We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are mice in the room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Damrak 58-59, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #225 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
“There are mice in the room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has mice. They said to us don't take any good in the room. However my friend took a diet supplement which was vacuum stored powder shake in a bag in his case. During my last night at around half 4 I awoke to a mouse running across the room and holes in the shake bag. The friend and I went down to confront the receptionist and he decided to blame this incident on us. I do not advise staying here....

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    29
    53
    32
    73
See reviews for
11
37
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

*Do not trust this hotel* We got to the hotel to be told that they had cancelled our booking and given our room to someone else because the price we were quoted on hostelworld was wrong. They told me that an e-mail had been sent to inform me, i later found out that it was sent the evening before we flew out. They had taken it upon themselves to book us into a new hotel at a much higher price than we had agreed to pay at damrak. Asked for deposit back but tehy said its nothing to do with them

Room Tip: Do not stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The access to the rooms in the building was extremely difficult. Many steep stairs that were not even straight up. With heavy bags it was really a problem. The evening sleeping was not very good as there are doors in the hallways that the other guest were shutting all night. If you opened your window to get some cool air, we heard men talking like they were in our room with us. Not a good night sleep after a 20 hour trip from the US.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights, booked a single room and was pleased to find that the room was clean, had a double bed, and a clean bathroom.
For location it can't be beat as you are near everything.
I would stay here again..... Great location... clean room... No frills. Free wifi

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

There are several hotels with similar names around here. The one this refers to is Budget Hotel Damrak Inn.

Its a few minutes walk from the station, right in the middle of everything and walking distance of most of Amsterdam's sights, so the location is great if that is what you need.

The hotel is the upper floors of a shop in an old building with extremely steep and narrow staircases to access rooms which are perhaps not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

My room was very small but adequately equipped with a clean bathroom, a television and slightly erratic wi-fi.

It doesn't do breakfast or any other food.

Room Tip: The fourth and fifth floors are a very long climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and would definitely recommend it. As per all the other reviews this hotel does have steep stairs and a smell of chips due to it being above a chip shop but this wouldn't stop me staying again. Rooms were basic but very clean and has everything you would need. Staff were very helpful and friendly. If you want somewhere that is cheap (for the excellent location), basic to sleep then look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 58-59, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #225 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.