We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacking customer service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lacking customer service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

LOCATION
The hotel is situated in what feels like a slightly run-down area towards the edge of the city. It cost about €40 in a taxi fare from the airport. We hired a car half way through the week and got a bus and train to the airport for €3 each - I'd definitely recommend this method over taxis. Don't pay taxi fares to/from the centre either, the trams run frequently up to midnight and the day passes offer good value transport. It takes around 20minutes from the hotel to centre by tram and bus.
If driving the multi-storey car park closes at 10pm and the small car park opposite the hotel is very expensive and only accepts card payment.


ROOMS
Our room was average if not in some need of refurbishment. The bathroom seemed modern but the rest of the room was left behind. That said, it was very clean and housekeeping service the rooms daily.
Unfortunately the shower temperature is not regulated very well so be prepared for hot/cold showers.
There is no pay-tv so you are "limited" to the standard channels, not that you should be watching much TV anyway.
Our "market" facing room didn't have the best of views and overlooked the air conditioning units of the shopping/office complex next door. Get a city facing room if you can.


BAR & RESTAURANT
It closes at 10pm so we only visited once. I found this time a bit strange for a hotel, the room service option is not worth it due to inflated "tray charges".
The restaurant menu looked lovely (and smelt good too - the food, not the menu), although we didn't eat in.


STAFF/SERVICE
Most of the staff and brilliant, check in was flawless, bar service was good and housekeeping were lovely.
Unfortunately the biggest let down of this hotel are two members of staff - One of the night staff and the assistant manager.
No-where will you find, or be told, that the hotel doors are locked at a certain time in the evening. This caught us unaware one night and we were stuck outside the hotel ringing the bell whilst feeling slightly intimidated by a group of local youths (who gather near the front doors) and our taxi driver (who didn't like us asking him to stop watching a TV programme on his phone whilst avoiding pedestrians crossing the road). We could see the night manager wandering behind the desk, seemingly ignoring the bell to gain entry. Eventually, after several uncomfortable minutes he opened the doors. We tried to make a complaint and he was rude and simply gave the response of "not my problem".
We raised this with management who initially seemed genuinely concerned, unfortunately after checking out the following day without a chance to discuss this in more detail we are still yet to hear back from the hotel. An apparent attempt at ignoring the problem to hope it goes away.

I rate service higher than most other elements of visits, a hotel can be exceptional in appearance and facilities but that's useless without good staff. If if wasn't for this poor customer service my rating would be higher, as it stands the low cost is the only thing making it average. The hotel is well priced but you do clearly get what you pay for. It's not awful, but it's not brilliant.

Room Tip: City facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    115
    290
    154
    48
    52
See reviews for
116
245
30
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ROMFORD
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Easy very early check in
Enormous room and bathroom - both well equipped
Helpful and friendly staff
Nice bar area and efficient staff
Out of town location - approx 20 euros for taxi, although tram only 5 minutes away
Plenty of local shops,cafes and a C&A's in the market !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The hotel itself, whilst clean with modern communal areas, could do with a make-over; furniture in rooms a bit dark & oppressive but defintely not an issue for a couple of nights.

The location is not glamourous, but interesting, with lots of local Turkish / North African eateries and a small shopping centre next door.

The tram ride into yhe centre only takes 10/15 minutes, passing lots of lovely streets & canals on the way.

The journey to & from the airport is also very easy.

We did not eat in the hotel but the hot breakfast was varied & tasty.

I would recommend for a few nights in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here with two mates in a triple room (three single beds).

Staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean. You are a short tram ride into the centre of Amsterdam - maybe 15 minutes. The tram stop is a very short walk from the hotel. Seemed like a friendly and safe neighbourhood. If you're out for a drink, the night bus can take you to right outside the hotel, if you can find the right bus to get on..

If you're on a tight budget, I'd give this a go. In Amsterdam you don't want to sit around your hotel. There's not much by way of bars etc near this hotel and you have to travel in. It's well connected though, I didn't need one taxi in my five nights in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

One woman at reception had an attitude for no reason (not just towards ourselves, but others also). She never wanted to help. For the amount we paid the stay wasn't worth it, at all. There was also a surprise tax fee we paid extra on arrival. If you like a good breakfast buffet, this is not the place to get it. Only plus side is we were close to a supermarket. I'll be a fool to return

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

The hotel is situated half an hour from the airport and 15 minutes from Central Station. The hotel has excellent connections to all public transport with 16.80 euros for a 3 day travelcard bargain! Hotel was clean and the hotel staff were incredibly helpful and allowed us to check in early. Definitely recommended if you are on a budget.

Room Tip: Request a high floor and early check in if you arrive early. If are planning of visiting the Heineke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertzlia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel clean and tidy. Hotel staff is very courteous and professional. Good breakfast with excellent food too. Good transport to the city center.Great base just outside city centre with no noise. Definately would use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#78 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.