We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a cozy spot in a busy city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
“a cozy spot in a busy city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

A clam neighbourhood and warm welcome! This apartment is relatively close to the museumplaine and other necessary amenities (food store, restaurants, public transport etc). A great place to feel at home a couple of days in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
52
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This experience was much more than just the apartment. The apartment is on the first floor. So If you cannot manage stairs, don't consider as there is no lift and the stairs are a little tight. It was clean and had everything we basically needed. Great shower/bathroom, good sized kitchen, with fridge, cooker, microwave, pots pans, crockery and utensils. There was tea/coffee and some other dried foods. Good amount of space that actually made you want to spend time there instead of going out into wonderful Amsterdam. There was plentiful information available. Joop was an amazing host who even acted as a guide on our first day. He was kind,helpful and mindful for our enjoyment the whole time. The apartment was close to all facilities and amenities that we wanted and enjoyed. Would heartily recommend and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Definitely recommend and would go again.

The Wooden Mill is a great spot quiet spot of authentic Amsterdam near Vondel Park, Rijks Museum,& main tram lines. It is also on a direct bus line from Schiphol which is an important factor for a first time visitor. A good grocery store which is open late is just around the corner. The RAI (convention center) is fairly close.

Joop, the host could not be more pleasant and accommodating.

The second floor room has large french doors overlooking the gardens, central to the city block. It was simple but clean and very comfortable. The wireless worked without a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Wooden Mill front apartment
there is a kitchen,shower/toilet and good size living room. The owner Joop is a really nice guy very helpful with maps of local supermarkets and other local shops,even took us to a local cafe and we got 20% discount
we had a good stay in Amsterdam,Wooden Mill is quite away from central station if you decided to walk (about an hour) however we got a travel ticket on the tram for 24 hours use for 7.50 euro which as you may have guessed gives you unlimited tram travel for that period,you can get a longer time ticket i think up to 72 hours
we would stay with joop again

Room Tip: use the local supermarket about 3-4min from apartment good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in the apartment and found it very comfy and clean. It had all the facilities we needed and the owner (Joop) was really nice and helpful. We would defiantly recommend staying there. I've got to write 200 characters to submit this review so...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here at the start of September. The owner, Joop is brilliant We booked the room with the balcony and kitchen. The room its self is basic but there is everything you need. it's very comfy and very clean. Joop made sure we were stocked up with coffee, tea etc. He was very helpful with giving us some maps (tourist and Google) and general information. There is a Internet cafe, launderette and late night shop ( they sell lovely pasta dishesh to take away) and tram (No.2) stops to the center within 5 min walk. When we arrived we took a taxi from Central Station which was about 18 euros but once we got the trams sussed we didn't look back, there more fun! This is was the perfect place to chill after a busy day out and about, a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great stay in Amsterdam. We were very pleased with the location of Wooden Mill and proximity to the centre. The facilities were very good: beds were comfy, shower room perfect, kitchen was very handy and also a side garden which was great for the kids. Joop was very helpful and accomodating. It was very good value for money, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Wooden Mill is in a residential area of Amsterdam, officially called as 'Oud Zuid' (meaning: oldest quarter build in southern direction). This area is from the beginning of the 20th century and consists of beautiful streets and large, stately houses, characteristic for that time. The rooms are located on the 1st floor. Both rooms are very nice and quiet. The front room has a separate kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list