We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep away! Owned by an evil family” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Oude Taveerne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added De Oude Taveerne to your Saves list
De Oude Taveerne
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Milan, Italy
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Keep away! Owned by an evil family”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Rooms are too dirty. A lot of pests and spiders in beds and ceilings.
Keep away!
There are much better places around that area. We moved to a better place and the owner did not agree to refund!
Bad people!

Room Tip: Keep away. Very horrible place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    18
    7
    4
    10
See reviews for
17
27
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner and I had dinner at 'De Oude Taveerne' for Restaurant Week but unfortunately it didn't look like the price reflected the 3-course meal of Restaurant Week (27,50 euros). They just charged us the usual menu prices, which I found was quite pricey for the quality. Edible but below average for the quality. It really felt like eating (tin) supermarket food in a pub and everything was big portion: eg: the starter soup looked like a main course and didn't taste great and the cheese platter was made of cheap quality cheese cut in big slices.
However, the service was good enough and the place was quite 'gezellig'/cosy to finish the evening in Durgerdammer, a picturesque little village in the north of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

You're only 20 minutes away from central station by bike. After spending a really wild day in the city during king's day, a quite night in the beautiful fishermen's village is perfect. The lake view, cyclists, and the old style interiors is amazing. Food is great and staff even greater.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here based upon the fab ratings on Trip Advisor, but found it to be below average at best. Firstly, the family room was dated and the carpet was old. The room was only cleaned after two days (after a complaint); this wasn't great as the entire room for the family was only about 15m squared at most. There was also no phone connection to reception.

Although not the hotel's fault, the stench of manure outside the hotel (as there were lots of free range chickens and other animals around) was really off putting.

We chose this hotel for the wifi and car park - the wifi only worked in the hotel area, and not in the far away room we were staying and the carpark was 10 Euros per day (as expected).

Breakfast was fresh bread with thin slices of ham and cheese, but very boring after the first morning; extras was expensive and dinner wasn't great and expensive - a shame as we expected to eat there every night and had dinner in Amsterdam every night (15min drive away) instead.

Maybe we were very unlucky, but for over 130 Euros per night, we expected a little better...

Room Tip: Do not get the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

is rustic, old, small .. but that's the beauty of them! Located a few kilometers from Amsterdam, in a tiny town of former fishermen with an unpronounceable name (Durgerdammerdijk), this hotel with pub \ tavern, has a magnificent view over a lake (artificial) the most beautiful I've seen. the staff is helpful and friendly, the beer is good and the rooms are small but clean. The cost is reasonable. The bad thing is that it is badly connected with Amsterdam: there are only 2 buses a day, which do not go on holidays, or you have to call a taxi to come to Amsterdam and the price is quite high. If you do not have a car I do not recommend it. Instead, if you want to spend a weekend in relax in a place postcard, that's great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we stopped in for lunch and found it so cozy and warm! We biked on the dikes on a cold November day, and stopped in to the Tavern to warm up. The dutch pea soup was delicious - full of sausage and potatoes - and so savory. What a great little respite after biking 15 miles in the cold wind. Very relaxing and great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place to stay for us. Nearby all activities . But still a very local hotel next to the water.
We found a nice hotel with beatiful rooms, nice breakfast a good snackplatter with a beer!
Coffee and pie! And a good meal.

Nice stay at de oude taveerne

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to De Oude Taveerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Taveerne

Address: Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — De Oude Taveerne 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Taveerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oude Taveerne Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Oude Taveerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.