We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap and funky but you get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC to your Saves list
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cheap and funky but you get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I liked the informal atmosphere and the price was very reasonable, plus convenient for the train station and university. Decor was very funky and urban. But the bed was uncomfortable as it sloped towards the gap between two mattresses in the middle. The changing colored lights were nice looking but a pain to read by and flickered. There was not enough space to put stuff in the bathroom, one narrow shelf all my things kept falling off. The croissant at breakfast was very dry, did not seem fresh and I couldn't finish it. Staff were very friendly. Free wifi. OK may be for one night but would not stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Jo,

First of my sincere apologies for your discomfort in both the bed and breakfast. This is definitely not our standard of performance, I am really sorry. We always bake the croissant fresh in the morning and we will focus on this. We checked the beds, thank you for noticing and for telling us.

We appreciate your compliment for the staff, thank you! You can call us for the bigger rooms and new bathrooms, with more space for your stuff! Please call us for special requests or help in your tour in Amsterdam, we love to do anything we can.


Tip : You can change the light on the first floor in any light or function you want!



With kind regards,



Anouk Willems

Service Manager

Qbic Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    441
    200
    69
    46
See reviews for
24
477
92
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

this hotel is a good price and gives you a comfortable bed (if you have a bad back) HOWEVER this was my first trip abroad and having stayed in a few hotels in England I expected very much the same standards of cleaning as we have here. I was mortified at how dirty my room was. The first thing I did was use the toilet and discovered a few hairs on the seat, then having to remake the bed I found so many hairs and dirt underneath the overlay mattress it made me feel dirty sleeping on the bed. if you are anti-germ at all this is a no go for you! Then there was the issue of being woken up at 2 in the morning twice in a row because some sod didn't want to tell his 'lady friend' to keep it down. I do have to compliment the staff as they were helpful polite and facilitating :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Gwenn,

Thank you for your honest review and compliments for us!

My sincere apologies for all your inconvenience. I regret that your room was not as clean as it should be, this is not how our standard of cleaning should be! I will speak with our cleaning company about this, sorry to learn about this after you left! Should you come back, we do offer coffee and tea at the lobby. Again, we are really sorry your stay was a bit disappointing. We hope you do come back, so we can show you a better stay, do not hesitate to call us.

With kind regards,
Luisana Kocks Team
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Th QBIC hotel was a lovely place to stay me and my friend shared the qubi room which was great! LED light panel to control the mood lights and an overall great room. The location is about 15mins away from central station on the M5 tram or the tube from Zuid station which doesn't cost a lot either which is lovely because you can stop off and walk around the towns and do some sight seeing! Overall I would recommend this place to stay for friends/couples who want a retro budget hotel not too far from the centre on dam. Thanks for a lovely stay QBIC hotel hopefully be back soon!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Service Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear guest,



Wow! It’s so great to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Qbic Amsterdam! We love making our guests feel at home atQbic. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. You are welcome to call us for the next reservation! Can we help you with anything else? A bike or a start of the day with sports & sight seeing?




We hope to welcome you back at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam!



With kind regards,

Anouk Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Qbic Hotel Amsterdam for a long weekend. We both really enjoyed our stay! The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was pretty cool, with a unique kind of bed which lit up red (felt a bit strange to sleep in after having walked round the famous Red Light District, but anyway...) and had a bathroom attached (without a door...odd). But all in all it was extremely comfortable and we had everything we needed. The breakfast was very nice and thankfully was served until 11am, giving enough time for a bit of a lie-in. It was easy to get into the centre of town, we just hopped on the number 5 tram which took about 15 minutes to get to near Dam square. Although the hotel is right near a busy road and the Zuid station, it was surprisingly very quiet and we were not disturbed by the noise at all! Only a few very minor complaints, that the room was a little too warm for our liking and the windows did not open and there was a mysterious beeping noise coming from somewhere during the 2nd night which was a bit irritating! But nevertheless, a great hotel! We would happily stay there again, if only it were a little closer to the city centre!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Guest Relations Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Beatrix ,

Great to hear you have had such a good stay with us . A pretty cool room with a unique kind of bed which lit up red , a perfect explanation of one of our rooms . This would much appreciated by future guest ! Unfortunately the WTC policy is that the window’s are not allowed to open . Sorry that we didn’t offer you an other room or fix the air conditioner on site . My sincere apologies for the beeping noise , we will make sure to find out where that came from !

Thank you and we really do hope to see you again at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam or maybe London! With kind regards, Anouk Willems Team Qbic Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

It was extremely practical because the hotel was two floors of the modern tower block in which we were working! It was also clean and modern, but beyond that it was spartan in the extreme and the rooms were cubicles, often with no windows and a shower & toilet corner. A bed, tv and wifi and that's yer lot. You get what you pay for I suppose and it was practical for the Amsterdam Zuid metro, bus and train stations, the shops and eating places around it and as a base from which to visit Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Fredo,

YES..thank you, practical is perfect :) and the kind of business hotel we like to be for the WTC at the south ashes. You pay for what you get and of course we have free wifi. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience! Most of our rooms have views, so if you call or email us next time we will make sure to meet your room preferences. Please do not hesitate to do this! Your review will be much appreciated by future guests and we would love to welcome you back again in Amsterdam or maybe London!

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed 3 nights at the Qbic Hotel WTC at each end of a three-week bicycle tour. The first room we found quite narrow and awkward, especially as we had a tandem bicycle inside with us. (It was pretty good of the hotel though, to allow a bicycle in the room.) The lack of any light from or view to the outside, especially when combined with the jet lag, also made it rather disorienting. At the end of our tour we had a much larger room on the third floor, this one with a window, which was just fine for us. The staff were warm and helpful and we were very comfortable there.

Room Tip: We were more comfortable in the second room we were offered - more expensive, but it gave us the spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Hunter,

When our guests are happy, we are happy ! Thanks for your review and compliments for our team. I sincerely apologize for not having been able to solve your issue on site.(change to another room with windows) on the first night! Sorry, if you call us you can book a room with a view next time. Please do not hesitate to do this! Looking forward to your next visit, we will arrange new cycling routes! With kind regards ,

Stephan Schothuis Team Qbic Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very simple, clean & easy going hotel, such a relaxing atmosphere.
You are left alone but there is also someone there when needed, the staff are helpfull. & polte.
Rooms are smart & comfortable.
A 10-15 minute tram journey into town, pretty easy to work out.
Breakfast is simple & nice.
All in all a good experience & would use again (hence why I'm on here ...ready to book my next stay!)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Mark,

Perfect… helpful, comfort, good.. Only compliments :) Thank you for your review, great to read! It is a pleasure to have you back in our hotel any time soon, so we can show you a perfect stay once again! Please do not hesitate to call or email concerning your preferences in room. You can try one of our new Qbic rooms?

Looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards , Stephan Schothuis Team Qbic Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.