We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & cheerful although not so cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC to your Saves list
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #144 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Cheap & cheerful although not so cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

we paid over £250.00 for 2 nights, not very many amenities, but the staff and the location more than make up for it, we were not planning on spending lots of time in the room so it was ideal for what we wanted, the room was very clean but would have been much better if you could have made a tea/coffee in the room instead of having to go to the lobby, the location is fantastic right next to rail/tram & metro so easy to use and very economical, it was a bank holiday when we stayed so maybe that is reflected in the price as i would have expected more for my money, but i would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    441
    200
    69
    46
See reviews for
24
476
92
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Average hotel, expensive for one night but it was a public holiday. Better directions needed. Nice enough hotel for one night but not very many amenities in the room for a longer stay and a door or curtain at the toilet would be nice!

Room Tip: Include tea/coffee facilities. There was no hairdryer despite saying there would be
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Claire,



First of all thank for leaving a review! Indeed our rooms are more expensive during holidays and events in Amsterdam. Don’t let that stop you for coming, as Amsterdam goes crazy during the holdiays! Our rooms are designed and all have an opening in the bathroom. In the hallway of the WTC are lavatories which our guest can use as well.



My apologies for not telling you that we have hairdryers at the reception desk and that our tea and coffee facilities are in the lobby! We’re always happy to help you, so please don’t hesitate to contact us at any time!
Our hotel is situated in a business area. We have directions and a map on our website. Maybe this can help you on your next visit.

We hope to see you again during the festival summer season.



With kind regards,



Luisana Kocks

Qbic Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is our second stay at Qbic. I like the concept although our room the first time was cooler with different lights and stuff. This was their cheapest room €74, with no window (I didn't mind that). It is quite small but the bed is comfy and the design is fun! I like the little details like the electric outlet next to the bed with a smartphone shelf. Nice and clean. A few things to consider: takes about 30 min with the tram to the central station, no real breakfast cafés within walking distance, parking is available at discount at WTC but much cheaper of you park at a Park & Ride (P+R) ca 8-12€/day instead of €25. No toiletries or fancy stuff (you get disposable plastic glasses). There is no door to the toilet/shower so if you're shy that might be a problem.
It's nice and quiet though and the tram stop is close by. Day pass for the tram is €7,50.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi There,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Always great to get positive feedback!
You’ve stayed in one of our new rooms on the 4th floor, that indeed have a different feel to is than some of the other rooms in the hotel.
We offer a discount rate for the WTC parking, but of course there are several alternatives. For instance the one you mentioned, the P+R in the Olympic stadium. It’s cheaper, but it’s about 10-15 minutes away. Due to the absence of a bathroom door, you are free to use the public toilets, which you can find on every floor opposite the elevator.
Thanks again for the review and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnaby, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

the location is the only reason the hotel did not get the lowest score. We stayed there for 3 nights, the rooms themselves are converted from office spaces. The bed itself is hard and not very comfortable, and the bathrooms have zero privacy. The shower floor it self was grimy and gross. The cleaning staff walks into rooms without ever knocking or announcing themselves. Also, don't bother with their 11 euro breakfast; to say the spread is pitiful is being kind. You can get a much better breakfast within a 5 minute walk down the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Hi there,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are very sorry to hear that your experience with our hotel has not been as expected.
Regarding the privacy in the bathroom, there is no door in the bathroom as you mentioned. You are always free to use the restrooms in front of the elevator which are on every floor.
It’s terrible to hear that the cleanliness of the room was not up to the Qbic standard, we will make sure this doesn’t happen again.
The breakfast that we offer is a basic, healthy start of the day. It is a buffet with essentials so can start exploring Amsterdam. Of course there are lovely places in the direct environment where you can enjoy breakfast.
We hope to see you again, so we can show you what a Qbic experience really is.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts, UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here over the Easter weekend with my boyfriend. Have been to Amsterdam a few times before and stayed right near Dam Square. Hadn't necessarily realised this was as far out of the main strip, however this def. didn't and wouldn't put me off returning. Yes it does take about 15-20 minutes to get into Central station via tram, but the transport is so efficient there and regular. The hotel itself is quite large, situated next door to the World Trade centre. On arrival we couldn't find anyone to help us check in, but eventually someone came out and allocated us a room. The rooms are simply WOW. SO glad I chose this place. We did opt for a room with a window as the thought of one without was not for me, however it literally was just glass. Didn't open and constantly had the curtain shut so no difference I suppose. We did see a room with window that faced the front of the building whilst they were cleaning it and I would go for that next time. Its so quirky and fun. Do note tho...if you are going away with someone you haven't known for that long...the bathroom has NO door so no privacy. It literally is just a walk in area. We did have problems with hot water, ie there was non!!! and spoke to reception about it. They had a boiler problem and apologised. We had hot water in the night but back to freezing the following day. They did apologise but I would have liked to have moved rooms as it only affected certain rooms in the hotel. I guess it was full!!? Bed was seriously comfortable so had a lovely sleep. Would highly recommend this hotel. Just be aware if you go out and stay out late you do need to get back and tram is the only method of transport...or long walk! We got a taxi one night and it's only 20Euro all the way back from Central station area - not bad at all. Will definitely return to this quirky find. Good value for money. Doesn't disappoint.

Room Tip: go for a room with window on the front. Much bigger and lighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QbicHotelsAmsterdam, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
We appreciate that you took the time to write a review, thank you! Most of our rooms have windows, but unfortunately the WTC policy is that the rooms must be kept closed. The public transport from the hotel to the city center and back is indeed very convenient. There is also a night bus that goes from Central Station and Leidseplein to the hotel every 30 minutes during the night, I’m sorry we did not mention this! Also our sincere apologies for the water problem. I am glad to inform you that we were able to fix this a day later! We hope to see you next time, so we can show you a perfect stay with a hot shower ;)



Kind regards, Anouk Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Good decent rooms, but the lighting in the room is bad. Bathrooms have no privacy, which doesnt go well will all kinds of customers, but if you are a lone traveller, it should be a good place for you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QbicHotelsAmsterdam, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We are glad you liked the rooms but we are sorry that not everything met up to your expectations. We have extra lavatories on the hall way next to the elevator, you may use these as a guest of Qbic. Hope to see you again!



With kind regards, Anouk Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Was here with my boyfriend for 2 nights to tour the city of Amsterdam and go for the Keukenhof flower festival. The place is just a 3 minute walk from Amsterdam Zuid station and the nearest bus stop, very convenient.

The room was spacious, modern, and very comfortable. Not your usual hotel interior, but it served it's purpose well. Only problem is that there is no toilet door (they're going for an open space concept), so if you're coming with friends and you need your absolute bathroom privacy, do reconsider. Did not have breakfast provided by the hotel so I can't comment on food, but the hotel staff were friendly and approachable. Hairdryer available upon request.

Will definitely recommend this to other couples looking for an affordable and convenient stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QbicHotelsAmsterdam, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Thank you for this great review! We like that you had a good time in Qbic and in Amsterdam. The flowers at Keukenhof are gorgeous, aren’t they? Thanks for all the compliments on the rooms and our staff. For next time, we have extra lavatories in the hall way opposite of the elevators which you can use!



We are looking foward to welcome you again soon!



Kind regards, Anouk Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.