We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great breakfast!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #156 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“great breakfast!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night when in Amsterdam for Business. We stayed here because it’s close to the ring road and we had to leave early the next morning but it is a bit of a trek into town. You’ll need to get the bus or tram. The stops are nearby and it’s about 20 mins ride. There’s no parking attached to the hotel as such but there is a car park next door which is actually very cheap for overnight parking and they throw in a free travel card which was very useful.

The hotel is a bit hard to find, tucked away in quite a residential area. It looked nice in the foyer on arrival but there was actually a lot of building work going on elsewhere in the hotel and the corridors were a complete mess which was a bit disappointing. I think they should probably have mentioned this at booking. There were ceiling panels all over the floor by the elevators and exposed ceilings and wires etc throughout. Doors were open to rooms where work was going on and it all just looked a bit of a mess.
My room was actually very nice and overall very good value but yes the rest of the floor was in a mess. The restaurant was nice, and I have to say the breakfast was the best I’ve had in Holland, lots of choice. Very pleased with it. I probably would stay there again for a business trip and I’m sure it would be tidier next time

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    337
    174
    58
    56
See reviews for
134
278
32
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was lovley, we stayed in room 303, and it was so big with a nice sized bathroom. I thought the room was lovley for what we payed, although a little out the centre you can catch tram 14 or bus 21 to dam square or centraal station. Nice cheap supermarket 2 mins away and a local KFC too. Service was good we only wanted our room cleaned on last day and they did it for us. Overall an excellent stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is situated a lot further to the periphery of Amsterdam than appears on maps.

Using the 14 tram it will take you 11 stops to get to Dam Square (centre of Amsterdam). Look for the destination on the front of the tram to be Flevopark (so you know it's going the right way).

The hotel itself was ok to stay in, the room was reasonably well presented, there was a large coating of dust above the wardrobe (but what kind of sane person looks there?!) which added personality and the cleaners seemed to be a laugh, though I'm thankful I avoided chatting to them.

I can't complain other than with the distance out of town. 2 miles is a rather inaccurate description of how far it is to the centre of Amsterdam. Certainly locals didn't even believe it was in the periphery or outskirts of Amsterdam - they thought it was a completely different place!

The weather was awful which is no slight on Amsterdam or the hotel itself. Hotel accommodation standard itself was acceptable.

Thanks for our nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normanton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Hotel is comfortable, clean and service is efficient, Not a fan of the location looked a bit dodgy in the dark. 20 minutes form the city center but good transport links available.

Breakfast was good with impressive variety.

For the price I have no complaints.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 3 and above are preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My room was robbed. Someone stole my camera (Canon 5d mark ii), two lenses, and my MacBook Air! I left the room for just couple of hours! And no wonder, people come and go, nobody is asking at the reception if you live there. There're no CCTVs. We called the police and now have to spend another day getting a report. The staff of the hotel didn't even visit the room or asked how we were doing. We feel unsafe and want to leave as soon as possible. My advice: find some other place closer to the centre.. It is the worst holidays we've ever had.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel in itself was pretty great, with free wifi, great rooms and a television, breakfast included in the day price. Although a little expensive but it was totally worth it. Also, it is a little out of the main city with 20mins it takes to reach Dam Square, however the transport links are great. The tram stop is right outside the hotel, also is the bus stop for visits to the train station. Some local shops and restaurants are in the same campus as the hotel. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It takes a roughly 20-30 minute easy tram or metro ride to the central train station or city centre. Public transport is convenient here. the tram stop is just a few minute walk from the hotel. There are two big supermarket at the basement of the complex behind it. There are some local shops and also a daily flea market on the podium. So we can dine there and buy lots of fresh food easily. Although it is a freash food market, the stalls are removed everyday in the evening and the place is kept clean. So we do not see any usual sanitary problems in fresh food markets here. It seems to be a nice Muslim residential area which is very safe and peaceful.
The room has a very good view as it is much taller than the residential buildings around it. The beds are comfortable and the staff are freindly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
#79 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.