We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most recommended Chinese restaurant in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Mandarijn

Restaurant Mandarijn
Rokin 26, 1012 KS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 623 0885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Most recommended Chinese restaurant in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by an old friend who visits Amsterdam occasionally. He always make a point to go to "Mandarijn" and encouraged us to go and try the really Si-Chuan Spicy food there.
Now I am living in Amsterdam for one yr, have been here at least five times, I can honestly say I have never had a bad dish here. In dinner time, the restaurant is always fully of people.
The servers are attentive but not intrusive.I totally feel at home.
I love the Si-Chuan food the best, which is also highly recommended by my Chinese friends. The food was perfectly flavored, not oily,not heavy and perfectly seasoned and cooked. Try the water boil fish and beef, please. You will definitely love them.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    36
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very nice Sichuan food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Their Sichuan food is their specialty. I live in Amsterdam and I've been there many many times. It never disappoints me. Try the La Zi Ji (spicy chicken) if you love spicy food, love it~ The atmosphere and the waiters are also very nice and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic authentic Chinese restaurant in the centre of Amsterdam!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Although this restaurant is located in the middle of the centre, and surrounded by all kind of tourist traps it is actually a little gem! Well, perhaps not that little since it has three floors, which were all very busy when we dined there. Apparently, this restaurant is certainly among the favorites Chinese restaurants in town among the Asians, which was surely a good sign..

Besides the ordinary but varied and tasty Chinese menu that you can find here, this restaurant, unlike most of the others in town also has a wide section of an authentic Sichuan food just like in China!
It literally made me reminisce of the great food I had in the period I lived there, definitely nothing that one should take for granted while living in Amsterdam for so long ;)

The service is fast and very friendly too, so to conclude - Highly recommended!!

Will come to visit again soon!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very good Chinese restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

this restaurant is amazing. The food is really nice, just one thing you need to pay attention. You need to be here early , because they are too busy. The best location in center are located too many fast food restaurant, you may not have any ideas where you should go for a nice food . if you come to this restaurant, you wound be disappointed with the dishes and service. Feel good to be burned up with real chinese chilli and Sichuan food. You want challenge ? just come .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dongguan, Guangdong, China
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“nice location nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

it was a nice experience to have dinner here. staff are friendly, food were nice and hot spicy. just a bit too noisy in the restaurant. all in all was a nice place to go and i would visit again with friends who likes spicy food.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Mandarijn also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Restaurant Mandarijn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Mandarijn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.