We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been better...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of De Oude Taveerne

Save Saved
You added De Oude Taveerne to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Oude Taveerne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Should have been better...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here based upon the fab ratings on Trip Advisor, but found it to be below average at best. Firstly, the family room was dated and the carpet was old. The room was only cleaned after two days (after a complaint); this wasn't great as the entire room for the family was only about 15m squared at most. There was also no phone connection to reception.

Although not the hotel's fault, the stench of manure outside the hotel (as there were lots of free range chickens and other animals around) was really off putting.

We chose this hotel for the wifi and car park - the wifi only worked in the hotel area, and not in the far away room we were staying and the carpark was 10 Euros per day (as expected).

Breakfast was fresh bread with thin slices of ham and cheese, but very boring after the first morning; extras was expensive and dinner wasn't great and expensive - a shame as we expected to eat there every night and had dinner in Amsterdam every night (15min drive away) instead.

Maybe we were very unlucky, but for over 130 Euros per night, we expected a little better...

Room Tip: Do not get the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    6
    4
    10
See reviews for
17
27
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

is rustic, old, small .. but that's the beauty of them! Located a few kilometers from Amsterdam, in a tiny town of former fishermen with an unpronounceable name (Durgerdammerdijk), this hotel with pub \ tavern, has a magnificent view over a lake (artificial) the most beautiful I've seen. the staff is helpful and friendly, the beer is good and the rooms are small but clean. The cost is reasonable. The bad thing is that it is badly connected with Amsterdam: there are only 2 buses a day, which do not go on holidays, or you have to call a taxi to come to Amsterdam and the price is quite high. If you do not have a car I do not recommend it. Instead, if you want to spend a weekend in relax in a place postcard, that's great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we stopped in for lunch and found it so cozy and warm! We biked on the dikes on a cold November day, and stopped in to the Tavern to warm up. The dutch pea soup was delicious - full of sausage and potatoes - and so savory. What a great little respite after biking 15 miles in the cold wind. Very relaxing and great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place to stay for us. Nearby all activities . But still a very local hotel next to the water.
We found a nice hotel with beatiful rooms, nice breakfast a good snackplatter with a beer!
Coffee and pie! And a good meal.

Nice stay at de oude taveerne

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

i booked this hotel for 2 nights and 2 rooms for my wife, my baby and 2 friends for a total cost of 435€ from booking.com and then non-refundable.
The first evening the room was already "occupied" by "insectes"(spiders and baby), i complaint to the reception and the guy took the insectes with the hand and told me : now this is clean.
I spoke to the hotel owner to get money back and refused because the room was clean for him.
As it was during the week end, the hotel was very noisy(bar just below to the rooms) and a lot of noise(music,bed...)
Then run away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Chose this hotel as did not want to be in the City Centre and fancied a 'small Amsterdam' feel. Two of us touring Europe on motorbikes stayed in August 2012 for 1 night.
The location is excellent, right on the waterfront, the bar and restaurant are frequented by locals and tourists alike. The beer and food were both very good. We had the Dutch Mussels in white wine and vegetables with french fries and bread on the side. All washed down with La Chouffe beer, excellent.
The hotel room was basic but comfortable and had everything you would need for a short stay. Beds were comfortable, en-suite and complimentary toiletries good.
Breakfast was a little basic, cold breads, cheese and ham but this is usual in Europe. Something hot would have been good.
I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stayed in the standard rooms out the back of the hotel. I imaging the rooms above the bar would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

With our two sons, 13 and 8 we didn't want to stay in Amsterdam proper, and this property fit the bill perfectly. We had family room 216 with bunk beds that had a great view out the window (though not of the water since we were on the backside of the new building).

Reading previous reviews let me know my parking options were their €10/night secured lot or parking at the edge of the village on the street. I chose the secured parking and have included a photo to show how nice it is.

We ate dinner at their restaurant the first night after having drinks on the beautiful pier. I thought the food was good, the service friendly and not overpriced, considering there are NO other restaurants for kilometers around.

This property is a close drive over to the Zeeburg Park and Ride, which was a great and inexpensive (€8 for parking and round trip) way to get into Amsterdam without risking messing up my rental Golf amidst all the trams, motorists and cyclists in the City.

Breakfast the first morning was a bit off...I had a dirty juice glass that was never filled, however we did get coffee and delicious hot chocolate for the kids. The next morning, orange juice found its way into the glass. My 8 year old, not familiar with European breakfasts quipped at the meat and cheese tray, "Is this our breakfast, or do we have to order yet?"

Alas, no eggs, despite their being a whimsical chicken coop in the garden area. There were also stray cats about that the kids enjoyed interacting with. There's also a small playground adjacent.

All in all, although twice the price of other hotels we stayed at...it is Amsterdam after all and it was a nice break from the run-of-the-windmill Novotels etc. that we stayed at on other nights during our little Benelux roadtrip, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to De Oude Taveerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Taveerne

Address: Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Taveerne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your De Oude Taveerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oude Taveerne Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Oude Taveerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;