We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 nights” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
“3 nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the Wooden Mill front apartment
there is a kitchen,shower/toilet and good size living room. The owner Joop is a really nice guy very helpful with maps of local supermarkets and other local shops,even took us to a local cafe and we got 20% discount
we had a good stay in Amsterdam,Wooden Mill is quite away from central station if you decided to walk (about an hour) however we got a travel ticket on the tram for 24 hours use for 7.50 euro which as you may have guessed gives you unlimited tram travel for that period,you can get a longer time ticket i think up to 72 hours
we would stay with joop again

Room Tip: use the local supermarket about 3-4min from apartment good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    58
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
25
52
4
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in the apartment and found it very comfy and clean. It had all the facilities we needed and the owner (Joop) was really nice and helpful. We would defiantly recommend staying there. I've got to write 200 characters to submit this review so...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay here at the start of September. The owner, Joop is brilliant We booked the room with the balcony and kitchen. The room its self is basic but there is everything you need. it's very comfy and very clean. Joop made sure we were stocked up with coffee, tea etc. He was very helpful with giving us some maps (tourist and Google) and general information. There is a Internet cafe, launderette and late night shop ( they sell lovely pasta dishesh to take away) and tram (No.2) stops to the center within 5 min walk. When we arrived we took a taxi from Central Station which was about 18 euros but once we got the trams sussed we didn't look back, there more fun! This is was the perfect place to chill after a busy day out and about, a home from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We had a great stay in Amsterdam. We were very pleased with the location of Wooden Mill and proximity to the centre. The facilities were very good: beds were comfy, shower room perfect, kitchen was very handy and also a side garden which was great for the kids. Joop was very helpful and accomodating. It was very good value for money, would definitely come again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a few days in the ground floor flat at the beginning of June. This has a spacious double bedroom, private bathroom with a good shower and a nice, well equipped, kitchen. Joop was very welcoming and helpful by supplying us with various maps which showed us local points of interest such as the local supermarket and patisserie. He also gave us some useful pointers on speaking Dutch when we asked him about the language which was a nice touch.
If I was pressed to suggest any areas for improvement I'd suggest the garden which could use a tidy, making it more welcoming for guests, and the toilet cistern had a slight leak. However I'd like to stress these are pointers for Joop to be aware of and not points to worry potential guests.
Wooden Mill is very convenient for the trams into the centre of Amsterdam which are well priced and also for a large park which can provide a very pleasant walk into the centre. Look out for the parakeets which were a pleasant surprise! The bus from the airport stops a few hundred yards away which makes for a very easy travel experience at the end or beginning of your journey.
All in all we had very enjoyable time and would thoroughly recommend a stay at Wooden Mill to anyone. We loved Amsterdam and will be back soon. It's nice to have a place to stay now!

Room Tip: Speak to Joop and rent the ground floor flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fochabers, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Finding reasonable accommodation in any city can be a hit or miss experience. The Wooden Mill however was definitely a hit! The apartment provided a spacious and comfortable place to stay; as a family, just exactly what we were looking for. The beds were comfy with clean bed linen, the en-suite wc/shower room was a good size and clean, and the kitchen was well equipped. That's enough going for it to make for an enjoyable stay! However, what adds to the accommodation I think is the location. The apartment is situated in a lovely tree lined street in a pleasant part of Amsterdam and whilst it may not be in the centre of the city, there are excellent bus and tram links. It's also near the Vondelpark which allowed us to enjoy lovely walks into the city centre taking only around 20 minutes. The owner, Joop, provided extremely useful tips on getting to the apartment. The bus from the airport drops you off a stones throw from the apartment itself! During our stay, Joop was helpful and friendly. The combination of price, location and standard of accommodation makes this a definite recommendation. For one thing, we would certainly want to return there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Accommodation in Amsterdam is expensive so I was very happy to find this modest-priced bottom floor apartment in a quiet tree-lined street. We had 1 bedroom (with extra bed free for my under 12 year old) and own fully fitted kitchen and bathroom. I stayed here with my 2 daughters August 2012 and it was a great place to relax in after a day out. The host was friendly and helpful and gave us maps with all the major tram stops/supermarkets/bike rental places etc marked out. He let us use his kitchen supplies and let us stay longer in the apt. as our flight was later in the day. We were a 20 min tram ride away from the centre (tram stop 5 mins walk away) 30 min bus ride from airport and 7 min walk from the beautiful Vondelpark. There are probably more luxurious and spacious places even closer to the city centre but you will pay highly for them. For the price we were more than happy and if the 3 of us went back, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Wooden Mill is in a residential area of Amsterdam, officially called as 'Oud Zuid' (meaning: oldest quarter build in southern direction). This area is from the beginning of the 20th century and consists of beautiful streets and large, stately houses, characteristic for that time. The rooms are located on the 1st floor. Both rooms are very nice and quiet. The front room has a separate kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list