We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, quiet, cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #123 of 326 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
“Convenient, quiet, cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Definitely recommend and would go again.

The Wooden Mill is a great spot quiet spot of authentic Amsterdam near Vondel Park, Rijks Museum,& main tram lines. It is also on a direct bus line from Schiphol which is an important factor for a first time visitor. A good grocery store which is open late is just around the corner. The RAI (convention center) is fairly close.

Joop, the host could not be more pleasant and accommodating.

The second floor room has large french doors overlooking the gardens, central to the city block. It was simple but clean and very comfortable. The wireless worked without a problem.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewC297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Wooden Mill front apartment
there is a kitchen,shower/toilet and good size living room. The owner Joop is a really nice guy very helpful with maps of local supermarkets and other local shops,even took us to a local cafe and we got 20% discount
we had a good stay in Amsterdam,Wooden Mill is quite away from central station if you decided to walk (about an hour) however we got a travel ticket on the tram for 24 hours use for 7.50 euro which as you may have guessed gives you unlimited tram travel for that period,you can get a longer time ticket i think up to 72 hours
we would stay with joop again

Room Tip: use the local supermarket about 3-4min from apartment good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robert h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in the apartment and found it very comfy and clean. It had all the facilities we needed and the owner (Joop) was really nice and helpful. We would defiantly recommend staying there. I've got to write 200 characters to submit this review so...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sclara2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here at the start of September. The owner, Joop is brilliant We booked the room with the balcony and kitchen. The room its self is basic but there is everything you need. it's very comfy and very clean. Joop made sure we were stocked up with coffee, tea etc. He was very helpful with giving us some maps (tourist and Google) and general information. There is a Internet cafe, launderette and late night shop ( they sell lovely pasta dishesh to take away) and tram (No.2) stops to the center within 5 min walk. When we arrived we took a taxi from Central Station which was about 18 euros but once we got the trams sussed we didn't look back, there more fun! This is was the perfect place to chill after a busy day out and about, a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cazstu82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great stay in Amsterdam. We were very pleased with the location of Wooden Mill and proximity to the centre. The facilities were very good: beds were comfy, shower room perfect, kitchen was very handy and also a side garden which was great for the kids. Joop was very helpful and accomodating. It was very good value for money, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a few days in the ground floor flat at the beginning of June. This has a spacious double bedroom, private bathroom with a good shower and a nice, well equipped, kitchen. Joop was very welcoming and helpful by supplying us with various maps which showed us local points of interest such as the local supermarket and patisserie. He also gave us some useful pointers on speaking Dutch when we asked him about the language which was a nice touch.
If I was pressed to suggest any areas for improvement I'd suggest the garden which could use a tidy, making it more welcoming for guests, and the toilet cistern had a slight leak. However I'd like to stress these are pointers for Joop to be aware of and not points to worry potential guests.
Wooden Mill is very convenient for the trams into the centre of Amsterdam which are well priced and also for a large park which can provide a very pleasant walk into the centre. Look out for the parakeets which were a pleasant surprise! The bus from the airport stops a few hundred yards away which makes for a very easy travel experience at the end or beginning of your journey.
All in all we had very enjoyable time and would thoroughly recommend a stay at Wooden Mill to anyone. We loved Amsterdam and will be back soon. It's nice to have a place to stay now!

Room Tip: Speak to Joop and rent the ground floor flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Finding reasonable accommodation in any city can be a hit or miss experience. The Wooden Mill however was definitely a hit! The apartment provided a spacious and comfortable place to stay; as a family, just exactly what we were looking for. The beds were comfy with clean bed linen, the en-suite wc/shower room was a good size and clean, and the kitchen was well equipped. That's enough going for it to make for an enjoyable stay! However, what adds to the accommodation I think is the location. The apartment is situated in a lovely tree lined street in a pleasant part of Amsterdam and whilst it may not be in the centre of the city, there are excellent bus and tram links. It's also near the Vondelpark which allowed us to enjoy lovely walks into the city centre taking only around 20 minutes. The owner, Joop, provided extremely useful tips on getting to the apartment. The bus from the airport drops you off a stones throw from the apartment itself! During our stay, Joop was helpful and friendly. The combination of price, location and standard of accommodation makes this a definite recommendation. For one thing, we would certainly want to return there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
citizenM Amsterdam
#37 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,760 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Not Hotel
#102 of 326 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#148 of 326 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 326 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Wooden Mill is in a residential area of Amsterdam, officially called as 'Oud Zuid' (meaning: oldest quarter build in southern direction). This area is from the beginning of the 20th century and consists of beautiful streets and large, stately houses, characteristic for that time. The rooms are located on the 1st floor. Both rooms are very nice and quiet. The front room has a separate kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing