We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Michelle is a sweetheart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 47, 6443 CE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Michelle is a sweetheart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

If you are not a prissy traveler who values location, casual atmosphere & friendly staff over luxury, this is your place.
Michelle, the day manager, is just really welcoming & genuine.
Room 4 looked out on the canal, great view. Sparse but adequate & clean. Tad noisy some nights with revelers, bring earplugs if you gotta get to sleep before midnight.
Not a hotel for kids & family, it's the red light district afterall, but great price & ambience for those who like to be in the heart of things & have a more casual boutique hotel experience.
Fun for a young couple, gay or straight, or the young at heart.

Room Tip: If you want quiet rather than a view ask to be on back side of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    21
    17
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
12
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I only stayed 1 night here before heading to the south of the Netherlands, but this hotel would be ideal for a stay of 2 or 3 nights or longer. I have been to Amsterdam several times before and this has got to be the best budget hotel I have stayed in, mainly for the location right in the centre of the RLD. But don't let that put you off!

I arrived at 9.30pm and checked in straight away at the hotel bar on the ground floor. My single room (50 euros p/night) was on the top floor at the back and, like other small hotels I have stayed in in Amsterdam, there is no lift and the stairs are very steep.

The room was small but had a desk, wardrobe and a TV. You have to pay a 20 euro refundable deposit for the TV remote. The room was clean, warm and, despite the hustle and bustle and noise on the streets outside, very quiet. I reckon if you have a room at the front of the hotel it would be noisy!

I shared a toilet/shower on the small landing with one other room which wasn't a problem.

When I visit Amsterdam again this will be the first hotel I will check for availability.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

the staff where welcoming, in a good location, room basic but priced the same as hotels that are located away from the centre and as a very small but private bathroom. shower was a nice size but sink must be the smallest one i have seen. Nice bar below for watching people walk by. Would recommend for a basic no frills place to stay with its own bathroom in the centre.
The stairs are extremely steep so take care.Please note that they lock the doors about 2.00am
when the bar closes after that you need to ring the bell.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My friend and I stayed for three nights at this hotel. It has a great location and friendly staff. The stairs are quite steep, but it is Amsterdam! We were assigned Room 8 - which was bright, well decorated, and we thought it to be quite a bargain for what we paid.

The only problem is that I woke up each morning with a few more red bites on me. Around a dozen in all. I'm thinking bedbugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

Situated in the heart of Amsterdams red light district is this small budget hotel. It advertises itself as a budget hotel so if you book here and then expect more, you're going to be disappointed.
The rooms were clean and had everything I needed for my stay and the staff were very helpful.
My only issue with this hotel was actually finding it in the first place!! A 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal Station, yes, but it helps to know the way. It took me an hour and 2 taxi driver to find it in the end. After 6pm, some streets in the red light district become only accessable to pedestrians which meant no cars could go down then, so I had to wander the streets with my luggage for quite a while. I suppose that isn't necessarily the hotels fault but people be warned.
I'd go back, now I know the way ;) but it is right on the street and the noise can get loud, although it didn't bother me at night.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I booked a twin room (90 euro per night) for me and my friend for 4 nights. Late check-in around midnight was not a problem. We were surprised on arrival cause our room was huge (3 windows) with a wardrobe (so many hangers!!!), a table and 2 armchairs, 2 big comfortable beds, a fridge, tv and ensuite bathroom. Linen was fresh and clean. Towels, shampoo and shower gel every day.
Location was great in the very center of Red Light District and close to the Central train station.
Yep, stairs were scary steep, so just be careful.
Special tip from me: if you're fond of chinese cuisine go to the street with nice chinese restaurants behind the corner on the right if you come out of the hotel :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Only stayed the one night. I know the area and it's accommodation well. The Royal Taste is one of the better cheap tourist hotels in an area where they can be really squalid. Had a single room with en-suite. Room had bare floor boards, which I thought a bit odd, though it mean no black feet off the dirty carpet after a shower. Bathroom was fine and clean. Slept well, even though I could hear my neighbour snoring through the wall.
Reception is at the ground floor bar where the staff are friendly, if preoccupied. Smoking seemed to be allowed.
There is no lift and the stairs are a bit precarious.

Room Tip: I had room 7 which had little noise from outside in a very lively area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 47, 6443 CE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.