We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #125 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We are so glad that we decided to stay at Wooden Mill. If you want to enjoy the sense of being an Amsterdamer for a few days and stay in an area whre realm people live and go about their business, you should stay here. The apartment itself is comfortable with plenty of facilities for lounging. The kitchen we suspect has been recently upgraded and the shower room is spacious and efficient. Lomanstraat itself is a tree-lined dream.
Nearby there are two excellent supermarkets - we would specially recommend the one called Jumbo - and a range of shops, restaurants etc. that cater for locals as well as tourists.
While the apartment is located a little way from the city centre, access by tram is excellent. If you plan to do a lot of exploring we would recommend the 96 hour transport ticket.
Our host Joop is helpfulness personified and we are grateful to him for making our holiday more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    63
    9
    8
    4
See reviews for
29
57
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you want to have the feeling you are at home in Amsterdam, this place is just what you are looking for. A nice flat in a quiet area of the city, next to Vondelpark with a great host. Joop will help you where he can and gives you great suggestions on what to see or where to go for diner. I reserved through budgetplaces, got a great service and even discount for my next trip!
I will recommend friends to stay in this flat, no luxury, but great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a lovely 2 nights here. We wanted somewhere pleasant we could relax and have easy access to and from the city centre, and this ticked all the boxes. The cleanliness was great, nice decor and comfortable furnishings and with Joop's warm but not overbearing hospitality it felt like a home from home.

We'll definitely be using this place as our base on future Amsterdam trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Wooden Mill Bed and Breakfast is located in a peaceful neighbourhood of Amsterdam with good tram connections to the city centre. For those who like to walk, many of the attractions are within walkable distance. Joop, our host was a very friendly and helpful person.

The rooms were spacious for two people and the availability of the kitchen (with amenities) makes life easier if someone wants to prepare their own food. The rooms, bathroom and kitchen were very clean. With access to fast wi-fi connection in the room, you are always in touch with your social networks.

I would love to return to this place again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

We had a nice 3 night stay in this confortable appartment, where the host received us with a lot of helpful information about public transport, shopping and tourist information.

The location was good if you don't like or afford to stay in the city centre, because it takes no more than 15 minutes walking through the beautiful streets of the neighbourhood.Tram and bus stop are just a few steps from the appartment, so getting to the centre and to the airport was so quick.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

Great.
Four of us stayed for a weekend. We loved the apartment, area and the welcome we received.
Lovely spacious apartment with balcony, in a nice part of town.
20 mins by public transport to the main city centre, however are plenty of things to see in the area it self, including the Vondelpark, Olympic Stadium etc
People Very Friendly.
Landlord was very friendly and welcoming.
The only bad thing was that the holiday had to come to an end.

All in all we will definitely stay here again.

Thank you very much for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

I traveled to Amsterdam with 3 of my friends and we thought Wooden Mill Bed and Breakfast was just perfect! It was pretty close to the center of the city (less than 10min tram ride). The room was spacious and the beds were comfortable. Everything was super clean. We had our own bathroom and kitchen. Breakfast was not included, but you can easily buy a few things for the kitchen (besides some of the food stocked there) and cook it yourself because the kitchen had plenty of utensils, pots, pans, microwave, stove, tables, etc. Wooden Mill had free fast wifi and a tv. Also, Joop was extremely nice and welcoming. He even offered to drive us to a traditional Dutch rest. and the airport! He gave us plenty of maps and directions to places as well. It may seem a little pricy, but surprisingly Wooden Mill was one of the cheapest places we found in Amsterdam. All of the other places we researched were more expensive and not as accomodating as Wooden Mill/a lot of the other places were decent hostels. I was very pleased with Wooden Mill and I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: Lomanstraat 94, 1075RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Wooden Mill is in a residential area of Amsterdam, officially called as 'Oud Zuid' (meaning: oldest quarter build in southern direction). This area is from the beginning of the 20th century and consists of beautiful streets and large, stately houses, characteristic for that time. The rooms are located on the 1st floor. Both rooms are very nice and quiet. The front room has a separate kitchen. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.