We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Expectations...Wonderful!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fusion Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fusion Suites
Save
You added Fusion Suites to your Saves list
Roemer Visscherstraat 40, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tulsa, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beyond Expectations...Wonderful!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Alex & Sharmila made our first visit to Amsterdam a wonderful experience. Fusion is a 4 guest room house with very large comfortable rooms! Breakfast is included with the rate, and a delicious spread it was. Eggs cooked to order, cheese, meats, yogurt, fruit, fresh squeezed OJ and cappuccino!!
The mini-fridge was stocked with wine, beer and snacks, which are complimentary. We stayed in room #4 which was large and quiet. A bottle of champagne and glasses with fresh fruit awaited us upon our arrival, which was also complimentary.
While in Amsterdam, we also stayed at another hotel which was a little closer to the middle of town. Our room at Fusion was twice as big as the other room, which was more extensive and noisy. We definitely would return to Fusion Suites whenever in Amsterdam again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    16
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
55
196
9
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I can't find anything much to criticize about this place - it is small, delightful, comfortable, the suites are beautifully furnished and whilst it is not right in the middle of town it is just a short walk to the Museum district and to the canals from where you can get anywhere easily.
Alex and Sharmila are super hosts but go therewith a big appetite for breakfast - Alex delivers non-stop pancakes amongst many other breakfast delights!
On our next visit to Amsterdam there is no better place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just returned from a stay at the Fusion Suites and could not have been more warmly welcomed by our hosts, Alex and Sharmila. We stayed with them for 3 days before a trip to Africa and returned for another 2 days upon our return from Africa before flying back to the US. The beautifully restored guest house is a 5 story typical Dutch townhouse located in the Overtoom neighborhood 1 block from Vondelpark, 2 houses from a major shopping/restaurant street, Const. Huygensstrat/Van Baerlestraat ,and just 2 blocks from Singalgracht one of the large canals ringing the historic/tourist area. A big bonus to this house was an elevator for bags or people. It was small but many other similar properties in Amsterdam do not have one and warn you on their websites as the stairs are steep and winding! Each of the 4 rooms are individually decorated in a very luxurious but comfortable style. The baths were quite large with the same style and standard. There was a mini bar that was stocked with wine, candy, soda and water for our use at no extra charge, although a note would have been appreciated upon our arrival as our jet lagged brains did not quite comprehend that. Also, our hosts delivered to our room a bottle of champagne and glasses with fresh strawberries, which was a very nice touch as this was also at no extra charge. Upon arrival we were shown to our room and given an explanation of where things were,, how to use the computer also free of charge, where the light switches were etc. Breakfast was served in the kitchen on the ground floor at the time we requested with a wide variety of selections. Eggs cooked to order, cereal, yogurt, fresh fruit, delicious crepe type pancakes, croissants, cheeses and meats etc. were available every morning. Coffee, such as cappuccino, espresso or American style, and freshly brewed tea was made to order. When we asked about the various restaurants in the area we were directed to the close by large street and found one we especially liked within 2 blocks called The Seafood Bar. It is newly opened and serves all types of seafood prepared in various ways. We also ate at several other restaurants where locals were eating on the same street and found that the food was quite good. Prices were competitive with some of the tourist restaurants but we found the food much better than where we ate in the city center/tourist area. Be warned though, Amsterdam is an expensive city. It is not quite as pricey as London, but food, attractions and lodging is costly. The one activity we did find that was very reasonable was a Mozart concert for 51 euros per person for seats in the orchestra section at the Concertgebouw which was about 6 blocks from Fusion Suites. Sharmila and Alex purchased the tickets for us on line and we picked up them up at the box office. They also printed our boarding passes for our various flights which made our check-ins at the airport smooth. We felt that Fusion Suites provided a quiet, relaxing and comfortable get away at competitive prices without any expensive and unexpected add-ons to our bill. We hoping to return soon.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet because they have double panes. If you would like to cook for yourself t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Overall this was a very good stay.

