We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Western Rewards Rate
Ranked #160 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We had a room on the 9th floor of the hotel, It had all the amenities, tea/coffee, hairdryer in the bathroom, complimentary miniatures etc so it was quite a comfortable stay. The room was a little small as it wasn't a corner room and the bathroom was lovely, but most importantly clean. Only thing we didn't like was the duvet on the bed which was too small, it just about covered the top of the bed with nothing overhanging.

Breakfast was lovely with a nice selection, only thing missing was sausages.

Staff are lovely and helpful

Location was ok as trams and busses run regularly. Bus 21 for central Dam which takes about 20mins and stops right at the back of the hotel. We bought two 48 hour tickets which cost 12 euro which were really good value for money as you can use them on all buses and trams.

Overall it was a nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    400
    204
    73
    60
See reviews for
165
327
36
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Quiet room on 7th floor, nice bed linen and towels. We extended with one day. The reception staff was very helpful with bicycle hire and directions. Everyday market on the plein behind the hotel. Various supermarkets and fast food vendors within walking distance. Lovely private bar late night on 1st floor. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

The hotel had great facilities. The room was nice and cosy and had a great view.
The food in the restaurant was tasty and of good quality.
The hotel is located centrally with lots of shops around the area.
The beds was soft and comfy.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harlow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

The hotel was close to a mini market like. A lidl shop so affordable and a shopping centre within a few feet of the door ideal for any essentials or cheap beer or wine as the city prices are high. Transport was a stones throw away and links ran to all landmarks all day and night great base breakfast was superb only thing missing was sausages from the English breakfast every food taste catered for and as much as required .a kit for hair,shower gel shoe shine shower cap etc all provided as well as tea and coffee facilities in room an essential to myself all clean and tidy and well presented , a small holder for tea bag or spoon would have been ideal to keep surface tidier I'm impressed , what made this holiday special apart from amsterdam itself .WERE THE STAFF NOTHING WAS TO MUCH TROUBLE def coming back x only criticism no mattress protector which suprised me immaculate rooms helpful staff well done great western mattress was clean but could have done with topper and protector as mattress pattern was raised and could feel it

Room Tip: We had 7 floor right side could hear trams sometimes didn't affect us no problems at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bromwich
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I stayed here for two nights with my boyfriend. About 20 minutes via train or bus from the centre and not much within walking distance except odd shops KFC etc. It wasn’t really close enough to pop back to for a nap or if you forget anything. I personally wouldn't stay for any longer than two nights, mainly because it wasn’t a very central base. It was clean, the only fault I can mention is although it was a super king bed, the duvet was only big enough to cover the top, none was overhanging so it was too small to cover both of us comfortably. I know it sounds nit picking but imagine two people in a double bed with only a single quilt! Unfortunately we didn’t realise until we got into bed the first night, and dashed out early the next morning to make the most of our time in Amsterdam so we didn't bother to mention it to reception until check out, although I wish I had as it made for an uncomfortable night and the receptionists was helpful and I think they would have changed the duvet if we had asked.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was a great little hotel, very convenient for where I needed to be and good value. The staff at reception were very helpful and breakfast (which wasn't included) was very nice. My only complaint is having to think of 200 characters to say about it. Basically, no news should be considered good news!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and I and 2 friends have just returned from 4 nights staying in this very pleasant hotel.
The staff are extremely friendly and professional and the breakfasts are "to die for". Plenty of selection both hot and cold the breakfasts are substantial and great value. The hotel is extremely clean and the public areas are immaculate.

Transport I.e. Tram/bus pass the back door of the hotel and run every 10 minutes to Dam Square and all the other major attractions. It takes only 12 minutes to get to the centre of Amsterdam.
All in all a great hotel and good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#80 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.