We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“needs to improve” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cafe Corner House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cafe Corner House to your Saves list
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“needs to improve”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Our room black & white, did not have a mirror in the bathroom, nor TV or a wardrobe to keep the clothes. The room was clean and the hotel is very well located, however, it looks like it has been recently renewed and needs to be improved in details.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    90
    42
    16
    26
See reviews for
26
52
42
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Padua, Italy
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The hotel is very good and it is in the centre of Amsterdam near central station and place Dam.
We stayed in this hotel for two night, and we had the breakfast....................................................

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Very clean hotel, refurbished rooms but still a bit basic, but you aren't there to sit in the hotel room all day! Very close to Dam Square and Centraal train station. Very friendly staff other than the lady who I assume was the manager (long blonde hair & glasses) - feel she needs to improve her customer service skills a little bit!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Hotel Corner House is in an excellent location in the heart of Amsterdam. The staff were really friendly and the room was really nice. Very spacious and extremely clean! Beds were really comfy too. Excellent price and I would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I booked a quad room including breakfast through Easy to Book at £254 (E 315) for our family for 2 nights - this was an absolute bargain for Amsterdam!
The hotel is VERY central! Take a lane off Dam Square to the right of church and nearly opposite Magna Plaza so perfectly walkable to everything ie: Central Station 5 - 10 mins.
Walk through bar for hotel reception where staff were pleasant and check in was easy.
Traditional steep stairs (no lift) lead to newly decorated communal areas and presumably all the rooms have had a recent face lift which has resulted in much improved recent reviews on trip advisor. Well done to the owners for recognising a problem and resolving it.
The room was a good size, newly decorated, very clean, lovely comfortable beds with fresh linen and was made up of one area with twin beds, bedside cabinets, dressing table, wardrobe, tv, with an adjoining newly refurbished wet room with a good shower including toiletries and a hairdryer, then off the main room a small corridor leading to another area with twin beds and a bedside cabinet.
The breakfast was small but perfectly adequate and consisted of great coffee, tea, orange juice, toast, cheese, ham, butter and jam.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and we would use it again.
Incidentally we drove to Amsterdam, parked at the Olympic Station just off the A10 ring road, got a parking ticket on arrival for the vehicle, then bought 4 public transport tickets at under E7 from blue ticket machines for the journey to and return from Amsterdam, took the tram from the tram stop outside the stadium on the main street, (No 16 and 24 go to central station), but we got off at Dam Square. On our return to Olympic Stadium we inserted the parking ticket, scanned one of the public transport tickets we had used which reduced the parking fee from E100 to E2 for the whole stay - what a bargain!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

What i liked?
-Location location and location. It is located so close to dam square and station.
-The staff- they are so friendly and helpful, understands English well and are always smiling.
-the breakfast was tasty. I mean it was set breakfast, hot and filling. I liked the person who served us breakfast. I said 'no meat' and he gave us 3 slices of cheese :)
-the bar in the hotel is great. very nice environment and drinks are cheaper then what you will get in dam square.
-rooms were big, clean and had all basic things like shampoo, towels, shower gel, soap.
-affordable -oh yes! i mean you wont get such a nice hotel at such location at such low cost.

What I dint like?
-there were no sings saying that the entry of hotel is from the bar. we had tough time looking for entry.
-no lifts, but that is still ok for us, we had only 1 bag.

Room Tip: Keep walking straight after exiting from Amsterdam central station, take 1st right from Starbucks. k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cafe Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Corner House

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with EasyToBook, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Cafe Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cafe Corner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cafe Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.