We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bar with a hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 47, Amsterdam 6443 CE, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Bamberg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Bar with a hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

This is a bar with eleven?? hotel rooms upstairs. All four reviews are correct. You check in with a lady behind the bar. She was nice and helpful. Very steep steps. One luggage per person & use the handrail to be safe. Single bed room was tiny by US standards, huge by Tokyo standards. Basic sleep accommodation, Euro type low sitting bed. bare desk, hotel, one lamp, a wind-up clock that needed to be wound, clothes closet. Bathroom vent was loud. High water pressure, very hot water. Comfortably heated, regulated by opening the window. Barred window had ugly view of roofs. Window bars probably a good idea since I might climb out the window to get on the roof. Since I'm in the middle of the RLD, I expected city sounds. Got the expected ones, and none of the unexpected, thank goodness... sirens, woman shouting/fighting in street, church bells ringing, distant car horns, street sounds, etc. Have to leave key with bar each time you leave. Very quiet in dawn/early morning. Street & hotel construction ongoing. Paid 55 euro for Sunday night stay. Would I spend that on this hotel again... possibly. Amsterdam is a great city. But I think I'm ready to stay in other parts of the city.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    14
    4
    2
See reviews for
1
10
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Helier, Jersey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2008

Stayed here for two nights over the Easter break. Have used the bar on previous visits, I knew the location was very good. The room I had (No.1) was just above the bar with windows looking out to the front over the canal. Very steep stairs to the room (an Amsterdam speciality!), the room didnt have a manual lock on the inside so you need to lock it with the key from the inside for security.
The furnishings were extremely old and the 12 inch portable telly didnt work (although I only tried it out of curiosity!!).. The bathroom was dim and hadn't been updated for many, many years. The bed was ok. (two singles)

I was told that if it got cold, to turn on the rads, these didnt work, eventually (the day I was leaving) it became apparant that a customer had turned off the supply to my room from the BAR!! None too pleased.

All in all the room was if nothing else... clean, one thing I wasnt happy with was the price at 130Euros per night EXCLUDING brekkie.

That was my first experience staying in the RLD, I will return to my norm in future which is the Barbizon Palace or Ramada which you can normally get for just a few more Euros when booked in advance.

One thing to mention if you are going to stay at the Rolay Taste - take some GOOD ear plugs!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — needs updating
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Very over priced at €60 per night considering breakfast is not included either (it says breakfast included on their website but it's not available)

the view out of the bar window has changed from being red light windows to fashion dummies, now they have closed the windows opposite. it's a bit lifeless in this area compared to what it used to be.

i wouldn't stay again or recommend for anything other than stag parties etc just wanting basic accomodation.

their website needs updating as it is false advertising at present.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — overpriced
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Me and three buddies stayed at the Royal Taste Hotel in amsterdam and it was great. the hotel is three blocks from the main Dam Square and three blocks from the train station. its located right in the heart of the RLD. linked to many canals with restaurants and bars, the royal taste is a perfect spot for a group that needs an inexpensive hotel to pretty much crash at... Nice spot, the owners are super nice and helped us around the city...

  • Liked — The Red light District and the old art deco buildings
  • Disliked — Alot of walking
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2007

set in the heart of the red light amidst all the bars and night life, the hotel offers value for money, we have stayed there for the past seven years, around twice if not three times a year, the rooms are basic but clean, what more do you need, in amsterdam you really should not be spending much time in your room. bar is open tyill late. we are very good friends with the staff, in fact two of the came over for our wedding.
would not stay anywhere else in the dam, the hotel is a great base. Back again at the begining of march with husband and at the end of march with the girls.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 47, Amsterdam 6443 CE, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.