We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, steep dangerous steps” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cafe Corner House

Save Saved
You added Hotel Cafe Corner House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #170 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, steep dangerous steps”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

GOOD: Yes, the entrance is a bar/restaurant. Easy to find, excellent location. Very comfortable hotel room for four people, exactly what is shown in pictures. Very comfortable and clean. The room was cleaned and bathroom amenities were provided everyday. Breakfast was included which was a great surprise, although it was always the same (boiled egg, cheese, toast, butter, jam, coffee or tea, orange juice). The staff was friendly some more than others. Wifi worked in the hotel room. There's an intercom in the room where you can contact and be contacted by reception, but no phone in the room for outside calls. However, that wasn't a problem since they were kind enough to lend you the phone at the reception to make local calls.
BAD: Too many steep stairs, very dangerous specially with luggage. Dingy rug in the hotel room. Same breakfast everyday. A table in the room would be a great plus!!!

Room Tip: Nice view to the front of the hotel, no A/C, not so noisy the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    68
    39
    15
    26
See reviews for
18
41
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very central and easy to locate. Friendly staff and lovely room with a fantastic view. This was my first visit to Amsterdam and I could find all the info I needed about attractions at the reception. Would defiantly stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had our last meal in Amsterdam here,just on a whim. Had the local meatballs,mash and gravy,absolutely gorgeous. Followed by apple & honey pancake and ice cream and washed down with a rose beer!!!!! heaven. Highly recommended and lovely staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangalooma, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Great location really close to everything, helpful friendly staff, big clean room with modern bathroom. We had room 15A which is really close to the street and so a little noisy during the night but we really enjoyed feeling apart of the city even when in our room.
The complimentary breakfast is more filling and delicious than I expected. We were both pleasantly surprised and would definitely recommend to our friends.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Good points;

Location is amazing!
Rooms are modern
Very friendly staff
Comfy beds
Black out curtains (good for hangovers)
AMAZING wet room/shower (one of the best I've ever seen in a hotel)
Reasonably priced restaurant

Things that could improve;

There is no lift which is a pain for luggage
Could offer an English breakfast as well as the Dutch breakfast

Overall I think this hotel is amazing for what I paid (135 euros for 3 nights B&B) and I would 100% go back the next time I go to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Douglas, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

My friend and I traveled in April to Amsterdam for 4 nights, lucky for us the hotel had just gone through renovations so our room was clean modern and very comfortable. The location of this hotel could not be better. It is literally just around the corner from the Dam square where all the tours leave from or the shopping starts and the restaurants surround. We were so happy with this hotel that if I ever went back to Amsterdam I would stay here every time. The staff were also very nice. The little pub at the bottom has great hot chocolates and amazing fries.

Room Tip: Maybe 1st or 2nd floor as wifi did not reach third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our room black & white, did not have a mirror in the bathroom, nor TV or a wardrobe to keep the clothes. The room was clean and the hotel is very well located, however, it looks like it has been recently renewed and needs to be improved in details.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Cafe Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Corner House

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Cafe Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cafe Corner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cafe Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.