We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“near the Anne Frank house” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Tulip Museum

Amsterdam Tulip Museum
Prinsengracht 116, Amsterdam 1015, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
+31 20 421 0095
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 298 attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Amsterdam Tulip Museum re-opened March 1st after two months of renovation. Visit the all new Amsterdam Tulip Museum & Shop to learn the fascinating history of the Tulip. Conveniently located in the heart of historic Amsterdam, near many fine shops, galleries and cafes, the museum features exhibits and films devoted to the tulip, the unofficial national flower of the Netherlands. From Sultans of the Ottoman Empire and Dutch Merchants of the Golden Age, to gardeners today, the tulip has captivated people around the world for centuries. This fascinating flower has inspired artists and brought great wealth and even economic ruin to people who have fallen under its spell. Explore the tulip's history and discover the remarkable journey it has taken from the wilds of the Himalayan highlands to a garden like yours.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“near the Anne Frank house”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Only stop in here if you can't get into the Anne Frank house and its raining or cold. One room and a 3 Euro entry price.
Go to the Bloommarket instead.....

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    60
    48
    30
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Not much there, simple historical facts about tulips and a shop for souveniers, but not much to buy.
To simple, it lacks in fun ideas, too boring

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Little of interest”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

More of a gift shop than a museum, not especially interesting despite the obvious relationship between tulips and The Netherlands.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Small shop with few tulips”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I was venturing along the canals looking for Anne Frank House when i accidentally walked pass ATM. My partner suggested a visit and boy was i disappointed. It is not so much the 5 Euros entrance fee but i could literally count by my fingers the number of real flowers i saw at ATM. You pay for your ticket at the front of the museum, which is the souvenirs store and by far the largest area in the entire museum, and walk into the museum. Once inside, there is an area which was decorated like a barn but it is in fact the general storage area where they repeat a short documentary (about 3-4 mins) on history of Tulips in the Netherlands. Thereafter, you walk down into a room, about the size of a large toilet (estimate 10ft by 10ft) where there are some newspaper cuttings, some ornaments and some prints. Then there is a large display stand where they display 20 odd vases (YES they actually display VASES) which they claim are specially made for tulips. All in all, we spent some 15 mins in the museum and some 30 mins in the souvenir shop. Disappointing is an understatement.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris S, Manager at Amsterdam Tulip Museum, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Tulip Friend, We are sorry for your disappointing visit. We worked on our upgrade to a larger space and have slowly started to make improvements which have been greeted by many visitors as very positive which you can see here on this forum. And apologies about the lack of tulips in shop. This time of year the fields are at their peak and most people have gotten their fix when visiting Keukenhof or the countryside. We would love you to visit again next year after we have made more improvements and see what your opinion is. We won't charge you admission. Let us know. Sincerely, Amsterdam Tulip Museum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Surprisingly interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We found that the Tulip Museum was very near the Anne Frank house, and as it was raining, stopped in. It was included on our Iamsterdam card, so we didn't have to pay anything when we got there. It was a small museum with just the right amount of information about the flower. It has a good gift shop with lots of wonderful items and knowledgeable staff.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amsterdam Tulip Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Amsterdam Tulip Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Tulip Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Tulip Museum to your Saves list