We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible!!Horrible!!Rooms infected by insectes...” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Oude Taveerne

Save Saved
You added De Oude Taveerne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
De Oude Taveerne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #265 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Horrible!!Horrible!!Rooms infected by insectes...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

i booked this hotel for 2 nights and 2 rooms for my wife, my baby and 2 friends for a total cost of 435€ from booking.com and then non-refundable.
The first evening the room was already "occupied" by "insectes"(spiders and baby), i complaint to the reception and the guy took the insectes with the hand and told me : now this is clean.
I spoke to the hotel owner to get money back and refused because the room was clean for him.
As it was during the week end, the hotel was very noisy(bar just below to the rooms) and a lot of noise(music,bed...)
Then run away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    7
    6
    9
See reviews for
17
24
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Chose this hotel as did not want to be in the City Centre and fancied a 'small Amsterdam' feel. Two of us touring Europe on motorbikes stayed in August 2012 for 1 night.
The location is excellent, right on the waterfront, the bar and restaurant are frequented by locals and tourists alike. The beer and food were both very good. We had the Dutch Mussels in white wine and vegetables with french fries and bread on the side. All washed down with La Chouffe beer, excellent.
The hotel room was basic but comfortable and had everything you would need for a short stay. Beds were comfortable, en-suite and complimentary toiletries good.
Breakfast was a little basic, cold breads, cheese and ham but this is usual in Europe. Something hot would have been good.
I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stayed in the standard rooms out the back of the hotel. I imaging the rooms above the bar would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

With our two sons, 13 and 8 we didn't want to stay in Amsterdam proper, and this property fit the bill perfectly. We had family room 216 with bunk beds that had a great view out the window (though not of the water since we were on the backside of the new building).

Reading previous reviews let me know my parking options were their €10/night secured lot or parking at the edge of the village on the street. I chose the secured parking and have included a photo to show how nice it is.

We ate dinner at their restaurant the first night after having drinks on the beautiful pier. I thought the food was good, the service friendly and not overpriced, considering there are NO other restaurants for kilometers around.

This property is a close drive over to the Zeeburg Park and Ride, which was a great and inexpensive (€8 for parking and round trip) way to get into Amsterdam without risking messing up my rental Golf amidst all the trams, motorists and cyclists in the City.

Breakfast the first morning was a bit off...I had a dirty juice glass that was never filled, however we did get coffee and delicious hot chocolate for the kids. The next morning, orange juice found its way into the glass. My 8 year old, not familiar with European breakfasts quipped at the meat and cheese tray, "Is this our breakfast, or do we have to order yet?"

Alas, no eggs, despite their being a whimsical chicken coop in the garden area. There were also stray cats about that the kids enjoyed interacting with. There's also a small playground adjacent.

All in all, although twice the price of other hotels we stayed at...it is Amsterdam after all and it was a nice break from the run-of-the-windmill Novotels etc. that we stayed at on other nights during our little Benelux roadtrip, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overseas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel has an incredible location... and a great view from the restaurant/bar. There are benches outside and tables down by the water. It seems to be the only restaurant/bar in the area, so it can be quite busy. It has nice character with murals on the walls.

Our boys loved going up into the attic to sleep...they thought they were sleeping in a tree house. Our room was 103 over the back part of the restaurant with no view. Everything squeaked...the water temperature fluctuated uncontrollably and the sinks were too small to even shave in. The spacing was a bit cramped so if you are claustrophobic, the room (especially the bathrooms) would not work for you! The beds were not very comfortable and there was so much dust that you could see it floating in the air. We were all sneezing from the volume of particles in the air. Upstairs looked like it had not been vacuumed in a while and the over-head windows would not open...however, there were fans in the room.

The food was okay...70 Euros for 4 of us seemed over-priced...especially for what was ordered...however, you can not beat the view. The location was good to get to where we were going...not so far from things as well...either the city or Zanndam. So I give this place a 50 out of 100. It was culturally nice, but overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel, rooms, treatment, just horrible. The hotel far from the city, the hotel is old and dilapidated and employees do not sympathetic

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor and needing a nice place to stay for a 2 day visit to Amsterdam and surroundings, we decided to make inquiries about prices and room availability.
My email was answered by the owner who just referred me to his website. Not very helpful!........
We drove to the place to have a look for ourselves and we were welcomed by a very friendly and helpful manager who showed us all the available rooms and so we were satisfied and booked room 104 (called captain A. Haddock) at the front on the first floor for two days the next week on our return trip. A nice, spacious and cosy room. Old, wooden furniture, totally in style of an 19 century sea master. The mattresses could have been a touch more firmer, but that's also a matter of personal taste.
We had a lovely dinner, a giant sea sole poached in butter. Delicious, expensive but worth it!
Breakfast was simple. Very tasty Dutch coffee, white and whole grain slices of bread, cold cuts, old and young Dutch cheese, some marmalade and Dutch chocolate chips (hagelslag). They don't have a breakfast cook, so no eggs.
Internet WiFi is free.
Although an old place, they use modern technology such as RFID room cards and light switches reacting on movement.
All in all, Holland as it should be and a place we can wholeheartedly recommend.
Possibilities: The tourist office of Durgerdam has a nice parkour prepared that you can walk or bike.

Room Tip: Definitely the rooms at the front with sea view such as room 104 called captain A. Haddock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Oude Taveerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Taveerne

Address: Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Oude Taveerne 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your De Oude Taveerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oude Taveerne Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Oude Taveerne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.