We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, funky and hip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC to your Saves list
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #145 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, funky and hip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my mum for 3 nights. The people at reception were absolutely lovely and welcoming, although there wasn't really a 'bar' as such the vending machines offered a brilliant range of crisps, chocolate, drinks (including alcohol) and utilities such as shower gel and shower caps, quite highly priced though. Was a little tiny bit disappointing that the lights on our bed were stuck on blue, but we thought that was fab anyway! Was able to watch BBC One (UK) and cable such as CNN and MTV, reception excellent too. I was astonished with the modern-ness of the hotel and that it didn't look try hard modern. It was perfect for a few nights stay, very close to Zuid station with a train directly from Schipol. The tram stop is minutes away so easy access into Central Amsterdam. Cannot praise the staff enough, and the fact we were dressing when housekeeping arrived, then went out and came back to see they had been in and cleaned our room!! Shower was lovely, bathroom could do with a door of some description but otherwise we were extremely happy with the hotel in general and are looking forward to visiting the new Qbic hotel on our trips up to London. Pretty sure we'll see you again, thank you for a brilliant stay x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Bristolgirlella,

Thanks so much for leaving a review . The staff would be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope you come back soon

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    438
    200
    69
    46
See reviews for
24
476
92
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

stayed here mid august with 3 other friends (2rooms). arrived late but staff were there for our check in. rooms are pretty trippy - although make sure ur 'close' with ur room buddy coz there is no door on the bathroom / toilet. pillows were a bit poor and the bed is 2 single matresses pushed together but everything else was fine. a frigde would have been great.

towels and room clean everyday. my friends who stayed in the other room were disapointed with the cleaners as they left a 'nasty note' because there was a very small amout of water spashed onto the floor (wooden floorboards). this will happen when u have a shower with no door and a doorless bathroom.

i loved the location. its in the business distric so weekends is very dead but during the week there are pubs, resturants (wagamamas, burger king etc), shops and starbucks right outside ur door. we got a 4 day tram pass for about 40euro to get around - tram is 3 min walk and train 1 min walk. post office is right there too if u need to send stuff home due to too much shopping (staff there are excellent).

dont bother having breakfast here - go to starbucks.

vending machines in the foyer with everything u might need and a laundromat is a 10min walk away (dry cleaners in the building next door).

easy to get to the airport by train.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Alana J ,

Thanks so much for the feedback. I will personally look into the concerns you raised and make sure improvements are made.

Have a nice day !

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing for a hotel awarded design prizes.
Seems like it wasn't maintained, renovated nor cleaned since 2007.
Ripped sheets, cheap curtains, lights not working, cleanliness standards unacceptable. Nobody to greet you, self check in not working.
Can't adjust temperature either .
Design is cool, but if the room is falling apart, what's the point?

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Gabin04,

Thank you very much for your, critical, feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had wished for. Would you be able to send us an email to management@qbichotels.com so we can get in contact with you?

Kind regards,

D. Klaassen
Team Qbic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Firstly QBIC is in a great spot to get to and from Schipol Airport on the train. Just one stop and roughly 10 mins away. QBIC is less than 5 mins walk from the train station.
Tram into Leidseplein is roughly 20 mins away with plenty of lovely things to look at out the window on the way. Hotel is less than 5 mins walk from the tram stops.
Rooms themselves are quirky, cool and definitely do the job.
The beds are super comfy and so long that my 6'8 husband was able to sleep on it comfortably.
There are no windows which wasn't an issue for a short stay but might become a bit much for a longer stay. No issues with the long summer sun when having an early night though!
As mentioned many times before, no toilet door. This is either an issue for you or isn't I guess - not a drama at all for us though.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear ChonyBails,

Great to hear you have had such a good stay with us.
Your contribution is hopefully much appreciated by future guests!

Kind Regards,

Luisana Kocks
Team Qbic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our return trip to this hotel and the experience was as positive as the first time. When we last came, there was no closet in the room and this time the hotel has added a coat rack, a chest of (open) drawers and a safe. What is still missing is a door on the bathroom so when you go to the toilet, you may need to generate some background noise (turn the TV on, run water in the handbasin to avoid sharing more than you want with your loved one.

