We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing! polite! friendly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cafe Corner House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Cafe Corner House to your Saves list
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Saint Helens, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“amazing! polite! friendly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

we walked in and asked for help and straight away we were greeted by friendly staff who did there up most to help us, after our stay here we will be booking this place every time we stay in Amsterdam as its a great find! dont let the two star rating put you off this was at least a 4 star hotel and room 21 was amazing! great food! the owner is a lovely friendly guy and the staff were just great, this made our stay just wonderful, and when we had checked out the room they were happy to keep hold of our luggage for the whole day til our flight, cant ask for anything else just friendly and wonderful! highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: room 21 is just romantic and beautiful very quiet and the walk in shower room was just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    101
    43
    17
    26
See reviews for
26
56
46
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Well where to start, we arrived at the hotel a few hours before checkin which was 2pm. We asked if there was any chance of checking in before as the wheather was bad, so wanted to dry of and change, the response given by the bar lady was as if I'd asked her for a free night stay. After abruptly being told no, we wondered around the shops until checkin.
My mum HELD the room on her credit card on the understanding that payment was made on arrival, only to find out when we did checkin they took full payment from her card of nearly £750 (we had 3 rooms) we explained to the lady that in no where on the booking did it say that the card would be charge BEFORE checkin, as we were all paying separately cash on arrival. The lady said it had been done and there was no way of rectifying this unless we wanted to pay twice (extremley rude for someone whom just took it upon herself to take payment without the card holders autorisation) . Totally unacceptable to do without permission.
When we checked into the room they were clean, but in no way did they reflect the price we paid for superior rooms. There were buliding works so there was no heating for the first few hours until the work men had finished, which meant it was absolutely freezing.
The safe was broken, and when asking reception it seemed to much trouble to help out.
The rooms were basic but we expected that as it was only a 1* hotel, however found it extremely expensive for the lack of facilities and I can only imagine what the basic room was like.
Overall it was the unfriendly attitude of the staff that ruined our stay, every thing was to much trouble for them, manners and good customer service cost nothing and when somebody is paying to stay at the hotel you represent, a smile goes a long way. I have been to Amsterdame a number of times staying at different hotels, this was by far the most expensive and the worst i have stayed at. Would not recommend and most defiantly would NOT return.

Room Tip: Use a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I went with my family for a nice weekend (so I thought). To this hotel and was very disappointed with the service we received for example they had already taken the money from my account without me being there to sign as I only used the card as a holding booking and we were all paying cash on arrival.The safe in the room never worked there was no lamp beside the bed which I also asked for but never arrived couldn't read in bed as light was well away from bed.it was very noisy with workman working even on Sunday. Staff even walked in room without even knocking.i could go on and on but let you judge for yourself. Never again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We choose this hotel due to he location - ok we knew it was a one star but being charged £120 per double room a night it wasn't the cheapest either. We arrived at our hotel early but rooms were not ready so asked to leave our bags and return at 2pm when check in was. There were 6 of us in our party (3 rooms booked - we left a holding card when booking hotel & due to pay the rooms upon arrival - as stated at time of booking and on order confirmation).

Upon check in we said that we would like to pay per room - the rude little lady said payment has been taken- we said no we wanted to pay on check in and that the booking was made with only a holding card. I stated we wanted the card refunded and to pay in euros as we all bought this extra amount for hotel and this wasn't fair on member of party who left their card details (758 euros been debited). She refused point blank - she said we can pay her twice if we want .
Well I am a very experienced traveller and have travelled to many hotels - I thought that a holding card is debited if the party is a non show not prior check in. Was not happy.

To be fair the upgraded room which we booked wasn't terrible apart from a scaffolding outside our window with workmen peeping in. We went to the shops and when we arrived back - we were mortified to find that my brother and his gf bedroom door was wide open with workmen coming in and out (my brother was out). I went into room and took his suitcase to see how easy it were to sneak his belongings out as workmen didn't know who I was - i succeeded . Disgusting -the staff didn't ask to gain entry to room- anyone could have stolen anything.

Oh and after a heavy night out do expect to be woken up at 7am from heavy building works. Or two hours prior check out a member of staff bursting into your bedroom without knocking to remind you check out is at eleven. I was having a romantic moment with my bf - highly embarrassing...

Other than that thoroughly enjoyed Amsterdam - hotel was awful -( also be wary of the safes in room as our didn't work - we asked someone to look at it ). She simply carried mine out and carried a new one in - I said isn't a safe meant to be secured in a wardrobe - anyone can carry it - not exactly safe is it. Brunette little lady who had an ATTITUDE PROBLEM "it's ok, we wouldn't steal". , maybe not but other guests could though given a tempting opportunity with your work men leaving guests bedrooms door wide open with belongings inside. Don't visit hotel.....

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel, it isn't cheap nor worth it - rude staff!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ok so the hotel was in a great location but other than that our stay here was awful. When we checked in we were greeted by a very rude member of staff who had no customer service what so ever! We eventually were given our room key and made our way to the room initially we thought it was nice but then we realised our room was being propped up by scaffolding! The in room safe wasnt working either and when another family member asked if somebody could come and sort it out ir was far to much bother for them. The rooms were at least clean but the attitude of the staff had really put us off! From then we kind of put up and shut up as it was clear nobody in the hotel was bothered well apart from the 2 girls behind the bar they were lovely. On our last day, we were asked by the guy on reception if we would mind checking out early as workmen wanted access to our room, we agreed and he said to so thank you that he would allow to have anything off the menu for our breakfast! Well that didnt happen and yet again when trying to ask them why we didnt get it, we were greeted by a terrible attitude from the hotel! So we pretty much just grabbed our bags and left. I know this hotel is only a 1 star but you do expect to receive good customer service and a better attitude. We wont be returning

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Cafe Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Corner House

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119 121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#30 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and EasyToBook so you can book your Hotel Cafe Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cafe Corner

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cafe Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.