We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible - Dirty, noisy and old” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Damrak 58-59, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #242 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Portugal
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Horrible - Dirty, noisy and old”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We were in a tiny room, where windows were not used for anything.
The room was quite noisy, and always with light curtains are very bad.
Bed linen was ok, but under beds and next to nothing ever should have been cleaned, they disgust!!
The bathroom was ok.
I do not recommend because it is impossible to sleep in this hotel.

Room Tip: never choose a room to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    48
    31
    67
See reviews for
10
31
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sing
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The location of this hotel is very close to the Amsterdam Central Station, about 5 mins walk. It is within walking distant to most tourist spots and it is easy to get food nearby. Other than location there is nothing about this hotel. To get to the hotel you have to climb up a very very steep stairs, which is spiral at the top. It is dangerous with heavy luggage. We had a room on the 4th floor, that was more climbing with heavy luggages. The room we had is about enough space for 3 single bed, there was hardly any space for luggages (on the floor). The toilet was narrow. If location is all you're after that's ok, other than that there's nothing much about this hotel. We did not need to use any form of public transport while at this hotel. But we did go on the hop-on-hop-off bus, my advice is don't take it, it is a rip-off. The interval from one bus to the next is about 30 min sometimes as long as 40 min. If you missed it, you had to wait 30 to 40 min, that's ridiculous. We waited for almost 40 min at the Heineken stop. We wanted to go to the floating flower market, but the driver for some reason were rushing and did not stop at the floating flower market, we ended up at the train station stop. When we confronted him he said it is only 15 min walk back (the weather was cold). Driver like that should be fired!

Room Tip: easy to find food around the hotel. Don't take the hop-on-hop-off, it's a rip-off.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Visited with 4 friends, stayed in a room for 5. The rooms were clean and beds really comfortable. Clean towels & bedding each day. Small bathroom.
Very central location.
The staff were relatively friendly and no more attitude or anything than most Dutch have towards English folks. I lost my boarding pass and the guy on reception printed me another one off so that was pretty helpful. We were also allowed to leave luggage in a large cupboard all day.
If you want luxury and food don't come here but if you want something cheap and clean its perfect.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Like a crystall maze.Didnt know where my room was.Climb up like mount everset with my luggage.Believe it,in Amsterdam,I was sweating carrying the bags.Absolutely no help from anybody.No WI FI,it was not working.Finally,the receptionist asked me go to another hotel to get connected.Off all these many stays,this was the worst!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed here with 4 friends. We managed to get a room for five so we could all be together. The location was fine and the room was fine for what we wanted - cheap and cheerful. We were within walking distances from most places and if not the tram stop isn't far away. We also walked from the train station.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

You shouldn't be called inn if you don't have a pub on the ground floor, right?. They had a chips shop!

The hotel receptionists couldn't even speak Dutch. Amsterdam is still the Netherlands, right?

They insisted I left the room keys in the reception, but my sister (who they have never seen cause we did not arrive at the same time) asked the keys and they didn't even check who she was, so off it goes for safety. The room was incredibly tiny, so was the whole hotel.

There was some steep stairs to the second and third floors where we had to do crazy maneuvers to get the bags upstairs. The place was even smaller than Anne Frank's annex appartment!

Avoid at all costs! If out of options take the train station benches instead!

Room Tip: Somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

-Fairly nice room
-Smelt a little bit of chip fat only on first floor, but the chips from the place below where pretty nice
-pillows where crap but bed was okay
-nice woman at desk
-tv with good channels (comedy central)
-Location was great walking distance to all coffee shops + red light district

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 58-59, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.