We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Budget Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Save Saved
You added Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, Amsterdam 1077, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #157 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Budget Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is located in the business district which, while it has some nice restaurants right outside the door, is very quiet (so great for a good nights sleep) but the tram and metro are a 30 second walk from the door of the hotel and really easy to use. The hotel itself has more positive points than negative and considering the price we paid I thought it was a fantastic bargain!
Positive points:
Decent sized room, great price
, very clean and relatively quiet, televison
Negatives:
No toilet door (although the toilet is behind the bed so it's not too intrusive), the double bed was actually 2 single mattresses pushed together, the staff aren't particularly helpful

In general I would recommend this to any young couple doing a budget trip as we were doing, or students going travelling

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window, we had one but I have heard some of them don't which could make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    394
    186
    63
    41
See reviews for
20
400
86
140
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is a "funky" hotel that we enjoyed on an overnight stay. We would rate it highly except for its cleaning & maintenance (but don't stay here if you like having a door to your en suite bathroom/toilet - there is none). The pair of pillows provided were also inadequate.

We found the cleaning lousy, e.g. one side of the bed was a flat panel against the wall and it was covered in dust (a little hard to reach?) and we found an empty camera box behind a chair. Overall, it looked like cleaning was perfunctory at best.

I noticed that the bedroom light was set into the wall above the bed at an unusual angle. I found out why when I tried to switch the lights off - the switch fell into the wall cavity and I had to retrieve it by reaching in for the power cord then pulling it up. Fortunately, there were no short circuits.

Another issue is the check in which is supposed to be self-service. You're supposed to ring for a check-in code before arrival. We rang but were assured that the code was no longer required. We arrived early and the one staff member present told us check-in codes were still in use and that we must have spoken to someone in "head office" who didn't know what they were talking about. Fortunately, he soon checked us in and a little earlier than we were entitled to. He deserves full marks for friendly efficient service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

An awsome place to stay with excellent single handed people handling the entire hotel always ready to help and guide through to amsterdam....
Good location although away from the city but full accessible to metro / tram & buss @ 2 mins distance...
I had forgotten my bag which i realise only after i reached paris....they were propmt in checking and arranging to courier the same as well...

i would look forward to staying here again

Room Tip: its a discotheque in your room...so doesn't actually matter ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

While it's well outside central Amsterdam (2 trains away), for what I paid I can't complain. The room was very clean, absolutely huge (never stayed in a room as big), lovely comfy bed, fun rooms, nice and quiet. Very close to the station and a few shops. Staff were friendly and helpful. Don't stay here with someone you're not incredibly comfortable with because there is no door on the bathroom! If I came to Amsterdam again I'd stay somewhere more central, but if you're on a budget it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet area which seems like the business district so there was nothing open around the area on the weekend. Good thing is that there there is quick and easy access via trains, trams and bussess to anywhere you want to go.

Good concept for a hotel. Seems they took a qube with a bed and and a bathroom and placed it into an empty room.

Room was spacious and comfortable with a comfy chair to kind a lounge if you didn't want to be. In the bed, as well as shelf with bar stools where you could work or eat comfortably.

Just seemed a little impersonable. Hardly any staff around. One staff mentioned that I could have checked myself in at the kiosk because there was no staff around when I arrived. I did to have to wait for more than approximately 5 minutes.

Good room for the money... Well worth it. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Easy and quick to get to city. Self check in available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Firstly, yes, I agree with the fact that the Rooms are funky/hip ... the little extra features do make it unique in the sense that these added feature create a different type of atmosphere for a hotel - However, the rooms ("hotel") lack functionality .... besides the safe that is in the room.
- No cupboard space whatsoever.
- No Iron / coffee-tea facilities / hair dryer in the room
- No soap bars/conditioner/shower caps/ear buds
- No air-con/heating control
- No Slippers / Bath mat/towel
- No bar bridge

Thus making it a 2 star category, the only gadget that saves it from falling into the 2star zone is the safe. Moreover, you are bound to get lost .... its almost a guarantee - as there are several exits - which are not clearly marked. It takes a good 15-20 minutes to get from tram stop (zuid) into the centre (flower market) by tram (line 5).

In other words, if you expect the usual extra's such as conditioner/slippers/hair dryer etc .... be sure to take along your own (extra luggage) in the case of a business trip. In addition, all shops in the vicinity close after midnight - meaning you are stranded - unless you take a cab into the centre. The vending machines are limited, and as in our case, was not functioning. No telephone in the room, or any reading material / instructions / facility card.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, Amsterdam 1077, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.