Here is our experience

Location: Quiet location - 20/25 minute walk from the DAM (Centre of Amsterdam). If you buy a hop on/hop off bus then its 5 minute walk from stop 8. It is also 5 minute walk from a tram stop (1,2,5 trams). Trams are 2 Euro 70 cents each for 1 person for 1 hour of travel.

To and From Airport: From the airport, take the train to Grand Central (8 Euros 10 cents) station and the taxi took us there for 15 Euros. Total of 23 Euros 10 cents compared to 45 Euros from airport by taxi. On the way back there is a tram stop about 5 minute walk from the hotel and this takes you directly to train station for 2 Euros 70 cents each.

Breakfasts - Lovely fresh pancakes, lots of choice of pastries, eggs how you liked them, cereal and and a decent coffee. Could have done with a bit of variety as the same every day. Perhaps a waffle/toast or something to be a bit of different. Suggest you advise your hosts the time you want breakfast as they did not ask us.

Room - Very big with a four poster bed and a sofa, writing table and a computer as well. The bathroom was big with great shower and deep bath. The temperature of the radiators was determined by when they were switched on by the hosts. It was cool when we arrived but soon warmed through in the evenings after about 6pm. The TV was placed in a poor position as impossible to view from the bed, perhaps it could be wall mounted so that you could see it from the bed. TV channels are the standard Dutch channels no satellite TV but does include BBC1.

Stairs - The stairs up to the second floor were steep and tricky, there is a lift but it is very small.

Mini-bar - All the drinks were free which was nice but nothing to tell you it was free.

Information: No information in the room which would have been helpful as the hosts were not always at reception during the day. Information supplied said the flower market is open on Sundays despite being told otherwise, other markets are not open on Sundays. The hosts recommended Flo, we didnt enjoy it and was expensive at 100 Euros for two people.

Around Amsterdam - Watch out for the cyclists they are everywhere and do not seem to respect any traffic signs or conventions. Van Gogh museum is shut at present and located in the main city centre. Ann Frank museum is best to go really early and is about 15 minutes from hotel.

Overall a good experience but lacked small touches to make it worth the money you pay for the room per night.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better view but more stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a very nice weekend in Amsterdam. Spring time but lovely weather.
Fusion Suites is superb. It is reasonably priced, they have spacious rooms and the breakfast is really great and nothing wrong about the service either.
Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I've just returned from a weekend staying at the Fusion suites with my husband and son. We had a great time, our room with pull out bed for our son was spacious and well appointed. This place is quirky yet offers everything you could need. Yes you sit at a communal table for breakfast, but you sit in a lovely kitchen in a beautiful old house and you never know you might get talking to some interesting fellow travelers. Breakfast is a feast and will set you up for the day. The location is perfect, quiet but near enough to the centre to walk to boats, bars, restaurants, shops or further afield, we walked to Nemo with ease.
I would definitely recommend a stay here and will, if I return be booking again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is truly a wonderful little gem of a hotel. We felt like we were visiting family. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom well appointed and spacious. Breakfast included eggs, scrumptious fruit salad, yogurt, coffee and the smell of baked goods lured us down every morning. Wine, water and soft drinks were replenished in our room, and there was wifi, and ample room and hangers for our clothes. The location of the hotel was great as well, within walking distance to most museums. The owners also gave us a great website to use to plan our outings, and arranged a private guide who gave us a wonderful driving and walking tour of Amsterdam and the surrounding countryside. We can't wait to come back and explore more of the city and we will definitely stay at Fusion Suites.

Room Tip: Room number 2 is gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fusion Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fusion Suites

Address: Roemer Visscherstraat 40, 1054 EZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museumplein
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Fusion Suites, your luxury boutique hotel, situated in the best possible location in Amsterdam. Comfort, luxury, privacy and personal attention complement your beautifully appointed large suite. With only 4 suites available you will truly feel as our guest. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fusion Hotel Amsterdam
Fusion Hotel Number40

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fusion Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.