We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cafe Corner House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cafe Corner House to your Saves list
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cheap sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night on a flight layover.

The hotel is only a 5+ minute walk from the Central Train Station. Great location.

The room was clean and bed was comfortable. Normal Amsterdam street noise lulled me to sleep.

I was provided with a nice little complimentary breakfast in the morning. This was a nice surprise and the coffee was great.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    82
    42
    16
    26
See reviews for
24
46
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we walked in and asked for help and straight away we were greeted by friendly staff who did there up most to help us, after our stay here we will be booking this place every time we stay in Amsterdam as its a great find! dont let the two star rating put you off this was at least a 4 star hotel and room 21 was amazing! great food! the owner is a lovely friendly guy and the staff were just great, this made our stay just wonderful, and when we had checked out the room they were happy to keep hold of our luggage for the whole day til our flight, cant ask for anything else just friendly and wonderful! highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: room 21 is just romantic and beautiful very quiet and the walk in shower room was just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well where to start, we arrived at the hotel a few hours before checkin which was 2pm. We asked if there was any chance of checking in before as the wheather was bad, so wanted to dry of and change, the response given by the bar lady was as if I'd asked her for a free night stay. After abruptly being told no, we wondered around the shops until checkin.
My mum HELD the room on her credit card on the understanding that payment was made on arrival, only to find out when we did checkin they took full payment from her card of nearly £750 (we had 3 rooms) we explained to the lady that in no where on the booking did it say that the card would be charge BEFORE checkin, as we were all paying separately cash on arrival. The lady said it had been done and there was no way of rectifying this unless we wanted to pay twice (extremley rude for someone whom just took it upon herself to take payment without the card holders autorisation) . Totally unacceptable to do without permission.
When we checked into the room they were clean, but in no way did they reflect the price we paid for superior rooms. There were buliding works so there was no heating for the first few hours until the work men had finished, which meant it was absolutely freezing.
The safe was broken, and when asking reception it seemed to much trouble to help out.
The rooms were basic but we expected that as it was only a 1* hotel, however found it extremely expensive for the lack of facilities and I can only imagine what the basic room was like.
Overall it was the unfriendly attitude of the staff that ruined our stay, every thing was to much trouble for them, manners and good customer service cost nothing and when somebody is paying to stay at the hotel you represent, a smile goes a long way. I have been to Amsterdame a number of times staying at different hotels, this was by far the most expensive and the worst i have stayed at. Would not recommend and most defiantly would NOT return.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I went with my family for a nice weekend (so I thought). To this hotel and was very disappointed with the service we received for example they had already taken the money from my account without me being there to sign as I only used the card as a holding booking and we were all paying cash on arrival.The safe in the room never worked there was no lamp beside the bed which I also asked for but never arrived couldn't read in bed as light was well away from bed.it was very noisy with workman working even on Sunday. Staff even walked in room without even knocking.i could go on and on but let you judge for yourself. Never again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cafe Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Corner House

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cafe Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cafe Corner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cafe Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.