean and cosy. Definitely to be recommended.

Room Tip: Stairs are getting steeper the higher you live
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The location of the Prinx offers a quiet stay on a canal, yet only steps away is a very good selection of restaurants and cafes. Although we traveled all over Amsterdam, we returned to the Prinx area each night for dinner and drinks because it was so enjoyable. As other have stated, the accommodations are excellent. We were greeted by our hosts for check-in but enjoyed lots of privacy until check-out time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Ton and Hector made us feel so welcome. Our friends had the large room facing the canal, we had the smaller one facing the rear street. Both were clean, comfortable, and quiet and the location was less than 5 minutes from the Rijkmuseum and other art museums, and trams to Centraal Station, the 197 bus to Schiphol Airport and the touristy restaurants in the Leidsplein less than 10 minutes away. Bike rentals, cafes, restaurants, and a small grocery were even closer. We highly recommend this.

Room Tip: Room on the canal side may be a little quieter. A little noise after last call at the café on the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Lovely character filled house with the studio up stairs. The kitchenette was well equipped, so we were able to enjoy some meals in. Everything was very clean and comfortable for our 4 night stay. The area was beautiful, being next to a canal and close to museums, art galleries, restaurants and the supermarket was walking distance if needed.The tram was also nearby, which we only used to get back to the station. Our hosts, Hector and Ton, were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam

Address: Lijnbaansgracht 289 | (Right Door), 1017RM Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 176 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated within historical city centre in a canal house.Most attractions are within walking distance. The Museum Area (Rembrandt & van Gogh is just 50 meter away. You will be surrounded by typical historical houses and canals. The studios have been very recently renovated (2007). Besides your own private bathroom, each studio has a living-dining area -with cooking facilities- and a bed area. You will find sparkling wine cava (and orange juice) as welcome drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B and Odigeo so you can book your Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prinx Studio Apartments Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.