We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant hospitality in lavish surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fusion Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fusion Suites
Save
You added Fusion Suites to your Saves list
Roemer Visscherstraat 40, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Elegant hospitality in lavish surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

It's all true, don't hesitate if you're looking for a quiet hotel to relax in after the huzzle and buzzle of Amsterdam's many attractions.
We stayed here in early July and were most impressed with the level of service and hospitality that Alex and Sharmila provide. It's a unique combination of classic and elegant surroundings, the hotel has 4 suites spread out over 2 floors in a fully restored late 19th century mansion, service and discretion.
Our family of 4 stayed here for 2 weeks. Because of our late booking, we had to move suites from time to time and as a result experienced all four, elegantly decorated rooms. The individual suites are all spacious and have a very personal tough. It's very easy to feel right at home. As mentioned by some of the other reviewers, where do you find this abundance of fresh flowers and orchids everywhere you go? In your room, in the bath room, in the breakfast room / reception / entry etc we loved the flowers; then there's the complementary champagne (perfectly timed by the proprietors), complementary red and white wine in your room, mini-bar, pc with wi-fi in every room, large comfortable beds, high thread count bed sheets, original artwork, carefully selected furniture and accessories, l'Occitane toiletries, writing desks, mahogany wardrobes (in the Classic Suites), it goes on and on.
We used Fusion Suites as our base to visit family and friends in The Netherlands, as well as show our children some of Amsterdam's great heritage. It's was just great. Alex and Sharmila made this the perfect home away from home for us and we're looking forward to our next stay ... I mean, where do you find a hotel where the management team get up at 6am to say goodbye and help you on your way? Thank you Alex and Sharmila!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
196
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2009

We decided on Fusion Suites after reading all the reviews on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed! the room (we had #4 on the third floor) was very large and clean. beautifully decorated and fully stocked. the champagne was a nice touch!
The location was very nice, just 5 mins from the center and very close to all the museums.
The breakfast was the BEST one we had in any Hotel.
It is a bit of a pricey choice (for us at least) but worth every penny, we would definitely come back here. Alex and Sharmila are the perfect hosts and the experience was totally great.

Ran&Vered

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We have just returned from 5 nights at Fusion Suites. As expected this small hotel was superb. We had the Grand Suite which is comfortable and beautifully decorated, making it a wee home away from home. The previous comments pretty much sum it all up... Sharmila and Alex are the quintessential hosts providing a warm welcome, gorgeous breakfasts, great restaurant recommendations and other local information and above all discretion and privacy. To stay in a wee place like this is what makes internet sites like this one worth their weight in gold....how would we ever find it on our own? We shy away from large hotels these days and Fusion Suites represents everything we look for in a place to stay. Thanks to Alex and Sharmila for running such a fabulous spot!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

If you like a beautifully decorated suite on a residential street three blocks from activities, then this is the place for you! We stayed in the grand suite and it was GRAND! The location is great since it is very close to the museums yet everything is in walking distance. Amsterdam is a village with charming canals, interesting architecture, shopping, good food and lots of fun!
Have a great time!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2009

Just returned from a three night stay at Fusion Suites 40 after a 14 day cruise. There is not much I can add to the detailed descriptions of the suites, amenities, and service already well described in other reviews. I picked Fusion Suites based on the TripAdvisor reviews, but was somewhat concerned, first, with whether the place could really be that good, second, with staying in a four suite facility, and third, with its location, which struck me as perhaps a bit "far away" from central Amsterdam. All of my concerns evaporated within a few hours of check in. The rave reviews are spot on, and, if anything, are probably unable to convey adequately what a wonderful place this is. If you just have to have a gym, bar, restaurant, business center (although you get a personal computer plus wi-fi), or walk out the door and be smack in the middle of the crowds in central Amsterdam, then maybe this four suite facility might not be your cup of tea. Otherwise it is perfect. The location turns out to be a plus. It is in a lovely, tranquil mostly residential area, yet close and convenient to everything. We love to walk and the center of town is a short walk away. Tram stops are even closer, if you do not want to walk, and there are a number of good restaurants and shops really close. It is close to the museum district, and the high end shopping street in that area. But best of all, as so many have noted, is the welcome and assistance provided by Sharmila and Alex. They are a delightful couple, she makes a great breakfast, they provide excellent restaurant and other recomendations, and a warm welcome and the feeling that your hosts are your friends. We were fortunate enough to have dinner with Alex our last night (Sharmila was visiting her monther), and being able just to sit and talk with him over dinner was a highlight of our stay. To conclude, the title of this review says it all. We quickly felt that our suite was our "Home in Amsterdam," and not just a nice hotel. Thank you Alex and Sharmila.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed three nights at the Fusion Suites last week. This is by far one of the most incredible hotels we have ever stayed in. As previous reviewers have pointed out, this is a house very near the Vondelpark, with four capacious rooms spread out over three floors. We were in Room 4 which was cozy, comfortable and spacious. It had ample space for storage and a bathroom about half the size of the room, with marble floors, a clawfoot tub and l'Occitane toiletries. The room was decorated beautifully with a very elegant wallpaper behind the bed, a little couch by the huge windows which look out onto a little private garden, and a very comfortable bed. Wireless and minibar access are free and a plasma TV is provided with international channels.

Apart from the comfortable amenities, the real charm of this hotel lies with its owners. Alex and Sharmila are wonderful people and ideal hosts. Right after we checked in, we had a knock on our door and there was Alex with a bottle of Champagne! They also left a bottle of wonderful Cabernet Sauvignon in our room on another day, which was much appreciated. They provided us with very apt restaurant recommendations - we ate at De Kas and Marius during our stay, and both were incredible. Sharmila's excellent breakfasts are just the icing on the cake. Every morning we had tasty and healthy egg-white omelettes, organic yogurt, fresh-cut fruit, expertly pulled espressos and Sharmila's signature Grand Marnier mini-pancakes.

Fusion Suites is a hotel which comes alive thanks to the exquisite taste, effortless hospitality and relaxed vibe of its owners. We recommend it highly, and cannot wait to return. This is a gem of a hotel and richly deserves its #1 rating.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston Herts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

4 of us took over the top floor of this grand old house for 3 nights in early June, in two superb rooms. Alex and Sharmila met us on arrival, we were made most welcome. Fusion Suites is just 4 large rooms over two floors in a grand, old house in an excellent location next to the Vondelpark.Our rooms had it's their own individual style with fresh flowers (the whole house was full of flowers - I have never seen lilies so large!!) and a bottle of chilled champagne per room to greet us. This,along with a well stocked complementary mini bar (red/white wine/soft drinks/water/lager/nibbles/chocolate) and nice L'Octinane toletries in the wonderful bathroom. It's not cheap BUT, they do it well!! I would really recommend, a fantastic weekend. And as for the breakfast's - you'll be happy all day. Well worht the money for the atmosphere, location and the 'style' of the place. This is a refreshing change in a world of souless 'chain store hotels' Alex and Sharmila should be very proud of their efforts.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fusion Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fusion Suites

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 40, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#52 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fusion Suites, your luxury boutique hotel, situated in the best possible location in Amsterdam. Comfort, luxury, privacy and personal attention complement your beautifully appointed large suite. With only 4 suites available you will truly feel as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fusion Hotel Amsterdam
Fusion Hotel Number40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fusion Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.