We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for a city trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #160 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Haan, Germany
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Good Hotel for a city trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Hotel is not far away from the center of Amsterdam (15 minutes by tram) and the rooms were quite comfortable but a Little small. The recption and Restaurant staff was very friendly and helped us at any time.
Very positive was the wide choice at the breakfast buffet and the cleanliness. the rooms were also very quiet. The Restaurant and bar is very nice and has a good choice.
Negative is, that there is no TV but Pay TV and no Minibar is in the room.Only vending machines next to the reception.

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    308
    168
    53
    54
See reviews for
124
260
32
52
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent three nights here in mid Sept.
The hotel is app .a 20 minute bus ride from Amsterdam Centraal station .
Situated in a nice residential area just a few minutes from the local bus stop,its well served by public transport links and has a number of cafes and bars in the vicinity.
Althiugh out of town its well worth weighing up the hotel price plus your transport costs against a city centre hotel.
The hotel staff are friendly and after a quick check in we took our room on the 6th floor.Nicely appointed room with good furnishings,bath /shower combo ,nice bathroom with complimentary toileteries and ample wardrobe space .Room had a/c and free wifi with a laptop size safe and tea and coffee making facilities.Cleaning and linen changes were satisfactory.
There is a restaurant on the first floor which serves breakfast ,and a bar which opens at 5.30 .
Didnt have the breakfast as thought it was too expensive so cant comment on the quality.
Staff were friendly and helped us stow our luggage on our final day while we did some last minute touring.We were provided with maps and transport links info on check in which was a great help .
A previous reviewer of this hotel commented on the distance between the reception desk and the lifts .,and from a security point of view this could lead to problems .Its not possible for reception staff to recognise all guests at the best of times ,nor should they be expected to do .
A system of checking room passes might be considered.
Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it .
Certainly up to the usual Best Western high standard.
Train connection from Schipol airport to Amsterdam Centraal Station.Every 20 mins ,fare 3.90 Euro.Buy tickets in the terminal from ticket machines, cash or card.
Bus no. 21 leaves from Area F in front of Amsterdam Centraal Station ,direction Kruezveld.Fare is 2.70 Euro but there are a number of fare options available ,day card ,or longer passes .Tickets can be bought from the driver .The bus stop for the hotel is Bos en Lommerplein .Check the illuminated display on the bus.
Going into town the 21 will take you back to Am Cent while tram no.14 will take you to Dam Square .A few tram stops down the line will take you to the Anne Frank Museum ,bus stop Westermarkt.,also on the No 14 .Enjoy Amsterdam ,a fabulous city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruschberg, Germany
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. We are a family of 3 and were on the 10th floor. The view was great. The hotel was very clean. We were in a room with 3 twin beds. The bed was a little too firm for my taste but my husband and teenage daughter was fine. We loved that the bathroom was all windows. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't give a review of that. The only down thing was that they are doing renovations and only 1 elevator was working at the time of our visit. The tram stop is just right around the corner from the hotel. You can buy tickets right on the tram at the GVB window. We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Meath, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice & clean hotel, very helpful and friendly staff, rooms are lovely u have everything u need. A bit of a journey into the centre u couldn't walk in. But the tram & bus service is excellent with the stop just 2 mins round the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed in the blue tower with five friends for two nights. From Schiphol airport it's a 10 min train, then a 10 min metro and then a 10 min walk. Or a 35-40 euro taxi. In terms of getting into town from the hotel, it's in quite a suburban area. Jump on a 15 minute tram to get to Dam Square. Or get a 20 euro taxi.

Hotel itself is quite tired but the rooms were clean, not too cramped and the beds comfy. Nice bathroom, probably recently refurbished. Free wifi in the rooms is a bonus. Only one of the three elevators was working and it was quite busy which meant we had to use the ridiculously steep stairs all weekend! Didn't sample any of the food on offer.

All in all, in theory I'd probably go back here - it's perhaps on a par with your average travelodge in the uk. But in reality, next time I'll book somewhere more central.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Checked in to the hotel. Reception was clean tidy the hospitality was brill and very polite. Checked in to room where we had 2 beds instead if a double within 5 mins we had been moved into another room. No fuss what so ever. Clean throughout and well looked after only prob was the shower. Didnt sit in holder proper so had to hold shower whilst showering. Would deff stay here again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Seen bad reviews on this hotel.. They are just not true, one person moaned about 'no mini bar' and location. It is outside Amsterdam Central but trams and buses stop right outside hotel and drop of at central station. The area is ok with shops, fast food and some cafés. Staff are friendly and helpful, if you go into a hotel with an attitude, you will usually get one back. People leave reviews complaining about staff but I usually find that these people are complaining about the stupidest things, so probably pass this bad attitude onto staff, who will not be very friendly back, and I don't blame them. The rooms are very comfy and clean and we'll decorated so what's the problem?
I have booked to go back in November for my wife's 40th and hope to go back next year. I like not staying in the centre of Amsterdam, you can have a ball, then have peace and quiet when you want to sleep. If you want a hotel more central, then book a central hotel you muppets! Don't book a hotel that is clearly out with the city centre then complain about it!!! Some folk,, jeez!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.