The very nice feature is the possibility to sleep on a deluxe Hästens bed that costs a fortune. Sleeping on this bed the first time made me realise that my back isn't the real problem, my bed is. A good point is the hotel's location, very close to train station Zuid (one stop away from Schiphol airport) and very close to tram 5 that will bring you in 15 minutes to Leidseplein and the Grachtengordel. The WTC complex has a few nice cafés and take-away shops but they are only open on week days, as most of the people coming to the complex are office workers. The hotel can be hard to find: coming from the train station via the exit with a Starbucks on the right, turn to the left immediately and walk 50 meters looking for the small red cube that indicates the hotel's entrance.

So I would recommend the hotel either for a business trip (someone travelling alone) or for a romantic trip for a couple that wants to sleep on a Hästens bed for a price that can't be beat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Erik V ,

Thank you first of all for your elaborate response. We apologize for the small inconveniences you’ve encountered.
We hope to be welcoming you once more !

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Qbic hotel at the end of June 2013. It was by far the worst experience we have ever had in a hotel, b&b or anything for that matter. When we checked in to my room number 101 I found a lot of hairs all over the bed and the sheets had clearly not been changed and you could smell it had been slept in which was very off putting. The duvet was badly stained with a variety of filth yellow, brown, etc -god know what- and when I started to look closer things got worse. There was what I can only describe as 'sick' down the side of the bed and various bodily hairs stuck to the wall by the bed. It was disgusting. When I complained to the night manager at approx. 9pm I was fobbed off - it was never cleaned despite it being raised with them??? The night receptionist generally could not care less and never even offered an apology. He said we could not be moved as they were no more rooms. We were told that all rooms were cleaned before each guest arrived and he made out like we were lying or something and just repeated that all rooms are cleaned before each guest arrives. Obviously if we were saying it has not been done that it has not been done! We invited him to come and see but his 'don't give a dam attitude' clearly prevented him bothering to even look. He then said there weren't any cleaning staff to clean it anyway. We then had to ASK for clean sheets - having just heard that they were dirty you would expect the first thing he would do would be to offer us new sheets, but no nothing. We were eventually given new sheets after repeated asking for them. The next day we were given a small bottle (1glass although two of us) of wine with a note apologising. There was a total lack of care and a 'your bothering me' attitude by night receptionist. The floor in the room was also dirty with sand or similar even after apparently being cleaned and if you ran you finger along any surface the place was covered in dust. We are not fussy people but expect somewhere to be of a reasonable standard or at minimum clean. Very poor standard of cleanliness and shockingly bad service. Also no adjustable aircon and no windows - it felt hot and stuffy and we did not get a good nights sleep- not a nice stay at all. We complained again and he did not care ad refuse to turn the aircon down - we were given a fan but it was no use as it just circulated the same hot stagnant air. We resorted to holding the room door open to get some fresh air from the hallway but its hardly how you want to speed an evening. Terribly disappointed as looked great on webpage. Q-bic? Q-sic more like.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, General Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Kasia,

We are shocked to read your review; what poor service did we provide to you!

Please note that we have taken action; the night receptionist is as per direct no longer a member of our Qbic Staff and the cleaining service has been upgraded with a full time supervisor who will check each room before they are rented to our guests.

Please send me a direct e-mail to; rino@qbichotels.com as a want to, at least try to, give you the appropriate compensation.

I a feel really shamed for the poor service you have been given by us!

My most sincere appologies,

Rino Soeters, Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel tried to look like a fancy design hotel with coloured lighting. In reality is was a very dark place with no windows and no daylight at all. Compared to Citizen M hotel at Schiphol Airport, this place wasn't nearly as nice, nevertheless it cost a bit more.
Early in the morgning (arround 8.00 on a saturday) very noisy builders started to work in room close by, so much for the night rest. Staff was friendly but not very helpful.
Rooms were quite big.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear FerryZonnevylle,

We sincerely apologize for your disappointing stay with us.
We would be glad if you get in contact us with us via management@qbichotels.com.

Kind regards,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.