We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow brilliant hotel that surprised me” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Save Saved
You added Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wow brilliant hotel that surprised me”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I was dubious when I booked this hotel as it says the lights change different colours in the room. Yes they do, but this just added to the atmosphere. The bed is one half of a cube then the bathroom is the other half.... the mattresses are deep comfy and luxurious with an in built tv in the cube.. Floors are wooden with a modern sofa chair and also a breakfast bar and stools. The rooms were very clean and the whole hotel a an unusual clean smell throughout. Free use of the computer in the downstairs lobby, when you can get breakfast and snacks. The hotel is situated in a mall, and so the entrance is not on the street. There is a cafe at the entrance, there is also food in the entrance of the rail station which is only about 10 metres away from the hotel. It is about half way from the airport and the centre of Amsterdam but as I said the train station is very close. A great experience and I would go there again without question.

Room Tip: see the website as it has a video of the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Cardiff,

Good to hear that this was a good experience for you! Your review will be much appreciated by future guests! Good to be a budget design hotel for you :). Did you know that we are also a few minutes walk from a big shopping centre at “Gelderlandplein “



With kind regards, Luisana Kocks Team Qbic Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    398
    186
    63
    42
See reviews for
20
406
87
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel as a birthday present for my partner and he was not disappointed. The hotel was clean, close to attractions and was in a great position. Very budget friendly and great for a city break. There is a supermarket around the corner for supplies and a wagamamas down the road if you do not want to venture too far out for dinners.

Would recommend to all!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Thornton,



“A 21st birthday present that will not be forgotten” Good that we could be included in your memories of turning 21 years old! This is a important age , so I hope you spent it well! Our future guests will be very glad with the tips you left for them. Thank you for leaving this review and I hope to see you on your 22nd birthday!



With kind regards,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We loved this place, although it was a 15 min tram ride out of the centre is was very accsesable using public transport (tram no.5 from central) The interor design was amazing, bang upto date and the staff where very helpful and allowed us to check in 3 hrs early because our rooms had been cleaned. It was good to get out of the centre and is just opens your eyes as what Amsterdam really has to offer away from the strip... Only down side could be the lack of a door on the shower / loo room... Could be an issue for some, or a little fun for others!!
All in all, fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: We loved the self serve bar using vending machines... Open till late!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Hudsonlee,

Haha indeed a lack of a bath room door could be a issue for some or a little fun for others! It all depends on the person that is staying. Glad that you could check in a little earlier so you could explore the great city of Amsterdam! Thank you for the compliments and we hope to welcome you once again in Qbic Amsterdam.


With kind regards,

Sander Gerets
Team Qbic Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We really liked this hotel, the room was clean and well designed (minus the lack of toilet door .., but there are easily accessible alternative toilets in the hall for, erm, functions you would be maybe more shy about if sharing a room...) Staff were friendly and helpful. Had a little difficulty locating it, but it is inside the WTC building - literally straight out of the metro station. In a nice area, not close to town but only a couple of minutes from the train station/ tram station, with only a 10 minute ride into city centre. The mood lighting and room concept was relaxing, once you got the lights on the right setting! Really would recommend! Only bad point was the lack of opening windows - but wasn't too hot anyway

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QbicHotelsAmsterdam, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello!



WOW! What a nice recommendation! Great to hear that you had such a good stay. Did you enjoy the city as well? Unfortunately the WTC policy is that all windows must be kept closed.

Our location is indeed easy accessible, with the train station within walking distance. Every hour there are several direct trains to Schiphol airport, and tram 5 will take you to the city centre within 10 minutes. We hope to see you again soon!



With kind regards, Anouk Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed at Qbic for two nights in March. Location is great though no where near walking distance to Dam square. You have to take a tram or train - both of which are 5 minutes walks from the hotel. The hotel is clean and staff are helpful. I stayed in the basic room and not having a window in the room was bit annoying for me, as I usually like to get natural light in the room. It felt bit like a prison.

The led nights are a great idea and it adds to the Amsterdam flavour, but having few other options for normal lighting should be considered too. At one point on Sunday morning the hotel fire alarm went off so not sure what that was for - if it was testing they should forewarn staff!!! The beds are great but they seem to have two mattress joined together to be a double bed - I stayed in room 115 and felt I kept falling in the gap in the middle. Room was very cold too but staff did give me a heater. Overall would stay again but with window rooms and ideally only good if it's a 2-3 days stay, not more.

Room Tip: Tram 5 from behind the station to main attraction. Only 5minutes to the airport via a train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QbicHotelsAmsterdam, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Hello,



Thank you for your honest review! We are very sorry for any inconvenience the fire alarm caused by going off Sunday morning.
It’s great to hear that you would stay again. We have got a whole new floor since October with brand new rooms. These have normal lighting, maybe you want to try one of those next time? Also your tip will be much appreciated by future guests!



Please let me now when you are coming to visit us again, then we will show you a perfect stay!



Kind regards, Anouk Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

This hotel was definitely funky in design, totally loved the lampshades and wall designs. The bathroom was small but very usable. All in all, loved the rooms. The bed was also very comfortable.

The location was in the business district and a bit hard to find late at night, but we did not feel unsafe in that area. In fact, it was nicer to be there than in the tourist hub with lots of late night goings on. We had a little confusion with being let in at night as one of the electronic systems did not work, but it was all okay in the end. It is easily accessible by tram.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Hi,

Thank you very much for sharing your Qbic experience with us and our future guests.
Great to hear that you loved our funky design.
The WTC can be a bit quiet at night, but there’s a lot to see and do during the day. Did you know you can also find Qbic in London?

Hope to see you again soon.

With kind regards,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel has an interesting minimalistic concept and is located very near to the station Zuid. Everything is compacted into one room, which surprisingly works quite well. Yet unfortunately most of the interior is rather dark, as there is almost no source of natural light.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Hi,



Thank you for writing this review. The Qbic Hotel concept as you mentioned is quite minimalitic. We provide all the basics in one giant “cube”. We tend to keep the room dark so our LED lighting comes out better en changes the mood in the room completely. If you are going to do some more Amsterdam exploring you’ll know where to find us. Hope to see you soon.


All the best,

With kind regards,

Stephan Schothuis
Team Qbic Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.