We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and cheap rooms” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Y Boulevard

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Y Boulevard to your Saves list
Hotel Y Boulevard
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Prins Hendrikkade 144-145, 1011 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #332 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    35
    58
    64
    182
See reviews for
26
78
29
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

After reading the reviews was expedting the worse, but not that bad.
1. Room - small but clean. I had read that the sheets were dirty and dingy. The sheets were crisp and clean. The colour was a pale yellow which does not mean they were off colour, it was natural. Bed comfortable.
2. We had read that the stairs were steep. This is an old building. Most buildings of the era in Amsterdam were built high and narrow, it is part of the aechitecture and umless you book a modern hotel to be expected.
3. Breakfast, yes basic, but choice of toast, eggs, cold meat and cereal, eat as much as you like. Found this adequate
4. Staff - Not rude, found them to be extremely friendly.
5. Wi-Fi - was on the 1st floor and the signal was extremely strong.

The hotel could do with a basic redecoration in places, but value for money

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I've been here with my gf and I was very afraid by the other notice but, when I arrived, the situation was very different from the words!! Well, you don't have to expect the Hilton but the hotel y boulevard has a great position with a great staff and a very cute rooms!! the breakfast is full and good and, at this price, you will have everything you need!! I'm talking about my second experience in Amsterdam and I spent my first time in a best (this is what people said!!) hotel, for an higter price but now I can say that I'll be back in the hotel y boulevard!!

Room Tip: ask for a second floor room; if possible with the window on the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Small rooms (a bed, a window and none or little space for anything else), minimum bathrooms (you can take a shower by sitting on the toilet..). It's a low cost solution for overnighting, but it's not, in any way a Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We visited Amsterdam for 4 days and our main goal was sight seeing and partying. We needed a place for sleeping only and this hotel is perfect for that. The only con is that you can hear steps from the corridor and louder talking inside other rooms but there were no parties inside the hotel and falling asleep was not a problem after a tyring day.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for people who don't have high requirements and don't plan to spend thier time in the hotel except for sleeping. Great value for that price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect was very upset when got to hotel, didn't want to stay there however after a visit to coffee shop wasn't too bad haha.

Overall hotel wasn't to great, no double bed just to beds pushed together.

Didn't bother getting up for breakfast, if you go don't expect much

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Lets be honest, if youre going to stay here, youre not paying an awful lot. This hotel is in an old building in the heart of the city, 10 mins walk from anywhere you would want to be maximum. Ive read a couple of reviews complaining of poor service and thats rubbish, if you show common curtosy and be polite to the staff theyre lovely and helpful. The stairs are killer, we had the top room as per our request which was a good size, clean and basic with a TV and sheets ans towels changed daily. Wifi always worked great during our stay but is only available in the lobby and breakfast area. There is also a terrace you can go to for a smoke.

On the whole this is a great hotel for younger people who arent after luxury, just sonewhere to sleep after exploring all day! Breakfast is basic but does the job; toast, eggs, ham, jam and weirdly, cake? We thouroughly enjoyedour stay, great budget hotel for those who would rather not stay in a hostel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Y Boulevard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Y Boulevard

Address: Prins Hendrikkade 144-145, 1011 AT Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #332 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Y Boulevard 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Y Boulevard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
y Boulevard Hotel
y Boulevard Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Y Boulevard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.