We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant hotel for first time visitors to Holland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #202 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellant hotel for first time visitors to Holland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week. this is our first visit to Holland. I would encourage others especially travellers from my part of the world to use blue Tower Hotel for their visit. Hotel offered good service, rooms very bright and roomy. The bathroom was very spacious. Security was excellant. We saw no short coming, We are happy at our choice of this Hotel, made our holiday that much worthwhile

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Gunasekaran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night when in Amsterdam for Business. We stayed here because it’s close to the ring road and we had to leave early the next morning but it is a bit of a trek into town. You’ll need to get the bus or tram. The stops are nearby and it’s about 20 mins ride. There’s no parking attached to the hotel as such but there is a car park next door which is actually very cheap for overnight parking and they throw in a free travel card which was very useful.

The hotel is a bit hard to find, tucked away in quite a residential area. It looked nice in the foyer on arrival but there was actually a lot of building work going on elsewhere in the hotel and the corridors were a complete mess which was a bit disappointing. I think they should probably have mentioned this at booking. There were ceiling panels all over the floor by the elevators and exposed ceilings and wires etc throughout. Doors were open to rooms where work was going on and it all just looked a bit of a mess.
My room was actually very nice and overall very good value but yes the rest of the floor was in a mess. The restaurant was nice, and I have to say the breakfast was the best I’ve had in Holland, lots of choice. Very pleased with it. I probably would stay there again for a business trip and I’m sure it would be tidier next time

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GemmaR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This hotel was lovley, we stayed in room 303, and it was so big with a nice sized bathroom. I thought the room was lovley for what we payed, although a little out the centre you can catch tram 14 or bus 21 to dam square or centraal station. Nice cheap supermarket 2 mins away and a local KFC too. Service was good we only wanted our room cleaned on last day and they did it for us. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nish93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is situated a lot further to the periphery of Amsterdam than appears on maps.

Using the 14 tram it will take you 11 stops to get to Dam Square (centre of Amsterdam). Look for the destination on the front of the tram to be Flevopark (so you know it's going the right way).

The hotel itself was ok to stay in, the room was reasonably well presented, there was a large coating of dust above the wardrobe (but what kind of sane person looks there?!) which added personality and the cleaners seemed to be a laugh, though I'm thankful I avoided chatting to them.

I can't complain other than with the distance out of town. 2 miles is a rather inaccurate description of how far it is to the centre of Amsterdam. Certainly locals didn't even believe it was in the periphery or outskirts of Amsterdam - they thought it was a completely different place!

The weather was awful which is no slight on Amsterdam or the hotel itself. Hotel accommodation standard itself was acceptable.

Thanks for our nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turningpoint177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel is comfortable, clean and service is efficient, Not a fan of the location looked a bit dodgy in the dark. 20 minutes form the city center but good transport links available.

Breakfast was good with impressive variety.

For the price I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 3 and above are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My room was robbed. Someone stole my camera (Canon 5d mark ii), two lenses, and my MacBook Air! I left the room for just couple of hours! And no wonder, people come and go, nobody is asking at the reception if you live there. There're no CCTVs. We called the police and now have to spend another day getting a report. The staff of the hotel didn't even visit the room or asked how we were doing. We feel unsafe and want to leave as soon as possible. My advice: find some other place closer to the centre.. It is the worst holidays we've ever had.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank KristinaKashtanova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel in itself was pretty great, with free wifi, great rooms and a television, breakfast included in the day price. Although a little expensive but it was totally worth it. Also, it is a little out of the main city with 20mins it takes to reach Dam Square, however the transport links are great. The tram stop is right outside the hotel, also is the bus stop for visits to the train station. Some local shops and restaurants are in the same campus as the hotel. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicashrivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
WestCord Art Hotel Amsterdam
2.7 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#146 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 958 reviews
7.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#217 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We wish you a warm welcome at the BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel. The impressive four-star BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is located next to one of the most vibrant outside markets in Amsterdam, the Bos en Lommerplein. This dynamic area, characterized by its small neighborhood shops and cozy restaurants, is located on the edge of the city center. Due to the excellent public transport system it is easy to reach the heart of the city. Here you can enjoy all the famous sights and attractions Amsterdam has to offer, like the Canal District, our world-renowned museums and our exciting nightlife. The BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel offers the perfect starting point to an unforgettable visit to Amsterdam! The BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel was established in 2007 in the former District office and Customs office in the district Bos en Lommer, one of the greenest districts in the city of Amsterdam. Eleven stories high and covered from top to bottom in blue glass, the BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is an imposing presence in Amsterdam. The towering hotel has 188 rooms and the trendy Chinese-French Restaurant Saffron. The BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is a four-star hotel. This qualification is key to all facets of the hotel, ranging from the tastefully designed, modern interior of the rooms and the varied catering services, to additional facilities like a bike rental service. Our friendly staff will be at your service 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is as satisfying as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing